Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good & compact
Well made out of a mixture of metal and plastic and nice looking, this 16 mb digital camera is a smart piece of kit.

Slim and light enough to fit safely into jacket pockets, it has most of the functionality you'd expect at this price point.

It's very easy to use and has a useful 'smart auto' option that provides for the optimal exposure which really...
Published on 22 May 2012 by MJ King

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake! DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS BUYER
I purchased this Samsung ST200F and received a cheap looking camera that was missing the details from the picture including the WIFI logo. It also only had Samsung ST200 printed on the camera too.

The box had already been opened and had no seal. I strongly suspect it as being a fake as it had a very cheap plastic feel to it. Also, the bar codes from the...
Published 21 months ago by Gintare


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good & compact, 22 May 2012
By 
MJ King "MJK" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well made out of a mixture of metal and plastic and nice looking, this 16 mb digital camera is a smart piece of kit.

Slim and light enough to fit safely into jacket pockets, it has most of the functionality you'd expect at this price point.

It's very easy to use and has a useful 'smart auto' option that provides for the optimal exposure which really does seem to work.

The main USP is the built in Wi Fi capability. This can be directly to your smart phone and to Face Book & other social media through e-mail.

It has some fun features such as supplied backgrounds and a Funny Face feature that allows you to stretch pictures and distort/enlarge heads etc!

It comes with a carry strap and that's it. No case and not even a memory card.

Talking of memory, besides 18 mb of internal memory, the camera will take microSD Cards (up to 2GB guaranteed) microSDHC (up to 32GB guaranteed) and microSDXC (up to 64GB guaranteed)

There is the usual mini usb connection but no HD output which is a shame. It will shoot video.

All in all a nice product at a fair price. Nothing very different to other similar priced cameras but worth a look especially if you'll use the Wi Fi.

Update: 9/8/12: just a brief update to say the Wi Fi is a good addition even if its a bit long winded to use! Also, although using this camera will be pretty easy for anyone who's ever used a digital camera before, it really is worth reading the manual as it will help especially with what all the features can do.

Update 30/8/12: just returned from 2 weeks in Jamaica and used the camera every day. First thing is to say the battery life is fantastic - could use it on and off for 2-3 days on a single charge. Is perhaps a little slow to recharge. Second thing to add is the camera is really easy to use and takes great shots! Very good thru the window of a moving car too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic camera but unreliable extras, 10 Jun 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This attractive and solid camera takes very good photos and HD movie clips. The simple "auto smart" function takes care of most situations autmoatically. The 16mega pixel resolution allows large reproductions and the 10x zoom is impressive. The built in auto focus and face recognition software works very well and helps the user take good photos very quickly and easily.

There are fun gimmicky photo effects, such as face distortion software and the ability to create montage photos with several images in one. Unfortunately these seem to crash the camera quite easily, rendering all the buttons inoperable, meaning the only way to reset it is to take out the battery.

The camera has some mobile-phone style elements built in, specifically the ability to connect to the wider world via wi-fi. Files can be emailed or uploaded to facebook, youtube and the like. It's useful for people who can't be disconnected from the electronic world for a moment, and more useful as a means of backing up precious photos whilst out and about. Unfortunately this does seem unreliable and for me didn't always work properly. Like the photo effects features it also seems to crash the camera occasionally.

My other niggle is the controls can be fiddly. It does a lot automatically so you can go a long time without altering the controls. For anything else however, such as manually setting the macro setting requires navigation through the menu. It's simple to use but it's not done at the press of a button which is a shame.

It's a nice camera and when using the basic features is hard to beat. The main selling point of this camera though, the wi-fi connection really seems to let it down, which is a shame. I think Samsung need to work some more on this feature, as they clearly make excellent cameras otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Smart Little Camera, 21 Jun 2012
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Samsung ST200F SMART is just the latest in a long line of compact cameras I have owned over the years, from a Canon Ixus back in the days before digital to a Nikon Coolpix S3100 Digital Camera - Black (14MP, 5x Wide Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD that I was given as a birthday present in March this year. Having now had the chance to give it a pretty decent workout in various environments I can say with total honesty that the Samsung is a pretty good unit.

For a start it feels nice and solid in the hand. The build quality and finish is good, with an anodized outer shell for the front, top and bottom and heavy duty plastic with a rough surface at the back and on one end to provide grip (and hark back to camera designs I remember from the 70's & 80's). The various control buttons are both sleek and high quality, and maintain the minimalist style of the whole product. There's no garish labelling (apart from a removable sticker on the front) and not one flash of colour anywhere on the camera.

Size and weight-wise its big and heavy enough for you to be aware of its presence in your pocket. Compared to my ultra-slim Nikon Coolpix it feels rather bulky and if you're looking for something to slip into your trouser pocket to take casual snaps on a whim this probably isn't what you're looking for. Still, it remains a compact unit and will not take up too much space in a bag or larger coat pocket.

Battery life is great if you're just taking pictures and okay if you use the WiFi connection heavily. Battery charging is via a USB cable and there is no mains adaptor included, so if you're out an about without a PC close at hand you may find recharging to be problematic. Also be warned that the ST200F uses micro-SD cards, so if you're upgrading from a camera that uses standard SD's you will need to purchase new memory at the same time. Finally there is imaging software included with the ST200F that can be downloaded onto your PC. With all the cameras I've owned I have skipped installing the supplied software and used my own pre-existing software and did the same here, so I can't comment on whether Samsung's is any good. However, I can confirm that the camera works fine without it.

Of course the key question is does it take decent pictures? The answer to that is a definite yes. Picture quality is uniformly good. Images are crisp and depth of colour is good. Both the optical and digital zoom functions work smoothly and when using the latter there's minimal image degradation. Image stabiliser and autofocus functions operate seamlessly.

As the name 'SMART' suggests, the camera also offers a wide range of functionalities. In terms of taking pictures these include everything from the key 'Smart' function to creating wacky frames for your pictures. I'm not going to review every option or this review would be even longer than it is, but I'll cover some key ones.

The Smart Function: This is one of the camera's key selling points and it works petty well. Rather than manually selecting the type of photo you wish to take (portrait, panorama, action, etc.) when in the 'Smart' setting the camera's software does this intuitively and adjusts the various settings accordingly. Having taken various different shots, including close-ups, landscapes and groups, all in different locations, environments and light conditions on the whole the assumptions the ST200F makes regarding the type of photo being taken are pretty accurate. You can tell what its thinking based on an icon in the corner of the screen that changes as you change subject matter, and you can override it if you feel its way off, but I haven't had to yet. Apart from a couple of issues with the use of flash in a dimly lit restaurant it selected the most appropriate shot type pretty much every time.

Panorama: The ST200F is the first camera I've had with this function, which allows you to take seamless 'ultra wide aspect' shots. Once upon a time to do this you'd have to take multiple exposures and then stitch them all together afterwards. With the ST200F you simple select Panoramic, hold down the shutter and move the camera across the scene you wish to photograph. Software adjusts for any image shake and a graphical display tells you when you've recorded the whole image. Its a great way to take scenic shots, even if there is a slight 'fish-eye' feel to the finished images.

Photo effects: These are fun rather than really practical, allowing you to play around with images. For example one allows you to covert photos into 'pencil drawings'. Another makes any photo you choose appear to be an advertising hoarding on a bus-stop. There are also various image manipulation options that allow you to stretch and distort people's faces for comic effect. They're entertaining to play around with and probably quite useful if you're planning to send photos straight from the camera using the wi-fi functionality, but I don't think I'll be making heavy use of them.

The menu for all these options and others is relatively easy to navigate. The various icons are big, colourful and for the most part self explanatory. Navigation is via a four-way cursor, which is okay until you need to type something, at which point it can become rather laborious and make you wish for a touch screen.

The phone's other big selling point is its inbuilt WiFi functionality. You can e-mail photos wirelessly, which works pretty well, and there are links to Facebook, Picasa (Google) and YouTube. As I'm not a Facebook user I can't tell you how well this link works but I can say that the Picasa link is pretty straightforward to work, with photos being sent to users on-line web-albums. There are also icons that allow you to pair the ST200F with your smartphone using Samsungs own 'MobileLink' and 'Remote Viewfinder' Apps. I have to admit that I was less than impressed with both of these. Having downloaded both Apps (for free) on to my Apple iPhone 4 I could could get MobileLink to work intermittently and Remote Viewfinder simply refused to connect. I've given up trying to use either.

WiFi also has one significant limitation; you need to be connected to a WiFi network to use it. If you're somewhere where there is a WiFi network which you can get the SSID code for then its quite nice to have, but without an inbuilt web browser there's no way to connect with Hotspots and if you're taking photos outside in the middle of the countryside for example, its completely pointless. If Samsung were hoping that adding WiFi to the ST200F would make it more competitive with Smart Phones and their increasingly more capable cameras then its gets part of the way to that goal but falls short without a 3G connection for when WiFi is unavailable

However, despite its shortcomings WiFi does make an already solid product that bit more enticing. It would be even more appealing if they'd also throw in a case and a Micro-SD card but as it stands this is still a very attractive compact camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart camera, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really happy with this camera very easy to use and having the 10x zoom is excellent being able to e mail photos direct from camera to friends and social sites is great and easy to do would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake! DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS BUYER, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
I purchased this Samsung ST200F and received a cheap looking camera that was missing the details from the picture including the WIFI logo. It also only had Samsung ST200 printed on the camera too.

The box had already been opened and had no seal. I strongly suspect it as being a fake as it had a very cheap plastic feel to it. Also, the bar codes from the invoice, box and guarantee did not match.

To enhance my suspicion there was a cheap Chinese charger thrown in the box. Not even packaged, just loosely rolling around in the bottom of the box. It wasn't a Samsung charger and had 3 extensions to the original lead so that it was compatible for the UK. I know for a fact that this would never happen if you bought a genuine Samsung product as I have bought many Samsung items from shops and they all come with a Samsung charger that is properly packaged.

I'm very disappointed and upset as I bought this for my holiday that I go on in less than a week. Now I must go and purchase a genuine Samsung from the High Street to guarantee it is the real deal which means I will have spent twice the money as I cannot get a refund until this camera has been returned.

Morning Bell (The seller of this product) should be ashamed of themselves and Amazon should take action against them to ensure they can no longer attempt to scam people. You are scum! If you're going to sell a product, don't take people for fools. At least you should have tried to do a better job of covering up the fact that it's fake by sending a sealed box with matching bar codes and a charger that doesn't look like it was made by a 12 year old in technology class at school. You have no shame!

I hope that people do read reviews before purchasing, I know I will read more reviews in future. This experience has made me reluctant to purchase anything online.

Seriously, if you are reading this, do not even think about purchasing anything from Morning Bell. I am sure that there are many other genuine sellers on Amazon, but this isn't one. Be careful or just be sure and go to your local electronics shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty impressed, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
so my ST200F arrived this morning! Opened up the box and i was greeted by its sleekness and style, very good looking compact!

I had a fiddle around with different photo/video settings to test the water, found it to be slightly complicated but I'm getting my head around how to change the modes ect.

Takes very, very sharp and crisp 16MP photos and great 720p video..im pretty impressed actually!

A couple of very minor downsides, lacks a mode 'hard' spin button on the top, charger lead a little on the short side....that aside, great camera!!

Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good point & shoot camera, but ignore the wifi features, 29 July 2012
By 
G. Lewis "mgjjl" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a camera the ST200F is pretty impressive. It manages to pack a mean 16 megapixels into its small frame and offers a good range of shooting modes to experiment with. I normally shoot with a DSLR and find the lack of control over depth of field on a compact camera frustrating. However, the ST200F offers a very good Macro mode that lets you get up close to your subject whilst isolating it from its background. There is also a useful portrait mode that will detect a face in the shot and crop the image around it.

Image quality is very good, but as is the norm with these small cameras, the flash is invariably overpowering and gives the shot an unpleasant, washed-out look. You can turn it off, fortunately but doing that limits you to shooting in good light only. I guess it is useful if a bad shot is better than no shot at all. Shutter lag is minimal though.

Where this camera really falls down is with the wifi features. Compact cameras are seeing their market gradually eaten away by mobile phones. The main reason for this is that cameras on phones are pretty good these days and they offer the ability to upload your image to the internet straight away. Unsurprisingly, the compact camera market is trying to adapt, but the way Samsung has implemented wifi on the ST200F is a bit of a waste of time. If you have an iPhone you can download their app, which lets you transfer your images wirelessly to your phone. However, this involves disconnecting your phone from your home wifi network (if you have one) and connecting it to a wifi signal your camera is broadcasting.

Unfortunately, the process is even more complicated than it sounds. If the app can't see a camera to connect to, it quits immediately, so you have to start the process on the camera then quickly load the app and hope that it all works out. It is prohibitively fiddly and you are unlikely to bother with that feature more than once. I've been unsuccessful in connecting it directly to my home router, but I can get it talking to my Samsung TV reasonably easily - again with a direct connection.

Another problem is the battery life. It seems to run flat quickly, whether you are using it or not.

These niggles aside, it isn't a bad camera but if the wifi feature is important to you, you might want to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars samsung, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Kh Worsencroft "Caline56" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this camera and thought how fantastic the x10 was only to find that after 12 months it failed to self focus and couldn't be repaired, a total loss of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
Perfect customer experience, quick delivery, well packaged, no complaints :) the camera itself is really incredible too, great quality and I love love love the wifi feature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wifi camera: one problem, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Samsung ST200F SMART Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 10x Optical Zoom) 3.0 LCD (Electronics)
This camera is as good as most compact digitals, (within this price range) at taking photographs. This however was not the prominent reason for buying this camera; I bought it for the wifi feature, for sending snaps whilst out and about.

providing you have wifi access it works great, albeit it does shrink the photographs down to 2m if they are bigger, this for me wasnt a problem.Finding wifi access that does not block port 25 is going to be your headache. The only one I can find so far is starbucks, so my diet has improved ( you wont be able to use mcdonalds) but my coffee intake has sky-rocketed.

I have tried to ask samsung to look at a firmware upgrade to resolve this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews