Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great real Music here !
I bought the album because i heard them perform Ventura Highway on the radio, and then realized that America actually recorded with them.
Very happily surprised, these buskers can actually play and sing, it is refreshing to hear this great song with such a good vibe to them, and having America and Graham Nash on them is an incredible boost for them surely !
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Matt Locatelli

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice but over hyped for Xmas!
In fairness I enjoyed almost all versions of the tracks covered. Big fan of America and Crosby, Stills & Nash so enjoyed these inclusions also. However, fundamentally disappointed in the fact that this is clearly a very elaborate marketing exercise!

Talented "buskers" indeed but with no original material and a clear "cashing in" on the Gypsy Kings name...
Published on 25 Dec. 2012 by DannyB


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great real Music here !, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
I bought the album because i heard them perform Ventura Highway on the radio, and then realized that America actually recorded with them.
Very happily surprised, these buskers can actually play and sing, it is refreshing to hear this great song with such a good vibe to them, and having America and Graham Nash on them is an incredible boost for them surely !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album all around, 12 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
I heard this band playing live on the radio and decided to get the album. I was very pleased with the eclectic selection of songs in various languages, some familiar, and some new to me. Listening to this album is like going on a fantastic holiday around Europe. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun selection of songs, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
I bought this for l'americano alone but was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the other songs on the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting and fun, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
I came across this group when browsing Youtube and loved l'Americano.
I bought the CD just because I enjoyed that song so much and I haven't been disappointed with the other tracks. I really don't care that the songs aren't originals. I just love the joyful and fun mood that this CD creates. It's certainly lifted my spirits in gloomy winter days and it's put me in a great mood to start the New Year!

I'm already looking forward to more albums from this group and I'll certainly buy them.

Great fun and I can thoroughly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 29 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
Nice to be able to put a cd on and enjoy it start to finish on first listen ... Its not original but its FUN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gypsy Queens, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
i just love this cd i cant stop playing it ,it reminds me of my holiday in italy great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice but over hyped for Xmas!, 25 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
In fairness I enjoyed almost all versions of the tracks covered. Big fan of America and Crosby, Stills & Nash so enjoyed these inclusions also. However, fundamentally disappointed in the fact that this is clearly a very elaborate marketing exercise!

Talented "buskers" indeed but with no original material and a clear "cashing in" on the Gypsy Kings name. Perfectly marketed for the 35-70 age market but this is an expensive CD (even at Amazon's £10).

My biggest issue is the overwhelming fact that that it is far too short. At less than 30 minutes for a £10 CD, this is disgusting. The tracks are short and punchy yes, but put a few more on... I can hardly imagine that these guys haven't learnt more material in their time. I suspect it's more a case of the record company not wanting to pay royalties/publishing rights to more artists!

In summary, real let down due to the price and the ridiculously short running time. Opened about two stocking fillers with the kids this morning and the CD was finished... went and found Gypsy Kings Greatest Hits instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foot tappingly fabulous, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
I have played this CD over and over again and it still sounds as fresh as the first time. The Gypsy Queens sound is fab, lively and makes you feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new listener., 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
Bought this album after reading a review in a newspaper. I was not disappointed in the music and enjoy it very much even though most of the songs are in French and Italian - I actually found that this added to my pleasure. The only recording I did not like was that of the John Denver song as I think it was poor (and I cannot listen to it so skip it when it plays) but I loved the recording of the Hollies song, the Marrakech Express. Would certainly buy more of the Gypsy Queens based on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GYPSY QUEENS, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD)
The Gypsy Queens is the self-titled debut studio album by five piece band, The Gypsy Queens. It was released in the United Kingdom on the November 2, 2012. The album entered the UK Albums Chart at number 46.

Following signing their record deal with London Records (Universal Music) they recorded their debut album with the legendary producer Larry Klein (who has worked with Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock and Madeleine Peyroux) in Los Angeles in April 2012. The album features songs such as L'Americano, Aicha, Ventura Highway and Marrakesh Express as well as vocals from Madeleine Peyroux, Graham Nash (Crosby Stills and Nash), Gerry Beckley, Dewey Bunnell and Pianist Booker T.

Track listing[edit]

No.

Title

Length

1. "L'Americano" (feat. Madeleine Peyroux) 1:57
2. "Ventura Highway" (feat. Booker T, Jones, Gerry Beckley & Dewey Bunnell) 3:46
3. "Aicha" 3:49
4. "Sympathique" 2:48
5. "Marrakesh Express" (feat. Graham Nash) 2:44
6. "L'Italiano" 3:24
7. "Malagueña" 3:21
8. "El Cuarto de Tula" 2:53
9. "Volare" 2:26
10. "Country Roads" 2:41
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gypsy Queens
The Gypsy Queens by The Gypsy Queens (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews