Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You know it's true!
Firstly, you need to know that this is not a book about how to knit ( although you will find the odd useful tip ).
It's a very enjoyable and humorous look at what it means to be an avid knitter - if you are one, you will recognise yourself.There are many truisms in this book.
Small enough to fit in your handbag, it's amusing to delve into if you are not able to...
Published on 27 April 2005 by Helen M. Wyld

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars frivolous
it made me laugh a bit, but mostly it made me feel very normal compared to the author - I'm sure she wouldn't be offended when I say she really is something of a freak. Most of us can't actually afford to buy the quantities of yarn she talks about! If you can, and you do, then you'll find a soul sister here. Then again, there are some very perceptive and helpful...
Published 23 months ago by B. Bytheway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You know it's true!, 27 April 2005
By 
Helen M. Wyld "clockwatcher" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
Firstly, you need to know that this is not a book about how to knit ( although you will find the odd useful tip ).
It's a very enjoyable and humorous look at what it means to be an avid knitter - if you are one, you will recognise yourself.There are many truisms in this book.
Small enough to fit in your handbag, it's amusing to delve into if you are not able to actually pick up your knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still has me in stitches....(with apologies for the lame pun)..., 29 Jan. 2008
By 
L. de Ruiter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
Let me open with a rather bold statement: I have NEVER laughed as much and as often and as loud at a book as I have at this one...There is one little chapter that I can only read about 3 lines at a time (followed by a 30 second break while I laugh my head off). I literally end up with tears down my face, it is THAT funny! One very important caution though: I know from experience that it's only this funny if you're a knitter (I went through a phase of wanting to make everyone read it). If you don't knit, there will be whole sections that'll go completely over your head and have you wondering what on earth's so funny about it. Those will be the sections that will have a knitter collapsing with mirth. If you just do not "get" what in the world the attraction of knitting is, then don't read this book, as it will not enlighten you nor make you want to knit. If you are a knitter though, PLEASE read it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't want At Knits End to End!!!, 1 July 2005
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
I really loved this book and constantly found myself laughing out loud. Everything rang true for me. I would totally recommend this book to anyone who is addicted to knitting as in this author you will have found a kindred spirit. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my friend who can knit and watch TV at the same time!, 10 Oct. 2007
By 
Patricia (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
I gave this delightful book to a dear friend of mine who knits wonderful toys for charity.She chuckled at every page.. A winner for the knitter who has everything.

Pat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost better than knitting, 15 Nov. 2009
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
I love this book so much. It encapsulates the very heart of the meaning and value of my favourite craft. Stephanie is a genius and a lovely, incredibly funny person. Buy this book for anyone who knits, they will treasure it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
I love this. Easy to pick up and put down, or even just dip into. I've been smirking and laughing out load to myself with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Knit's End, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
B. Warrington (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
This book is amazing - how does she know how I feel about knitting - but she does!!
I could not put this book down - it ticked all the boxes
I have since purchased the other books written by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
I highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To all Knitters!, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
This is a must- have book for all Knitters, young, old, learners and the experienced! Now I realise that I am one of thousands and not totally crazy on my own! A real laugh out loud book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty lit from a chick with sticks, 16 Mar. 2005
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
First, I have to say that I have not read this book yet. I'm just about to order it. However, I have been reading Stephanie's knitting blog - Yarn Harlot - for over a year now. She posts every day and her words of wisdom, her love for her family and her mitten obsession have made her the best friend I've never met. I'm looking forward to reading more "purls" of wisdom from Ms McPhee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No time to knit, busy reading!, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Knit's End (Paperback)
I just love this little 'pocket book', I didn't know that anecdotes on knitting could be such fun, I haven't finished it yet as I am actually learning to knit, (part of the reason I spotted this book and bought it) I was on Amazon buying books on beginner knitting, simple projects, now I find there is a whole world of 'hidden wool stashes' and 'knitting snobbery' out there just waiting for me to discover! A real find! Some real laughs, even for the non-knitter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews