Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting film on DVD1 followed by mind-blowing music on DVD2
The film is fun, interesting, and the music good. The live performances on the second DVD are mind blowing, especially The Other One.
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by Bruce Robertson

versus
16 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Blu Ray 720x576
This blu-ray uk edition has the video encoded in PAL 720x576, instead of hd 1920x1080,like the u.s. region 1 edition. I already had the "old" dvd edition, which actually has the same audio/video quality. A waste of money. (1 star for the product, 5 stars for the film and the great music,of course)
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by Simone 72


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting film on DVD1 followed by mind-blowing music on DVD2, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grateful Dead Movie [UK DVD] (DVD)
The film is fun, interesting, and the music good. The live performances on the second DVD are mind blowing, especially The Other One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riding that train, high on ......, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
David Laidler (The Wire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really starting to get into the 'Dead'. I had the 2 hit albums (Workingmans Dead & American Beauty) but after a meeting with a "Deadhead" (He had seen the Dead 135 times!!, Epic) on a trip to the states I decided to indulge them some more.
A good movie with concert footage and lots of trippy animation. I really enjoyed the film.
Probably not the best place to start if you are looking at getting into the 'dead' but a worthy purchase not the less.
A very good insight into the experience that is a Live Grateful Dead Concert, from when many fans consider them to be in their pomp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Grateful Dead Movie (1 x BluRay & 1 x DVD), 20 Mar. 2014
This BluRay and bonus DVD is what the Grateful Dead was all about in the mid 1970s. The weird animation, the dancing hippies, the long jams and excellent musicianship is what the legendary Grateful Dead were all about. This BluRay version has superior sound compared the the original DVD, however the picture quality is not much on an improvement in my opinion. Still quite grainy considering its filmed mostly in dark conditions.
As a film this has sone great music and a genuine insight into the workings of a band that was an American icon.
I have enjoyed this on BluRay and the extra DVD has some edited songs of missing performances that are very enjoyable but not essential. The doco's are well done and even show us how the movie was filmed and recorded.
The audience really are with it, the band is performing brilliantly and its a fun film with some great music as well.
Worth the trip, man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Dead Movie, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grateful Dead Movie [UK DVD] (DVD)
Just to balance out the other review.

This has to be the definitive Dead movie which is unsurprising since it was painstakingly put together by Garcia himself. Every minute is great and there are a host of extras included that aren't part of the movie itself. If you don't already have a copy it's an absolute steal at this price. What are you waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots of fun, lots of music, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It remembers me my 60s\70s... lots of fun, lots of music, lots of love, and some p;-)t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... sound 1st class I cant belive it looks so good, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grateful Dead Movie [UK DVD] (DVD)
picture 1st class sound 1st class I cant belive it looks so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stuff for old hippies, 11 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grateful Dead Movie [UK DVD] (DVD)
Well, what to say? I suppose all Deadheads enjoy this movie and I could watch the opening animation for ever (perhaps) ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Better than expected!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ottimo bluray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: Blu Ray 720x576, 17 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This blu-ray uk edition has the video encoded in PAL 720x576, instead of hd 1920x1080,like the u.s. region 1 edition. I already had the "old" dvd edition, which actually has the same audio/video quality. A waste of money. (1 star for the product, 5 stars for the film and the great music,of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grateful Dead Movie [UK DVD]
The Grateful Dead Movie [UK DVD] by Leon Gast (DVD - 2012)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews