Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uke'ouldn't make it up.......
Really enjoyed this book which I read in the kindle format..it was a tale of Ukulele's ,travel and the trappings associated with live performance.
The appeal of the book for me was the fact that I myself play the ukulele and alike the author have recently stumbled on the glory of playing at 'open mic's..it was interesting therefore to read another take on this...
Published on 5 May 2012 by Mr. A. J. Skelton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the ukulele, it's fun and undemanding
In a sort of belated mid-life crisis, the author sets out on a tour of open-microphone events across Great Britain, from the south coast to the northernmost. His weapon of choice is the humble ukulele, with the even humbler kazoo in reserve for the instrumental breaks. On foot, bus and train he makes his way from town to town, playing R&B covers in pubs, staying in B&Bs,...
Published 14 months ago by Jason Mills


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uke'ouldn't make it up......., 5 May 2012
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book which I read in the kindle format..it was a tale of Ukulele's ,travel and the trappings associated with live performance.
The appeal of the book for me was the fact that I myself play the ukulele and alike the author have recently stumbled on the glory of playing at 'open mic's..it was interesting therefore to read another take on this experience delivered with wit and enthusiasm.
Mark Wallington covers the breadth of the UK playing various 'open mic's up and down the country to create a national tour of sorts and the book is about this but ultimately about the experience and the people and places along route..the ukulele is focal in many respects but I'm certain a non-uke player would enjoy this book just as much as really the uke is just really the driving force for the trip rather than the ultimate focus.
It's also worth putting in the key words Mark Wallington,Ukulele into youtube to see one of the performances within the book at the SOAP 'open mic' as although the author downplays his abilities I think it is fair to say at that point in the journey he appears to have polished his craft and is as good a performer as many I have seen at local 'open mic' nights here.
From unorthodox Kazoo holders through to difficult toilet cisterns this is a great little book and I'm hoping Mark follows up with a similar one as there's still a great many 'open mic's.....or maybe even a world tour beckons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How rock and roll., 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
A heart warming story. The happiness of ukulele music sounds through the words. It's like a travel book with music. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
I have read other Mark Wallington travel books and this one is in the same vein. It's great fun. In the course of his travels in this one, he visited several towns that I know and I laughed at his observations of them. If you like light-hearted British travel books, or are interested in Open Mic nights in pubs, then this is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and enjoyable book, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
Another great book from the authors pen., Comical and yet enlightening funny and Light and easy to read. A great look at Britain whilst also making the reader laugh. I could read books like this every day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
Another great book from mark wallington, full of his usual antics and witty observations. Great reading, now get the rest of his books on kindle please.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Paperback)
Up to Mark's usual high standard, plenty of laughs but also loads of information on the places he visited. I really enjoy Mark's books. Easy reading, ideal for journeys or on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It just made me smile, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read book which takes you on the road with him. For anyone interested in live music, not just ukulele players.

Fantastic, I'd love to try doing this after reading his experience :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful feel good book, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Mark (Southampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
Fun for everyone, especially so for Uke players. This may be the most English book that I have ever read with great subtle humour and observations. I wholeheartedly recommend it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a laugh, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Paperback)
bought this read it and re read told several readers about they all bought and agreed best read of year, two of them are learning the uke now, one is already performing loved the bit about the mic holder!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uke of Wallington (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. As soon as i started to read it i couldn`t put it down. The humour in it was really great, it was like i was on the journey with him. I was so impressed that i have bought most of Mark Wallingtons other books and although they are good , they took a bit more time to get into. In my opinion this is the best book of Marks that i have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Uke of Wallington
The Uke of Wallington by Mark Wallington
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews