Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'll be all aroun' in the dark."
"Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord. He is trampling out the vintage where the grapes of wrath are stored; He hath loos'd the fateful lightning of His terrible swift sword, His truth is marching on." - Battle Hymn of the Republic.
In 1936, John Steinbeck wrote a series of articles about the migrant workers driven to California from the Midwestern...
Published on 27 Feb 2005 by Themis-Athena

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ford's depiction of the Great Depression
Tom Joad (Henry Fonda) has just been released from jail. He returns to his Oklahoma home to find that his family have been kicked off of their farm due to foreclosure. Like nearly all of the other farmers, Tom and his large family load up their belongs and head to California to find work. Along the way they manage to find some work but it amounts to nothing more than...
Published on 12 May 2004 by Tatiana


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic !, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Miss Sarah J. Mitchell "SJM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Excellent product, quality and viewing excellent product, quality and viewing, excellent product, excellent product excellent product excellent product excellent product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bluray not region free - beware, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grapes of Wrath [Blu-ray] [1940] [US Import]
I know this film to be first class having had the DVD and watched it many times so four stars for that in itself.
However this is about this particular bluray edition and an incorrect region coding thus the rating is hardly accurate or relevant, but don't wish to affect a downgrade.

Despite an Amazon claim for this item to be: 'Brand new and sealed!! Please note this is the region free USA edition!! Get it quick!! Get it now !!', I have taken reciept and it is in fact Region A. It does also state higher on the product page 'Region A'. But I have bought other blurays from Amazon carrying the same contradiction and they were region-free.
The supplier had no quibble about accepting a return and giving a refund. This may be a supplier misunderstanding or not but IMHO Amazon needs to better control its information processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read the book..., 6 Dec 2011
By 
Matthew Smith (Epping, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I seem to be the only person that didn't think much of the film. It's pretty true to the plot of the book, which is definitely in it's favour, but I still think it's a bit of a turkey. There's some shocking acting; a slew of wooden performances and hokey accents along with some scenes that are just overly hammed up. A few performances aren't too bad, but it all just feels a bit Am-Dram. The book is incredible - I'd suggest reading that first to really get the full impact of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not follow the actual book, 4 Aug 2013
By 
MMTC (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
This film does not show what's been taken from the actual book. While the actors/actress and general scenes are the same, quite a few parts have been omitted. It's not worth purchasing a film that does not exactly correspond to what's been written in John Steinbeck's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very, very dated, 7 May 2013
By 
Ms. D. A. Scollan "debs of shrewsbury" (shrewsbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Loved the Steinbeck story and have seen another film version some years ago so thought this was the same: it wasn't. The un-realism of the squeeky clean children 'running wild' and the painted backdrops made this look like a am-dram at my local village hall.The matriach holding the family together had a halo.......goodness me....only for students of film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This DVD was unplayable, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
There were scratches on the DVD, which I assumed to be brand new. The result was that the film frequently stopped. So unless, entire scenes were jumped, there was no point in watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars superb, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this film based on a steinbeck novel is superb from start to finish.After the dust-bowl disaster in the 1930s oklahoma farmers trek to california in hope of work and a better life.Its actors Henry Fonda,John Carradine,Jane Darwell give outstanding performances.Its direction by john Ford combine to make this film unforgettable,Its a must for any film fan to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video of Steinbecks The Grapes of wrath, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Excellent speedy dilivery, haven't had time to view it yet but i will. It is what I wanted on the American tradgedy of failure of the wheat crop in 20012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab43bf30)

This product

The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940]
The Grapes of Wrath [DVD] [1940] by John Ford (DVD - 2012)
4.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews