Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie
One of my fav' movies of all time!

Goldberg plays Deloris Van Cartier who is a lounge singer in a casino. She's in a relationship with Vince LaRocca who is the casino's owner who and unknown to Deloris is also a gangster. Deloris witnesses a murder by Vince. She rushes to the police who want to put away Vince for good and enrol Deloris in a witness protection...
Published on 14 Mar. 2011 by MAKY

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars look at region
sadly not able to play this on my DVD player as it only plays in region 1 which was something i hadn`t heard of before and unfortunately i dont have sellers details to phone and ask for help
Published 24 months ago by keran


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie, 14 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my fav' movies of all time!

Goldberg plays Deloris Van Cartier who is a lounge singer in a casino. She's in a relationship with Vince LaRocca who is the casino's owner who and unknown to Deloris is also a gangster. Deloris witnesses a murder by Vince. She rushes to the police who want to put away Vince for good and enrol Deloris in a witness protection program.

The catch is that Deloris must now assume the role of Sister Mary Clarence, a nun at a convent. From there the movie is full of laughs as Deloris takes time setting into the nuns lifestyle. Eventually Deloris, given her music abilities, wins over the other nuns in the convent, gets rescued by them when Vince finds out where she's hiding, and puts on a smash concert that revamps traditional notions of what a Church choir should sound like.

This is a great movie worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sister Act & Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit, 11 Feb. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sister Act -
On-the-run after witnessing her Las Vegas mobster boyfriend kill someone, a tacky lounge singer (Whoopi Goldberg) enters the Witness Protection Program - as a nun. Now the convent needs protection, from the new Sister Mary Clarence and her Vegas-style ideas on how to run the choir. A charming comedy and one of Goldberg's best movies.
Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit -
Whoopi Goldberg returns as Deloris Van Cartier, who, at the film's opening, has become a successful Vegas headliner, belting out undeniably cheesy medleys of R&B hits. The nuns she shielded her identity from in the first film arrive to beg her to help them revitalize their San Francisco Catholic school. Deloris is persuaded to put her Sister Mary Clarence costume back on and work with a bunch of undisciplined street kids as the school's music teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 of the greatest movies ever made!, 31 May 2004
By A Customer
Good value for getting two great films to watch back to back. Featuring some great songs, this family comedy will have you in fits of laughter. After a few viewings, you'll be singing along to the gospel classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US Import is Region Free, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act: 20th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
I can happily report that the US Import Bluray of Sister Act + Sister Act 2 is Region-Free (A,B and C) and will play perfectly on a UK Bluray player at 1080p.

If you are using tools such as MakeMKV to put the movie onto a NAS or HTPC box, Sister Act is the first large track at 21Gb with about 27 chapters. The slightly smaller film with significantly fewer chapters is Sister Act 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment!, 21 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These movies may be old now, but they still make me laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sister Act/Sister Act 2 - Back in the Habit, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another very good film. There is nothing that I didn't like about it. I would recommend it to all who like musical films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love these movies!, 20 Nov. 2006
By 
Miss A. Langley "YorkshireMum" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cheesy, corny and totally daft but really enjoyable all the same! The first movie is the best of the two but both are easy to watch, fun and the music is pretty good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SISTERS, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WERE ON TIME PACKED WELL TOP JOB KIDS WATCHED AGAIN AND AGAIN WHAT MORE CAN YOU SAY DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE BOX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SISTER ACT 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act: 20th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1992] [Region Free] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
These are two absolutely brilliant films that I have watched again and again, and still laugh at every time I watch it, so I have added this to my small but elite collection of blu ray films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise the Lord, 7 July 2006
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The is a great set of films Whoopi really make a Nuns life fun she breaks nearly every rule in the book and can't seem to to keep a low profile she bring new life to a failing convent and survives a murder attempt in the second she goes back under cover at a school staffed by sisters and fathers. Whoopi has the almost impossible job of saving the school from clousre and with the help of her misfit class suceeds this is a toetaping sequel with may laughs thrown in if you like Whoopi this is a real must and if you like comdey I feel there is a good amount here for you.

Buy the 2 film pack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews