Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to Earth
After a seemingly sour ending fling with the big corporate music nasties which resulted in the lacklustre and soulless Hearts and Minds (it is telling that the last time I saw Seth live there was no H&M song on the set list), Seth returns to his roots and records this fine album in the barrel house at Morwellham Quay, Devon.

With this record and the masterful...
Published on 2 April 2012 by G. Kimpton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Seen Seth Lakeman lots of time live & always sounds amazing. However this is rather disappointing & lacklustre. I've played this several time now to try to get onto it, but it just lacks that excitement that he generates live. The songs are fine & the playnig is as good as on previous albums. I'm sure that fans will enjoy this, but if you are new to Seth Lakeman try...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Goodasgold


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to Earth, 2 April 2012
By 
G. Kimpton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After a seemingly sour ending fling with the big corporate music nasties which resulted in the lacklustre and soulless Hearts and Minds (it is telling that the last time I saw Seth live there was no H&M song on the set list), Seth returns to his roots and records this fine album in the barrel house at Morwellham Quay, Devon.

With this record and the masterful Freedom Fields, Seth has established himself as a dab hand at the concept album; the lifeblood of this one being the stories of craftsmen miners and artisans of times passed. There are not many dumb notes on the record, but some tracks are stronger than others. The first two, More Than Money and Blacksmith's Prayer are probably the most effective, along with The Artisan, which bookends the album. These tracks in particular are the most powerful, with Blacksmith's Prayer very effectively evoking the atmosphere of old English working, with its strange percussion and little ghostly sounds. In fact, the lyrics here are as strong as the brilliant Solomon Brown or Fight for Favour. Although verging on twee, Apple of his Eye is another lovely track with some very tidy and quite innovative arrangements which are very welcome.

Criticisms are few and far, but I found the violin lines running through or over every song a bit intrusive at times. On some songs, like The Sender or Apple, they are subtle, but some are quite heavy, like on the otherwise strong Watchmaker's Rhyme. It would have been nice to hear the claustrophobic banjo picking of a mineshaft recorded More Than Money without the violin addition, for example. And there is the odd cliche lyric in there, but these are minor quibbles that do not take much away from a very well made and pleasing album from a back in form Seth. Nice packaging too from the guys at Proper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wistful and mature work, 9 April 2012
By 
Jago Wells (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Like the other reviewer, I too found Seth's last album a tad lacklustre and I too have found 'Tales from the Barrel House' a return to form of sorts,although still coming up short when set against-for me anyway-Seth's best album-Freedom Fields.
There is a dark and sombre vibe going on here; reflected perhaps by the dark and moody image on the CD cover. Apparently TFTBH is a total one man band effort with Seth composing and playing every instrument. Not a problem perhaps for such a virtuoso musician but impressive in showing his total committment to the project.
Recorded at Morwellan Quay which TV viewers in the UK will recognize from the BBC2 series -Edwardian Farm. A 12 month televised experiment in living life as it was lived one hundred years ago in a community that was easier to access by boat from the sea than by land. Morwellan is on the beautiful River Tamar which seperates Devon-Seth's home county and perhaps the most English of counties- from the ancient Celtic region of Cornwall. That melancholic celtic air is reflected in the compositions. A slow burner which oozes quality with each listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SETH LAKEMAN - Tales From The Barrel House, 7 Jun. 2012
I've long admired the chutzpah of The Lakeman Brothers and in particular Seth for his go-ahead attitude to the music business. Self-belief in one's creative direction is no bad thing and in respect of this he must now be truly titled a `folk' hero for those that have followed him from his early career. He is now a fully paid-up member of the `cottage industry' process with not only singer/songwriter under his belt but multi-instrumentalist, producer, mixer and record company director to his credit. Whatever next...Simon Cowell's chair on the X-Factor? Drawing many influences from his colourful West Country background the songs he relates may be rooted in the traditional idiom but are given the driving passion (particularly with his attention to detail in the lyrics) of a young man more comfortable in the twentieth century. Like Barry Dransfield before him his passion in allowing his double-stopped fiddle bow to be submitted to the indignity of winding-up looking more like Miss Whiplash's cat of nine tails at the end of a particularly energetic session shows just how much energy he can expel. An advocate of really `having something to say' whether it be the decline of traditional crafts ("Blacksmith's Prayer") or the demise of tin and copper factory workers in "Hard Road" the term `Voice Of The People' could not be more justified.

PETE FYFE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales From The Barrel House: Seth Lakeman - Powerful stuff, 29 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The British folk movement is really in ascendancy at the moment, pushed along by luminaries such as Spiers and Boden, The Imagined Village and, of course, Seth Lakeman.

Lakeman's solo career recently saw him move into the clutches of big corporate music companies, and resulted in Hearts and Minds, a curiously soulless album that was clearly aimed at larger commercial success away from the niche beardy folky market. I cannot begrudge him the chance at fame and fortune, but I have to say I found the album a little uninspiring and was determined not to buy any more if he continued along the same route. It was with great pleasure then that I read reviews which suggested that for his next release Lakeman has stepped away from this path and gone back to basics. Having now listened several times I am pleased to report that the reviews are correct, and that this is Lakeman back at his heartfelt impressive best.

It's a classic piece of music making. With a stripped back band and a set of songs that celebrate craftsmen and their traditions (most of which are now dying out and are nothing more than a fond folk memory) Lakeman has produced a series of really heartfelt tracks that tell stories and draw you along. It's well paced and programmed to provide an album with variations in tone and pace that keeps you listening. Not as frenetic as some of his earlier work, it is quietly understated and all the more powerful for it.

Included in the 2 disc set is a short DVD with live versions of several of the songs. IT's an excellent set, and with 2 discs it's also excellent value for money! 5 stars for this impressive return to form for Lakeman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seen Seth Lakeman lots of time live & always sounds amazing. However this is rather disappointing & lacklustre. I've played this several time now to try to get onto it, but it just lacks that excitement that he generates live. The songs are fine & the playnig is as good as on previous albums. I'm sure that fans will enjoy this, but if you are new to Seth Lakeman try Freedom Fields which I think is closer to his live sound & every track is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to basics, 11 April 2013
By 
S. Fox "SW19 Sean" (Sandys Home (almost)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after the more rocky last couple of albums Lakeman switches back to a more acoustic an folky mode with great results. Micxture of traditional and self penned numbers is a good fit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good one from Seth, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent CD with DVD included in the luxury album with documentary showing how Seth gets some amazing sounds from some of the tools in the Barrel House.Well worth the money!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
stuart heath "truskanuts" (leighton buzzard, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Back to his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big fan, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb collection from a superb musician...foot stomping musical food for the heart, mind and soul...a must for Seth fans, new and old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my first Seth Lakeman cd so nothing to compare it to. Seen him live - he was incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales From The Barrel House
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews