Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet, stylish romantic comedy
I first saw this film on sky recently and loved it! The only other Audrey Hepburn Film i'd seen was of course, Breakfast At Tiffanys, and i'd never seen Peter o'Toole in action as a young man, only as the old man i know him as today. Im a sucker for romantic comedys and this was right up my street. The storyline being, Audrey Hepburn is a heiress who lives in Paris with...
Published on 24 May 2008 by K. S. Jackson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charming but very dated
Though I do loathe the word 'dated' when describing a movie, I feel that this movie really is that. Everything comes together with such convieance and slapstick comedy that watching How To Steal a Million is nothing more than watching a live cartoon. Jarring also that the film is set in Paris, France yet the people speak with either a cockney accent or an American one,...
Published 7 months ago by Colonel Decker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet, stylish romantic comedy, 24 May 2008
By 
K. S. Jackson "Miss Read-a-lot" (herts, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Steal A Million [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film on sky recently and loved it! The only other Audrey Hepburn Film i'd seen was of course, Breakfast At Tiffanys, and i'd never seen Peter o'Toole in action as a young man, only as the old man i know him as today. Im a sucker for romantic comedys and this was right up my street. The storyline being, Audrey Hepburn is a heiress who lives in Paris with her father who is a master art forger, as was his father before him, and one night, home alone she hears a burglar downstairs. She investigates and finds a rather dapper Peter o'Toole attempting to steal one of her father's Van Gogh. After injuring him with her fathers pistol, she finds herself talking to him and discovering he's very charming! So charming in fact she ends up driving him home! Soon After, her father sells a "priceless" statue to a museum and its only after its taken both Audrey and father find that the museum are going to do test on the piece, which of course be discoved as a fake and the rest of his "collection" will be under suspicion. Audrey decides the best thing for them to do is to try and steal it back from the highly guarded museum and theres a certain gentleman she know's who's just right for the job....
Audrey Hepburn is cute and quirky as the heiress and Peter o'Toole is very handsome and very funny, clearly enjoying himself. There were a quite a few moments that had me laughing out loud. If your a fan of romantic comedy's, this ones for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Movie :), 5 July 2003
By A Customer
I absolutely love this movie. It's a perfect combination of romance, comedy and quirkiness. Besides, who could fault a movie that sees its stars kissing in a closet surrounded by frantic police? "How To Steal A Million" was entertaining, engrossing and endearing from start to finish, and it is definitely a movie that could be watched again and again. Audrey Hepburn was as adorable as ever, a perfect combination of deceptively innocent wide eyes and sweetly sarcastic remarks. This was the first time that I'd ever seen a Peter O'Toole movie, but I hope that it won't be the last. You could instantly fall in love with him from the second you saw those bewildered round blue eyes peering over the top of the "Van Gogh" painting. He is very funny in the film, and pretty darn spunky too! They make a very likable couple, and I didn't find one moment of this film boring. I loved watching them rob the museum, equipped with, among other things, a bucket, a magnet and a boomerang! This is a fabulous movie - I think it's my new favourite Audrey Hepburn movie - and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightully fun & stylish heist comedy for all the family., 12 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This flm has to be one of Hepburns' most classiest capers, alongside such gems as Paris When It Sizzles & Charade. Her hair barely moves a strand out of place even whilst she undergoes some of the most cramped conditions of her acting career!
Peter O'Toole, (elegantly dashing when not decked out in his Lawrence of Arabia garb) is perfectly cast as a fraud investigator in the art world who turns crook to win the heart of the daughter (Hepburn) of the fraudster he is currently investigating.
The costumes are chic, the wit finely tuned, the plot enjoyably absurd & the growing attraction between the two main characters builds to a wonderful finale in a broom closet, of all places!
This is Hepburn at her comedic best & O'Toole shines through as a wry burglar with a soft heart for a suffering dame!
Watch it over & over, with or without the entire family & I guarantee you cannot fail to thoroughly enjoy yourself each & every time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever, Charming and Cheerful, 8 April 2009
By 
Samuel J. Tunnicliffe (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Steal A Million [DVD] (DVD)
To begin with, the casting is good in this Hepburn film, in the sense that Charles Boyer, O'Toole, and Hepburn all play very well, all the other characters play adequately, but the film is fundamentally about O'Toole and Hepburn's relationship. Ms. Jackson's review summarises the plot well, so I shan't go into detail about that, but, having seen a few Hepburn films, I would certainly say that this is one of my favourites.

The film is charming all round, and there are some scenes which are very cleverly done and impressive. Well directed by Wyler, a favourite director of Hepburn's, and one senses the light atmosphere on set radiates through the camera lens onto the screen. The relationship between O'Toole and Hepburn takes a somewhat sudden turn to amourousness, and it all happens rather fast, but this is characteristic of older films, and is part of the quality which makes films like this so light and romantic. If four and a half stars were possible, I would certainly grant them.

Also, if you are confused by the fact that this film has been tagged on Amazon with 'lesbianism', 'teachers', and 'gay interest', this is most likely a mistake by reviewers, of this film with another Hepburn filmThe Children's Hour [DVD] [1961] which is about lesbianism and features two female teachers (Hepburn playing one of them)... 'How to Steal a Million' is however, simply a romantic comedy set in Paris, with no teachers, and no references to lesbianism... Don't worry, you are looking at the film correspondent with this review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, brilliant caper., 30 Jun 2005
By 
Puella "Stafilaki" (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This film shapes the ideas for heists to come. You'll be surprised until the end. It's all the 60's films put right in one go.
It's fast & slick. And while the wardrobe's dated, I think this film never really dates.
With a surprising plot, Audrey Hepburn in top to toe Givenchy, and Peter O Toole for eye candy - There's nothng wrong!
The subplot is dire, but thankfully only takes up a few minutes of screen time, so don't worry.
The rest is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real screwball slapstick, 25 Oct 2007
By 
Rama Rao "Rama" (Annandale, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie was directed by Academy award winning director William Wyler, who directed classics such as; Mrs. Miniver, The Best Years of Our Lives, Roman Holiday, and Ben-Hur. It is also a pleasant surprise to see Audrey Hepburn team up with Peter O'Toole in this hilarious romantic comedy. Audrey is known for some pretty dramatic roles but this is one of the few movies that she played is a real screwball comedy. The plot of the movie is; Nicole Bonnet (Audrey Hepburn), the daughter of Charles Bonnet (Hugh Griffith) tries to steal forged Cellini (statute, a work of art) from a museum with the help of an art investigator, Simon Dermott (Peter O'Toole). Nicole is forced to take this risk because her father refuses to listen to her, since the forgery was committed by her grandfather and authentication process of the art by insurance companies would reveal the forgery and that could put the family into serious problems with the authorities.

The chemistry between the Hepburn and O'Toole is perfect. It is not surprising that the two would fall in love with each other even though their friendship starts and remains at a tolerable level of hostility; kind of love-hate business relationship. This is the second time; Director Wyler is teaming up with Audrey Hepburn, after their successful team work in his earlier movie Roman Holiday for which Hepburn won Academy award in best actress category. Davis Leland (Eli Wallach) and Bernard De Solnay (Charles Boyer) provide supporting roles as wealthy collectors of art.

My favorite scenes of the movie are when Simon breaks into Bonnet house to steal a fake Van Gogh, and Nicole catches him red-handed and accidentally shoots him in his arm. Later, when the two would-be-thieves are locked up themselves in a small closet space inside the museum, and Simon's crafty ways help them to unlock the door from inside: Highly recommended to all fans of Audrey Hepburn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE this film!, 8 July 2003
The actors are beautiful, the sets are beautiful, the clothes are beautiful and the film is too glorious for words! In all honesty, how could you fail with Peter O'Toole and Audrey Hepburn in leading roles?
An amusing storyline, admirable acting and O'Toole with the classic line 'Give Givenchy the night off"
Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to steal a million laughs, 13 July 2004
By 
Miguel M. Santos "miguelmsantos" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The daughter of a forger (Audrey Hepburn) asks Peter O'Toole's help to steal one of her family's "masterpieces" - the Celini Venus, who seem to resemble a lot like her own grandmother... Audrey Hepburn and Peter O'Toole are great in this great heist/romantic comedy, one of those you can watch over and over again without being tired.
The DVD edition has no extras but has a great picture quality. Even with no extras I would not hesitate to suggest to buy this. It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charming but very dated, 9 May 2014
This review is from: How To Steal a Million [DVD] [1966] (DVD)
Though I do loathe the word 'dated' when describing a movie, I feel that this movie really is that. Everything comes together with such convieance and slapstick comedy that watching How To Steal a Million is nothing more than watching a live cartoon. Jarring also that the film is set in Paris, France yet the people speak with either a cockney accent or an American one, jarring more when you know Audrey Hepburn was fluent in French.

The film still has its charms. Hepburn as per normal delivers well, and Peter O'Toole is very watchable as the cat thief, he excudes charm and grace and the acting overall is very well done. Hugh Griffith steals the movie though, as Hepburn's deceiving father. The title is also rather misleading.

To conclude, it is a fun film with a few good laughs, but it never got out of it's 60s jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hepburn, O'Toole and Givenchy, what more do you need?, 12 Sep 2010
By 
L. E. Cantrell (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How To Steal A Million [DVD] (DVD)
William Wyler's "How to Steal a Million" is the very best Stanley Donen picture that Stanley Donen didn't happen to make--just as Donen's "Charade," also with Audrey Hepburn, is the very best Hitchcock picture that Hitchcock never made.

This is a truly stylish film. "How to Steal a Million" looks like ten million ... a hundred million ... aw, in this inflationary era, let's call it a billion bucks on the screen. Hepburn's roughly two hundred costume changes, her preposterous little car, her hats, her chateau, and everything else shout that this is what the (expensively) good life looks like. In one scene, O'Toole invites Hepburn--for once looking a bit dowdy--to come as she is. "Give Givenchy the night off," he says.

A quick glance over the previous Amazon US and Amazon UK reviews shows that those who know and care about this film use the language of people discussing a classic. And yet, whatever its considerable merits, "How to Steal a Million" was not a particular success at the box office when it first appeared, nor is it widely remembered today.

I can only speculate why this should be. Perhaps it was the proximity of "Charade." Good as this film is, "Charade" was better--a tighter script, a better balance between thrills and comedy and the overwhelming presence of Cary Grant. O'Toole has always been excellent in comedy, but his part in this film is unquestionably a Cary Grant part and nobody did those as well as the old master, Archie Leech, himself. On the other hand, it may be that "How to Steal a Million" is a Willy Wyler film and it doesn't feel right or entirely at home among that director's works. Somehow I doubt that Wyler's many admirers are likely to list this one high among his masterworks. Or maybe it came out when the public was satiated with well-acted, lavishly produced, well-made films and it just fell between the cracks.

Whatever the reasons for its present semi-obscurity, "How to Steal a Million" is a gem and highly recommendable to anyone who believes that quality in movies extends beyond CGI effects and stuff blowin' up real good.

Five very fashionable stars!

A NOTE ON CHANGING TIMES:
When I saw this movie during its first run, along with everyone else in the theater, I thought a million dollars was a lot of money. Just listen to the 1960s prices quoted for major works of art; they are laughable today--and a little sad, too.

A FURTHER NOTE ON MARKETING:
This is a movie about high-end art forgery. It is filled with exquisite paintings and sculptures in almost every scene, all of which were forged for the movie. Part of the publicity campaign for "How to Steal a Million" was a public exhibition of the forged artworks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Steal a Million [DVD] [1966]
How To Steal a Million [DVD] [1966] by William Wyler (DVD - 2012)
£7.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews