Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars123
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2014
Wow! I had never seen this before but it was completely engrossing and a really good watch that I highly recommend.
2 hours had gone before I knew it and I still wanted more - always the highest complement in my opinion.

This is also one of the best transfers of a film of this age I've seen.
The picture quality is outstanding, I couldn't see any damage or softness and I don't see how a better transfer could be achieved.
As for the sound, well that was a very pleasant surprise. There is a new DTS HD Mono soundtrack but from the moment it starts you would never guess it was mono. Running through an excellent HD surround system everything from dialogue to incidentals is crisp and clear.

And with some good extras as well, this is a superb buy and a perfect example of what can be done with old content when given the proper time and love on the transfer it deserves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
John Fords brilliant movie version of John Steinbecks powerful novel set during the Great Depression with Henry Fonda as Tom Joad who heads for California with his family in search of work after their farm in Oklahoma is reduced to a dustbowl.Unfortunately when they reach California they discover that life is not much better with hard labour and starvation wages in which the poor are exploited by their masters.This is powerful ,angry stuff which reasonated with audiences who remembered the hardship of the Twenties and Thirties.Fonda is peerless as Tom Joad fighting for what he believes in but special mention must go to Jane Darwell as Ma Joad who won an Oscar for her performance.We'll go on forever,Pa,because we're the people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
Tom Joad (Henry Fonda) has just been released from jail. He returns to his Oklahoma home to find that his family have been kicked off of their farm due to foreclosure. Like nearly all of the other farmers, Tom and his large family load up their belongs and head to California to find work. Along the way they manage to find some work but it amounts to nothing more than slave labour. The ending attempts to be hopeful but is in no way resolved.
This film was adapted from a John Steinbeck novel. It is much more optimistic than Steinbeck's account. The film also eliminates a lot of the political edge found in Steinbeck's book. It chooses to focus more on family and the importance of the family unit when going through hard times, i.e.: The Great Depression, as well as show a universal account of American society. That's not to say it differs greatly from the book, but quite the opposite because at the time of its release it was praised for being as faithful to the book as it could have.
John Ford's political stance pointed more towards conservatism. He was a member of the Republican Party. And so what is interesting when looking at The Grapes of Wrath is that is it the most popular left wing film of pre-war Hollywood. Within its socialist framework the film realistically depicts the truth of the Great Depression and the result it had on the thousands of farmers who suffered from oppression imposed by banks etc... On a wider level the Joad family are seen to be the social microcosm.
A reason for the films realism lies in Fords direction. He shot the film with a distinct documentary feel. This included location shooting, and little rehearsal to make it more spontaneous (the final scene used in the film is a read through and the actors were not aware they were being filmed). The landscape of rural America is also something that adds immense realism to the film.
This is a film that tries to attain the 'American dream' amid great adversity. Ma Joad's (Jane Darwell) speech at the end of the film takes away the desperation seen throughout the film. She talks with hope and optimism saying 'Rich fellas come up an' they die, an' their kids ain't no good, an' they die out. But we keep a-comin'. We're the people that live. They can't wipe us out. They can't lick us. We'll go on forever, Pa, 'cause we're the people.'
Ultimately this is a realistic, socialist depiction of The Great Depression. It leaves the viewer feeling comforted, optimistic and hopeful for the Joad's. This would have also been the feeling in 1940, a year before the Great Depression officially ended.
This is a film that can give you a taste of what it may have been like to live during 1930s America. It is seminal for this reason and worthy of watching.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
This film says it all about the American dream, built on the suffering of poor dirt farmers of Oklahoma. The acting is superb as is the cinematography, I cant imagine modern day movie stars being able to get anywhere near creating the ambience and passion of this film. Watch and remember, The events of this movie happened just 70 years ago, there are a few people still living who experienced these times. An absolute must see for anyone interested in American modern history and the history of cinema. EXEMPLARY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Watched this film when very young and didn't really understand the story. When it was re-issued, I bought it and viewed it with a new awareness gained over many years. A real eye opener of what the depression was really like for those experiencing it. Storyline brutal, although softened for public viewing, and depicts how power corrupts at all levels. Henry Fonda leads the cast but he heads a long list of very recognisable performers. Really outstanding production and its age does not diminish its message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
This is a film that is worth watching many times, The acting is excellent and so is the storey. Don't make them like this today.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
It seems that the world has not changed much since the time when Steinebeck first wrote his novel the Grapes of Wrath. The problems of those sharecroppers from Oklahoma in the film are not much different from those of the impoverished peasantry in many parts of our contemporary world. Leaving your native lands in search of better prospects somewhere else,willingly or forcibly,is another theme in the film having validity in the present world. Thus, the film has an universal appeal. In spite of its sombre mood,trials and tribulations of the sharecroppers, the film ends on an optimistic note. The main character of the film,Tom Joad,played superbly by Henry Fonda,breaks himself loose from the miseries for a better world tomorrow.

Not to miss: haunting black and white photography of the film. As a director, this must be one of the best of John Ford.

A thought-provoking film indeed!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
This is one of the best book to film successes of all time , John Ford did a superb job directing John Steinbeck's story of fictional characters ,in a fact based drama . Henry Fonda endows the character ,Tom Joad , with the charisma and feeling needed for such a film. I'm still surprised Ford, Fonda and Steinbeck weren't dragged in front of the McCarthy witch hunt during the fifties .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
One of the greatest movies ever - from one of the greatest books. Issues (bankers / coprporations / poverty / migrant worker exploitation / corrupt law enforcement / man-made climate change) still haven't been solved 75 years later. Also check out Wood Guthrie's album "Dust bowl ballads", also originally published in 1940.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Everyone who knows film history, knows the tale of Tom Joad, played with unusual low key presence from the excellent Henry Fonda. Wonderful story, and the blu-ray makes you almost cry over the fact that people just streams movies nowadays. Cause this shows how GOOD an old classic can look with a flawless transfer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)