Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 1st book in the blood series
Vicki Nelson PI (an ex cop) is on her way home but whilst waiting for her subway train (set in Toronto) she hears a terrifying scream from the other platform, she arrives in time to interrupt the murderer (who flees) but not in time to save the victim who has had his throat brutally ripped out, further victims follow but these have also had all their blood drained! The...
Published on 7 Nov. 2004 by april-showers

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but lightweight
This is the first book in a series concerning Vicki Nelson, private investigator, and Henry Fitzroy, a five hundred year old vampire and illegitimate son of Henry VIII. So far, so cliched urban romance story, right? However, there are a few things about this novel that piqued my interest and guaranteed I'll be reading the rest of the series.

In a genre that is...
Published on 15 Jan. 2010 by A. L. Rutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 1st book in the blood series, 7 Nov. 2004
Vicki Nelson PI (an ex cop) is on her way home but whilst waiting for her subway train (set in Toronto) she hears a terrifying scream from the other platform, she arrives in time to interrupt the murderer (who flees) but not in time to save the victim who has had his throat brutally ripped out, further victims follow but these have also had all their blood drained! The first victims girlfriend hires Vicki to investigate.
Also investigating is Henry Fitzroy the illegitimate child of Henry VIII and five hundred years a vampire. He needs to make sure vampires blend in for he does not want a terrorized city that quickly brings out the sharpened stakes or 20th century laboratory equivalent. And this looks like another vampire has created a child and left it unguided.
Both realise the bodies are conforming to a pattern and they meet over the body of the 6th victim, realising there is a lot more at stake than they originally thought the hunt for the killer intensifies, with Vicki working during the day and Henry at night.
This is a good story well told and the characters are 3 dimensional (they have their own fears/insecurities and relationships that impact on them). You learn more about Henry through brief flashbacks which sit well within the book. Minor characters enhance the rounded fell of the world and when one in particular died I found myself going "No no not.....".
I definitely recommend this book also it has the feel that the next one in the series will be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Price, 18 Jun. 2003
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first in the Blood Series, and it is gripping from
begining to end. Vicky Nelson is a marvellous character, funny
and interesting and tough. The men in her life, vampire Henry
Fitzroy and policeman Mike Celluci are equally interesting, and
their struggle to defeat the demon terrorising Toronto is an
enthralling tale.
This book has everything, wonderful characters, exciting plot,
lots of humour, I can't imagine why one reviewer describes it as
not as good as it could have been, how much better could it get?
And if the ending was any more exciting it would be unbearable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but lightweight, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first book in a series concerning Vicki Nelson, private investigator, and Henry Fitzroy, a five hundred year old vampire and illegitimate son of Henry VIII. So far, so cliched urban romance story, right? However, there are a few things about this novel that piqued my interest and guaranteed I'll be reading the rest of the series.

In a genre that is crowded with books about vampires linked with strong female characters, a novel would need something extra to ensure it stands out. Huff provides that in the form of Vicki - this is a woman who leaves the police force when she is diagnosed with a degenerative eye condition that will possibly render her blind. Thanks to this, she is presented as strong, obstinate and bitter in turn. Her self pity at times becomes a little tiring, but still completely understandable for someone who has seen her life turn on its head. She is irascible, spiky and, above all, real. You can imagine going for drinks with this woman who has retained her dry sense of humour despite her circumstances. It is desperately refreshing to have a heroine who is not all-powerful and frighteningly capable of taking on the creatures that go bump in the night. In fact, Vicki is quite the reverse - positively handicapped when out at night.

Henry Fitzroy is another well written character, and his dynamic with Vicki is done with humour and warmth. I love that Henry is actually shorter than Vicki thanks to being born in a whole different century. I also love that Vicki is a snob about the height of a man she considers dating. The little excerpts showing Henry's court life before his change are interesting, but a little light weight.

Huff has done little to change the mythology of vampires as presented over the years - sure, crosses don't affect these vamps (in fact, Henry is a Catholic) but they sleep through the day and there is not a hint of sparkle. I'm undecided as to whether this is good or bad - on the one hand, it is lovely to read about traditional vampires, but on the other, I feel that Huff has the imagination and writing skills to pull off any changes.

The relationship side of things is where this book fell into cliched romance nonsense. Henry is drawn to Vicki despite the fact that he knows relationships with mortals will never end well. She starts to want him when his blood taking raises her lust. Blah blah blah - nothing new here! It might have been more interesting to keep the relationship on a partnership level, just working together on cases? I preferred the rich pickings between Vicki and Mike Celluci - their arguments and bitching and angry sex was funny, a little bit sad and, again, very real. One point I will note about the sex - it was kept neatly off-screen, which I preferred in comparison to someone like Ms Hamilton, who takes it too far the other way.

The nature of the detecting and the crime itself was not massively interesting or tension-filled, although I did find the criminal Norman Birdwell to be amusing and abhorrent in equal measure.

This novel's strength lies in the characters and their effective relationships with one another. Like I say, Huff has interested me enough to encourage purchase of more of her work. I look forward to the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This lady knows how to write clichés without being one, 24 Feb. 2001
By 
Tina B. Madsen "ximeria" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A friend told me to read the "blood" series, starting with this one. Boy, was she right when she said I'd have fun. When Huff takes for example vampires and demons into her books, she'll leave them original enough to be recognized, but she'll change them enough to make them more than interesting, and I bet she has fun doing it. I can't give it 5 "crowns" because it is a little slow in the beginning, and the 4th and 5th "crown" belong with the sequels for this one, each one better than the previous.
The characters are great, and it is a delight getting to know them, one by one. So if you have a morbid sense of humour of if you're just looking for something really entertaining - then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before Bill and Eric, before Edward... there was Henry Fitzroy, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I finally bought this book recently, having loved the television adaptation 'Blood Ties', starring Christina Cox and Kyle Schmid. This first novel covers the first two episodes of the television series. It gives more of a background to the characters and fills out the plotline, though the adaptation definitely works as a stand-alone.

It begins with Vicki Nelson, an ex-cop who left her job when her eyesight began to fail and has since set up on her own as a Private Investigator. When she witnesses a horrific murder by something... well, not quite human, she falls into the path of her ex-partner in love and police business, Mike Celluci, and the illegitimate son of Henry VIII, the deliciously dangerous 470 year-old vampire Henry Fitzroy. Henry may be the only person able to stop the monster that haunts the city streets, and together Vicki and Henry form an unlikely alliance under the police radar to put a stop to a demonic plot to bring Hell to Earth.

Although the book didn't have quite the same biting (sorry, sorry) sense of humour as the series, Vicki is still a fantastically fiery lead: strong, brave and likeable. Henry himself is dark, commanding and boyishly good looking, while Mike is the down-to-earth man of the hour, the handsome, long-suffering cop and ex who doesn't want to believe in the supernatural and simply demands justice in his homicide cases. Oh yeah, and he still has a total thing for Vicki. An interesting love trio indeed. Throw in a demon lord, a throat-slashing monster, a geeky student hell bent on taking over the world and a whole lot of other weird stuff, and you pretty much get the idea.

I think this is going to be a really fun series to read - and Tanya Huff was doing it way before Stephenie Meyer and Charlaine Harris. If you need to fill the Sookie Stackhouse/Edward Cullen-shaped gap in your life, give the Blood books a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book as good as the programme, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
Aileen Wallace "Ails" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been watching the series on telly and thought to give the books a go but was wary as once you have "seen" a character, the book is often not as you would have hoped but this is an exception. Henry is even more attractive in the text as in the "flesh" and I look forward to reading all of the series with anticipation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Price, 16 April 2009
By 
Dr. Robert William Hughes "dark_star78" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I came at this book backwards in a way, as I had already seen the television adaptation Blood Ties.

I was prepared to be disappointed, as can happen sometimes if a book differs substantially from the adaptation.

I wasn't disappointed however. The story was a real page turner. The action begins at page one and doesn't really stop.

The characters are all well described and the flashbacks to Henry's past help establish him, without being intrusive to the main plot.

Bring on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This novel's strength lies in the characters and their effective relationships, 15 Nov. 2010
In a genre that is crowded with books about vampires linked with strong female characters, a novel would need something extra to ensure it stands out. Huff provides that in the form of Vicki - this is a woman who leaves the police force when she is diagnosed with a degenerative eye condition that will possibly render her blind. Thanks to this, she is presented as strong, obstinate and bitter in turn. Her self pity at times becomes a little tiring, but still completely understandable for someone who has seen her life turn on its head. She is irascible, spiky and, above all, real. You can imagine going for drinks with this woman who has retained her dry sense of humour despite her circumstances. It is desperately refreshing to have a heroine who is not all-powerful and frighteningly capable of taking on the creatures that go bump in the night. In fact, Vicki is quite the reverse - positively handicapped when out at night. The nature of the detecting and the crime itself was not massively interesting or tension-filled, although I did find the criminal Norman Birdwell to be amusing and abhorrent in equal measure.
This novel's strength lies in the characters and their effective relationships with one another. Like I say, Huff has interested me enough to encourage purchase of more of her work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next books to arrive., 4 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw the tv series on the internet whilst I'm in bed ill and I really enjoyed it and was disappointed they never carried it on further so I decided to read the books.Usually I find the books are better than the film but as I enjoyed the series so much it had me worried.

I had nothing to worry about, I picked up the book Friday evening and by Sunday had almost finished it, it's now Monday and the book is done. Once picked up I just couldn't put it down. It is different in many ways from the tv series which is what made me keep reading it, I wanted to know what was going to happen next as the series on tv hadn't ruined it. The next book arrived this morning and the others are on their way. The book was so easy to read and didn't have really complicated words so I'm sure I'll have read most of the books by the weekend.

I really would recommend the book to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st in the series, 20 April 2009
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
after having watched the tv series i wanted to read the books. so this is the first in the series which the first 2 episodes loosely follow, which basically sets up how vicki and henry meet and join together. he becomes her guide to the world of the demons, vampires etc etc. but vicki's life is more complicated as she has her old partner from when she was a cop still in her life. life is gonna be different now for vicki. just as a small note these books were written in the early 90's so its funny to not read about the internet, mobile phones etc which have become so part of our culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews