Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
An excellent package, all 4 of Bruce Lee's Fighting Method in one very nice harback bound copy.

The book explains all the movements you could need well, and is thoroughly illustrated throughout, so you can see the way the movements should be performed step by step.

Of course, a book is no substitute for a teacher, but I doubt there will ever be a...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much of its time
I know the dangers of criticising Bruce Lee, but this is a review of a book, not a person. If you are looking for a book on self defence, you should really go for something more recent than this. Lee's Jeet Kune Do is known to have changed in the time since he wrote this book, so this is a snapshot of JKD at a specific moment in time. As an introduction to the...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Tony Gallagher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent package, all 4 of Bruce Lee's Fighting Method in one very nice harback bound copy.

The book explains all the movements you could need well, and is thoroughly illustrated throughout, so you can see the way the movements should be performed step by step.

Of course, a book is no substitute for a teacher, but I doubt there will ever be a teacher like Lee again. And for those of us who are not fortunate to have a Jeet Kune Do instructor in our area, this is the next best thing. Get it on the shelf!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!, 20 Sept. 2011
By 
S. o'brien - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and loved 'Tao of Jeet Kune Do' (i absorbed every word), i didn't think anything could come close, how wrong i was i truly never expected this book to be so complete. Truly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This used to be a paper back series, 14 Aug. 2013
By 
Simon Sloth Schultz (Kolding, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love the old paper back series then this is perfect. I honestly like the paper backs better, but they were more expensive and this looks great, so as a gift - which was why I bought it - it works great. If you're a Bruce Lee fan and you unwrap your present to see a nicely bound version of Bruce Lee's Fighting Method then you have to be happy. Even if you have the old versions. This is one of those books that you put on a coffee table or a shelf and every man who visits your home will pick it up.

I trust you know what the book is about because of the title and the fact that you're reading this. But I will just say that it is a pretty comprehensive - even if slightly dated - look at fighting and it is filled with sketches and things like that. It's a good book and if you ask me it couldn't hurt to own this. I know my future kids will go into ninja training hen they eventually find this book on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic series in one great volume, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
J. HILTON "jameshilton2" (Carlisle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I owned this series in paperback many years ago. It's great to have this available on Kindle. The picture zoom function is great. Along with the Bruce Lee library books by John Little, this is one book I will revisit time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The master, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, I've trained in martial arts for quite a few years and yet I always find something to trigger my mind in the works of Bruce Lee.

I own his books on "Gung fu; The philosopical art of self defense", "The tao of Jeet Kune Do" and "Bruce Lee's commentaries on the martial way". Of those 3 books, this is the only book he ACTUALLY put together on Jeet Kune Do when he was alive.... just a shame he died before it was released. This book is brillaint, full of information and offers detailed explanations on both the technique and the psychological application behind them.

For any aspiring martial artists out there, get this book regardless of what martial art you train in. Jeet Kune Do will open your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boards Don't Hit Back!, 2 July 2009
By 
P. Clark (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent repackaging of Bruce's guide to fighting. Superb presentation and highly recommended for all fans who don't have the original individual volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Lee - icon and a legend, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book from a man who was dedicated to personal and physical excellence. Even though the illustrations are old they are bang on in explaining the fighting movements, diagrams are detailed and the narrative is really fluid and descriptive in helping you to understand the basic movements or details of a particular exercise. Bruce Lee was an icon and this book is a great part of his legacy. Would recommend to any martial arts practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much of its time, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know the dangers of criticising Bruce Lee, but this is a review of a book, not a person. If you are looking for a book on self defence, you should really go for something more recent than this. Lee's Jeet Kune Do is known to have changed in the time since he wrote this book, so this is a snapshot of JKD at a specific moment in time. As an introduction to the principles of JKD which, given the nature of the art, are more important than specific techniques, I would recommend the excellent Tao of Jeet Kune Do.

Bruce Lee's Fighting Method is exactly what it says: Jeet Kune Do as Bruce was able to make it work for him. If you don't have impeccable timing and razor sharp reflexes, most of the defensive techniques fall flat. If you are a martial artist of many years training, you may be able to modify them to work for you, but I would not recommend anything here for the novice. The value of this book is largely as an historical document and a collector's item for the fans. Those same fans will probably react negatively to such a lukewarm review, but to do so is to forget Bruce's own belief that everyone should find their own style. It is not that the book is bad as such, just that better introductions to JKD and general self protection have been published in the time since this was written.

There really is no substitute for attending a martial arts class. If, for whatever reason, you are not able to attend a class, solo practice is better than not having any fighting skill at all. In that situation, look for books which teach you the detailed mechanics of how to kick, punch, knee and elbow as a starting point and practise through repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for training martial artists., 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, such books are not a good substitute for official training with a recognised association. The authors are aware of this and like most manuals they are written for people with some understanding of martial training. With this in mind, this book is very informative with some useful little gems of knowledge to add to your repertoire of martial skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this more for the historic value rather than training per say. Techniques-wise, nothing fabulous that you've not seen before. On that front can serve well as an inspiration as well as the sheer discipline of his training methods. Simply great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews