Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cover Drive- World Class!
Absolute brilliant debut album by Cover Drive. Every song is brilliant on this album, which is something ive never said before. Step aside Rhianna- lead singer Amanda has a Perfect voice, so talented plus she looks stunning!
If i had to pick fav song- there all great but best would be Twilight and Wronside. The future is bright 4 Cover Drive, World Class!
Published on 11 May 2012 by Sean Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Couple of good singles, but the rest of the album is very bland. Disappointing as I expected more from them.
Published 17 months ago by D. M. VICTOR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cover Drive- World Class!, 11 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
Absolute brilliant debut album by Cover Drive. Every song is brilliant on this album, which is something ive never said before. Step aside Rhianna- lead singer Amanda has a Perfect voice, so talented plus she looks stunning!
If i had to pick fav song- there all great but best would be Twilight and Wronside. The future is bright 4 Cover Drive, World Class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising..., 12 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
I heard of this band from their second single released, Twilight and then Sparks was released so decided to buy the album. I was very surprised at how much i have enjoyed the CD, there is a variety of songs that are written very well. There is talent that i didn't expect so overall very happy that i purchased this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Debut!!, 10 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
This is amazing debut album from Cover Drive they have a unique sound which is worth listening to. The way that they can mix reggae, r&b, pop and rock allows them to target many different musical audiences and their versatility really shows in this album, there isn't one song that I skip!
Their singles 'Lick Ya Down', 'Twilight' and 'Sparks' and more recently 'Explode' are all great and seeing as I personally enjoyed these songs I thought I might as well buy the album and check out what that has to offer and I wasn't disappointed.
Lead singer Amanda has a really lovely voice but as a band they work perfectly. Some of my personal stand out tracks include 'Headphones', 'Hurricane', 'Can't Live in a World' and 'I Know You Too Well'. But to be honest there isn't a song that I don't like!
This is a great album to listen to especially in the summer or to just brighten your mood. Cover Drive are different to musical acts at the moment they're music is fun, happy and exciting and I think their future is a bright one.

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twilalalalalalalalala twilight, 29 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
I didn't expect much of Bajan style. I didn't have much reason to expect they would be any different from most pop music we hear on the radio nowadays. It's not like we have new Michael Jackson and Whitney Houston albums coming out every year or two. :-(

Cover Drive surprised me. Against the odds. A stubborn 90s kid, it's really hard for any contemporary pop act to pique my interest. If I could describe Cover Drive in three words, it would be fresh, melodic and sweet. They have a sound that isn't quite the same as anything you've ever heard before, but the R&B/pop/carribean melodies are so lovely that the album is very easily accessible. Sometimes so-called "one of a kind" acts produce obscure pieces of "music" where it's actually just a load of rubbish, and that being the case you just cannot make sense of it at all. But it's all in the name of "art", right? Sort of like how a famous painter can put on a blindfold, splash a ton of colors onto a canvas, make an absolute hot mess, maybe even dip his bum in paint and sit on it a few times, and call it "complex, advanced, contemporary art". (*Cough* *cough* Kanye West) Fortunately, Cover Drive is "unique" in the good way. It's different but it's still quality music; you can still sing along and bob your head to it.

Amanda is the lead singer; she has a beautiful voice. The variety of songs on this album allows her to display her versatility. She can sound mainstream pop/R&B if she wants, but her voice doesn't really sound like anyone else except a tiny bit of Rihanna when she first came out. No surprises there since they're both from Barbados. I have to say, though, Amanda's voice is arguably better. As far as looks go... I would take Amanda over "Riri" any day. Sure, my friends would be more impressed because Rihanna is famous as... but if you're going on pure beauty, Amanda every day of the week, no competition.

But Cover Drive is a lot more than the lead singer. There is a clear chemistry in this band. The music that accompanies Amanda's vocals is an equal part of what makes this album so good, it's brilliantly done, especially when you consider they are childhood friends who first started banging out tunes in someone's garage in Barbados. It has an authentic sound to it. Also major credit is due to the writers of the songs. I'm not sure if the band write the songs themselves but whoever it is has done a fantastic job. They could teach mainstream writers in the US and UK a thing or two.

What I don't like about Cover Drive is that they tour a lot. They have a small but loyal fan base around the world, and they take advantage of that, because with the current state of the music industry, touring is where the money is at. They have to make money, which is great for them, but people who really love them want new music, which is hard to produce when most working hours are spent on the road. It's nearly 2015 now and a full second album is long overdue.

This isn't an album with just two or three singles and the rest of the tracks just fillers. Pretty much every track I listen to except maybe one or two. My favorites vary over time, one of the main signs of a really strong album, but at the moment I would say it is "Headphones".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening to..., 29 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
I was purchased Bajan style for Christmas and since then I haven't been able to stop listening to it. The songs are incredible, which is rare for me to say, and are great to relax to and just listen! My favourite of all songs was the hit... Twilight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
Couple of good singles, but the rest of the album is very bland. Disappointing as I expected more from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Hawley "Jay Hawley" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
Cover Drive bring a great variety of music style and produce some great easy listening songs. Great debut album from the group, cant wait for a sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
Really needd these and they do the job and are a great value do the money would recommend to another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
I recognise a few of the songs on the album and enjoy most of them. Could be a little longer though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajan Style (Audio CD)
Great Sound!!!! For more check out their fedora sessions on youtube!! This group is going places I can hardly wait to catch them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bajan Style
Bajan Style by Cover Drive (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews