Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great size, great price., 16 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
The first thing you will notice about the Linux Pocket Guide is it's small. It's compact. But, it's packed full of great information and more. If you want to learn about the Linux command-line interface (CLI), this is the perfect book for you. For beginners and novices, it's a great help guide. For system admins and experts, it's a indexed, concise reference guide. It provides a huge collection of information - ranging from the basics of directory listing and file operations, to intermediate commands like process control, to every other command on the Linux CLI. It's not just a reference guide. It goes into some detail about the shell interfaces, file-systems, directories and more. And, it's extremely portable. System Administrators love the Linux Pocket Guide as it's so easy to carry - you can take it anywhere. Whether you're a network manager and administrator or a Linux user, this book is for you. It tells you how the exact command is used and gives you an in-depth description about uses of a certain Linux operation - in organised groups and indexes at the back of the book to help you get the most out of the book. With syntax, operations and more - in one book. Instead of typing "help" and having to browse through lines of nondescript help text, get the Linux Pocket Guide and learn with a practical and concise guide - not help text. Although the guide is tailored to Fedora Linux, most of the information applies to any Linux system. I think the guide is essential for any Linux toolkit, and indeed: any Linux user. It contains everything: command use, a very concise description and even the Linux package which is associated with the command. It's an amazing read - from users learning the ropes to the experts: everyone needs a copy of the Linux Pocket Guide from O'Reilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable ready reference, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
This little book is great for new (like myself) and experienced (I presume) Linux users alike. You can read some of the early sections as a standalone introduction to Linux commands if you want, but its real strengths lie in looking up terminal commands - online articles or forum posts will often instruct you to type something in the terminal and hit Enter, without explaining what the command means or describing the numerous options and what they're for. Sometimes you can't even find that sort of info from online Linux help pages, and in those cases this book is indispensable. To illustrate this, I lent this book to a friend two weeks ago and in that time I've found myself wishing I still had it about half a dozen times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for a beginner, 24 Jun 2013
By 
San Roze "San Roze" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Kindle Edition)
This book is exactly what it claims. An handbook for beginners to get used to command line. In hindsight I should have purchased a hard copy than the kindle version I did. It would make a good referencing material when stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect balance., 12 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Just the right amount of information, for new starter, or forgetful user alike, presented in a friendly, easy to grasp way, but still enough information for most Linux users. Not a total, all inclusive guide to every Linux command, but plenty for the average system user, or budding system administrator. If you are already a Linux expert, you don't need this, but if you are new to the Linux shell, any flavour, or just need a quick reference to the most used commands, in plain speak, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super mini reference book - very useful, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Whilst I'm not new to Linux, I am new to using the command line in a bit more depth.
This book, along with a short course I'm doing is invaluable.

It contains all of the commands you are actually likely to need.
It doesn't give all commands and it doesn't give all options but it makes an ideal beginner reference book.

The only problem I've found is that sometimes the explanations are a little sparse so I think it assumes you have some knowledge - but then again it doesn't purport to teach - just be a reference.

if you're doing a course to learn about CLI or you're happy to search elsewhere for explanations then this is

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Linux Pocket Guide, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
This a handy reference tool any Linux user would want by their right hand. I'm no expert, so I don't profess to be qualified to pick holes in it. Does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, well worth a look for Linux Lovers, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
This book is well worth a look by anyone who likes Linux of any type, and has came in very useful to me. I keep it in my bag always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Great quick reference for the Linux command line - the way real men do it! Beard not obligatory. GUI is the easy way out and that is no way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy but could have better choice of content, 28 Dec 2013
By 
P. Windridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Linux Pocket Guide (Paperback)
Gives example commands for everyday activities, but I'd want another guide (or "man" or internet!) for details on all switches and arguments. Includes a crash course in BASH and file permissions, and other useful stuff. Would benefit from general info. on regular expressions.

The stuff on Firefox, Thunderbird and other GUI programs seemed out of place-- I think a guide this short should focus on command line tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Linux Pocket Guide
Linux Pocket Guide by Daniel J. Barrett
3.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews