Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars?? Should be 10 stars and above - awesome!
Having never seen Dark Shadows in the 1960's (don't think it's ever been shown in the UK at all) - this was my first introduction to the world of the Collins family, and the master of malevolence - Barnabas Collins (Ben Cross). Cross' Barnabas is ultra cool, sexy (of course), malevolent, threatening, violent, and caring - uh? caring? yeah, that's right - a vampire with a...
Published on 2 July 2007 by Claire Steed

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate cover. No subtitles.
1 star rating is for the inaccurate advertising of this product not the actual content.

I purchased this new DVD release (30/4/12) as Amazon.co.uk state that this new UK release has English subtitles. There's even a picture available of the back of the case on the site, confirming this inaccuracy. If you're looking for subtitles, get ready to be disappointed...
Published on 27 April 2012 by Mr. J. Cook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars?? Should be 10 stars and above - awesome!, 2 July 2007
By 
Claire Steed "Silver Sapphire" (Kent, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having never seen Dark Shadows in the 1960's (don't think it's ever been shown in the UK at all) - this was my first introduction to the world of the Collins family, and the master of malevolence - Barnabas Collins (Ben Cross). Cross' Barnabas is ultra cool, sexy (of course), malevolent, threatening, violent, and caring - uh? caring? yeah, that's right - a vampire with a conscience. This 'revival' is for me, the best of the three attempts (apologies to any DS Original fans, this is not intended to insult your show, I've never seen it but have seen this and boy does it rock) only 12 episodes long, it does exactly what it says on the tin, it does not let up for a second. Suffice it to say that I hate Angelique for what she did to Barnabas (even though he led her on a bit, he didn't deserve her eternal punishment). Wish the powers that be had made a couple more episodes to finish it off properly but they didn't and that's a shame. Cross's Barnabas is one of the most amazing characterisations I've ever seen and because of this extraordinary portrayal of every conceivable emotion, brilliantly crafted, I have experienced every feeling that the character did and there's not many actors who have that power to play with the audience's emotions in the skillful manner that Mr Cross did with Barnabas, and in so doing has made the character immortal (forgive the pun) in the psyche of everyone who sees this masterpiece. After watching Dark Shadows the Revival, I cannot in all honesty say that I could watch another vampire series or movie without comparing it to Cross' Barnabas - The best vampire creation in all movie history.

Dark Shadows The Revival is the best series I've seen for a long time, I can't get enough of it, thanks SO much to all concerned with it, you did great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Shadows: The Complete Revival Collection [1991] (REGION 1) (NTSC), 13 Feb 2008
By 
Ms. A. H. Robertson "Schnooky" (Gloucestershire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Step inside the romantic but deadly world of "Dark Shadows," where love devours its victims and age-old secrets live to haunt eternity. A complete season of twelve heart-pounding episodes of witchcraft, seduction and revenge will have you thirsting for more...with every bite. DISC ONE - Episode One: Handyman Willie Loomis accidentally releases vampire Barnabas Collins from his tomb. Barnabas introduces himself as a relative from England and begins to romance Victoria Winters, the new governess at Collinwood Manor. Episode Two: After being bitten by Barnabas, Daphne Collins dies and rises a vampire. Dr. Julia Hoffman discovers Barnabas' secret and offers to cure him of his curse. Episode Three: Dr. Hoffman experiments to cure Barnabas of his vampirism. Professor Michael Woodard attempts to uncover the identity of the vampire. Episode Four: The ghost of Sarah Collins leads Victoria to her diary. An evil apparition of Angelique-nemesis from the past-begins to haunt Barnabas. DISC 2 - Episode Five: Learning of Barnabas' affection for Victoria, a jealous Dr. Hoffman decides to sabotage the progress of the cure for Barnabas. Episode Six: When a séance is held to contact the spirit of Sarah, Victoria mysteriously vanishes. In her place appears a stranger from 1790. Episode Seven: Transported to the year 1790, Victoria meets the residents of Collinwood and becomes a tutor for Daniel and Sarah Collins. Abigail Collins suspects Victoria of sorcery. Episode Eight: A jealous Angelique uses witchcraft to prevent the marriage of Barnabas and Josette Du Pres. A deadly duel ensues. DISC 3 - Episode Nine: Josette Du Pres accuses Barnabas Collins of killing her true love. Abigail Collins enlists the aid of Reverend Trask to have Victoria Winters jailed for witchcraft. Episode Ten: The Collins family mourns the apparent death of Barnabas as they move into the new Collinwood mansion. Barnabas rises as a vampire. Episode Eleven: Victoria Winters' witchcraft trial begins. Angelique's spirit seeks to prevent Barnabas from making Josette his vampire bride. Episode Twelve: Barnabas' vampirism is discovered. Peter Bradford attempts to save Victoria from being hung as a witch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate cover. No subtitles., 27 April 2012
By 
Mr. J. Cook (UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
1 star rating is for the inaccurate advertising of this product not the actual content.

I purchased this new DVD release (30/4/12) as Amazon.co.uk state that this new UK release has English subtitles. There's even a picture available of the back of the case on the site, confirming this inaccuracy. If you're looking for subtitles, get ready to be disappointed. Even though the back of the actual case does indeed state that the DVD set contains English for the hearing impaired main feature subtitles, this is wrong.
THERE ARE NO SUBTITLES ON THIS DVD RELEASE! Mine arrived early this morning and I've just put it straight on, I was most disappointed to find that there are in fact no subtitles.
Another inaccuracy on the website is that this set is PAL region 2 when in fact it's actually NTSC region 0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Janet Stuckey "oneillfan" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dark Shadows -The Revival [DVD] [NTSC]
I found this very addictive, I have watched it twice, Ben Cross is excellent as Barnabas Collins and you actually feel sorry for him. I don't know why they had to kill Michael T Weiss off twice, as Peter Bradford he could have survived when Victoria returns to her own time. He looked wonderful in 18th century dress too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Botched release, 1 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
The 1991 series is, at times, a very 1980s affair - big hair and shoulder pads, proving the '1980s era' we perceive of actually probably ran somewhere from around 1985-1993! I find myself liking the 60s/70s original show a lot better, for all its cheapness. The acting here is just a little too '1980s Dynasty,' for my tastes, and the direction is rather flat with synthesised incidental music that dates it terribly. Had the show been made a couple of years later as TV began to move into the era of The X-Files, Buffy, Angel and all the great high production values shows we now see in the US, I reckon it would have been much better. It's still campy fun, though. That said, there are technical issues which might well be hindering my enjoyment.

Unfortunately for this release, the episodes have been cropped from 4:3 to 16:9 (except for the opening titles, bizarrely!) so the information on the box saying it's 4:3 full frame is wrong. As it's also US format NTSC, trying to watch the zoomed episodes on a full HD TV makes for a murky experience. Worse still, a lot of the scenes were shot in the daytime and supposed to have a filter added to make them look like it's nighttime. Unfortunately, this release doesn't have the filter added, so you have the lunacy of a vampire standing in a foggy graveyard with wolves baying in bright California daylight!!

I like the ***idea*** of Dark Shadows as it has interesting characters and huge potential that no TV or film adaptation of the original has yet done justice to. A revival TV series made for a cable channel now could be awesome, especially if they remember that Barnabas Collins, the vampire, isn't the only fascinating character to turn up in the world of Dark Shadows.

I definitely recommend checking out the Dark Shadows 20-episode sample DVD 'Dark Shadows – the Barnabas Collins Episodes' and the film 'House of Dark Shadows' both of which cover the same storyline as the first four episodes of Dark Shadows: The Revival. I'm kind of leery of the recent Tim Burton film, but it's worth checking out after delving into some of the show's history first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cover and description don't match, 24 Feb 2011
I just received the DVD from Supermart_USA. I haven't watched it yet, so this review is based only on the DVD-version. According to the description it is the original version starring actors Jonathan Frid and Grayson Hall, but the cover above features Ben Cross from the Revival-series, and that is the series I received. Just a warning for fans of the original series. Be ware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dark shadows, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Bad disc, did not play, acting wooden, promised much gave little, wont bother again, wont recemend to anybody, why did they bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull Dull Dull, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'd never heard of this series, but somehow came across is on the Amazon site (possibly a recommendation), it had good reviews, and was pretty inexpensive, so I decided to take a chance on it - my experience was oh so different from the reviewers

Ridiculously slow, and oh so boring

Seriously struggle to recognise the show as described by the other reviewers - even from the virtual bargain bin I'd say this was a waste of money

I found it so dull I'm in two minds about even giving it away to my usual charity store - Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old tv series made in 1991., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Ham acting and not that good. Do not buy this series it's to old and aged to give you enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Shadows: The Revival - The Complete Series [DVD] [NTSC]
11.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews