Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, light and portable
This is a small keyboard by most standards and uses two provided AAA batteries. There is a small LED indicator in the top right-hand corner which flashes alternately red and green when not paired with another device. Once paired, the light expires. On the underside and all gathered towards one top corner is the battery compartment cover and its release button, the pairing...
Published 21 months ago by Andy_atGC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent keyboard with some issues
Every once in a while the BT will drop off... not such a problem. However, there is another issue that every once in a while the keyboard will freeze on a single Letterrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr like that and you need to restart the keyboard to get rid of the issue. Still, for 20 quid refurbished it's good.
Published 9 months ago by UK-Dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, light and portable, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
This is a small keyboard by most standards and uses two provided AAA batteries. There is a small LED indicator in the top right-hand corner which flashes alternately red and green when not paired with another device. Once paired, the light expires. On the underside and all gathered towards one top corner is the battery compartment cover and its release button, the pairing button which needs a pen or something with a blunt point to operate, and the power switch which is small and needs a sharp fingernail.

In my instance, the keyboard did not pair when the button was depressed for a few seconds and repeating it a couple of times more. It was manually paired when choosing to Add New Device through Windows' Control Panel. It took about a minute or so and needed a generated code to be entered on the keyboard. The process completed in a few seconds more.

Buyers should be aware that this is a fairly slim and flat keyboard that does not utilise any risers and therefore sits rather low on the desktop. Due to its small size, it could be used on the floor, on your lap or anywhere, as long it remains within the normal Bluetooth range of about 10 meters.

No software is provided, nor is it needed and it is assumed that Bluetooth is incorporated within whatever device with which it is to be used. A PC/laptop without Bluetooth will require the purchase on a USB adapter, which will be usable on many computers whereas an internal card adapter may not.

Not quite perfect although there is nothing obviously or seriously negative about it, 4.5 stars is probably a realistic rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, ultra portable and ergonomic, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. J. White "James" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
I purchased the Mobile 5000 Keyboard for use on a desk at work with a Laptop. The design of the 5000 is both visually striking and ultra thin, this in turns creates a very portable keyboard that is both ergonomic and takes up minimal deskspace wherever used.

Bluetooth is one of the major features about this keyboard and it doesn't disappoint. Pairing was very easy on Windows 8 and I was up and running in about 30 seconds from opening the box. The Bluetooth connection is maintained and doesn't drop.

The keyboard itself is a very small form factor so you won't be getting a lot of Media/Functions keys, however the keyboard does have dedicated Volume Up, Down and Mute buttons, and the most common functions like Insert, Print Screen, Home and End have been binded to certain keys which are accessible by the Fn key, these are printed in blue at the bottom of these keys for handy reference. Apart from the the power/battery indicator light, there are no indicator lights for any of the usual keys such as Caps Lock, this however I can live with. (Does anyone use Caps Lock these days?!)

For the UK version the enter key is actually larger than the product image shows, the product image is actually the US version of the keyboard

The positioning of the keys and its ergonomic design mean typing on the Mobile 5000 whether it be a laptop or tablet is a very comfortable experience. Key feedback is very quiet and the keys feel quite beefy compared to other keyboards of a similar form factor, (which I welcome as I am not a fan of keyboards with a light touch).

Overall if your looking for a keyboard that is ultra thin, portable, ergonomic with Bluetooth connectivity, you should definitely consider the Bluetooth Mobile 5000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Partner for a Tablet, 22 Dec 2012
By 
D. Slee "Dave Slee" (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
Worked first time straight out of the box. Pairs fine with a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 and remebers its pairing through a power down. Buy this keyboard and have the best of tablet and the best of netbook. Thoroughly tested, it's now in Christmas wrapping paper on it's way to my mum...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Bluetooth keyboard, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
Positives include that it is powered by a couple of AAA - make sure to carry around a couple of spares though they do last a long time. It is cheaper than the Logitech equivalents and

I use this under Windows/Linux/Android without troubles. Make sure to turn off Bluetooth power saving mode under Windows, which causes more troubles than what it is worth (it is under Advanced Settings as a checkbox).

Can't think of many negatives except that I wish that there was a bit more space around the Enter key but this is hardly a major issue. I touch type and don't find that this is a major problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice sized keyboard., 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
I love the size of this keyboard. Not too big to become a burden on the desk and have the option of being portable, and not so small that you can't realistically type on it. I use it in my study for my work laptop when I work from home (usually once a week). I prefer Bluetooth as it's far easier and does not need little dongles plugging in wasting my USB ports. It works great. Nice to type on, proper function keys (not those silly ones that you need to hit a fn key and another key to get F5 for instance). Time will tell how long the battery lasts, but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great service from Amazon, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Wong "Wong" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
First keyboard arrived, I wasn't impressed. The space bar wasn't very good and you had to hit it dead centre or the words would stick together quite often so I asked for a replacement and Amazon handled that swiftly and quickly. Got it sent out even before I mailed the first one. Always a good idea to keep the original packaging for at least a week while you are trying it out.

Second keyboard was much better. Pairing was no trouble with my Samsung Android phone and Blackberry Playbook. The only niggle is sometimes my phone doesn't connect to the keyboard and I have to pair it again. I'm not sure if this is going to be a regular problem but as I've discovered I don't use it that much as what I intended it for, I can't comment going forward. Otherwise a sleek bluetooth keyboard for the get-go person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic keyboard, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
Just started using the keyboard today. Its really quiet & soft to type, light weight and the look of the keyboard is amazing. The bluetooth was a bit of a pain to set up as the keyboard wouldn't become visible, to the computer, without constantly pressing in the connect button but i'm unsure whether it's just this particular keyboard or all of the 5000 series. Overall plaesed with the purchase but we shall see how the batteries hold up to some constant use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent keyboard with some issues, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
Every once in a while the BT will drop off... not such a problem. However, there is another issue that every once in a while the keyboard will freeze on a single Letterrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr like that and you need to restart the keyboard to get rid of the issue. Still, for 20 quid refurbished it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bluetooth keyboard, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
An excellent bluetooth keyboard. It is compact, but with full-sized keys which have a positive action. It works well with the separate number pad which can be put away when not in use. Battery life eccellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keyboard, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000 (Accessory)
this has made life so much easier, no fidly wires to contend with, a must buy at an amazing price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Bluetooth Mobile Keyboard 5000
Used & New from: £34.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews