Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funny things people say
A modern set of humourous quotes including some of the latest material from radio, stage, TV and films. Many old chestnuts are in here as well. I find it amazing that there are so many different quotes that can be quite so amusing. Some fail to hit the mark precisely, but I think all can justify being included here.

The quotes are arranged alphabetically by...
Published on 8 Nov 2009 by R. F. Stevens

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so far so good
not yet read them all but so far i am imprest with the content of this book some of the quotes are an eye opener
Published 17 months ago by michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funny things people say, 8 Nov 2009
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
A modern set of humourous quotes including some of the latest material from radio, stage, TV and films. Many old chestnuts are in here as well. I find it amazing that there are so many different quotes that can be quite so amusing. Some fail to hit the mark precisely, but I think all can justify being included here.

The quotes are arranged alphabetically by topic to help you find the one you are looking for, and then attributed to the speaker, and, where relevant, also to character being played or context. But often when looking for something appropriate when I don't know the most relevant topic, just part of the quote or joke, then this indexing is not so helpful.

Fortunately it is sufficiently consistently funny one could easily just sit down and start reading at the beginning, and work through the thousands of quotes and one-liners. After a week or two the end might appear, but by then with brain overloaded it is time to take a rest before returning to the beginning again.

I find the organisation of The Everyman Dictionary of Quotations and Proverbs much easier to use, but sadly that is quite old and out of date, and most of its material is anything but funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a nice book to 'dip' into, 25 May 2010
By 
Deirdre Pitelen (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is quite a substantial paperback, full of funny quotes from famous people. It is divided into chapters to make browsing easier. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal for teenagers, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Montpellier, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as small extra pressie for 14 year old who spends too much of his time in the loo! Ideal for that difficult age when you've no idea what to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quotations, 22 Aug 2012
By 
J. Tuckett (Sheffield . England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real bargain, the sort of book you can dip in and out of. Some really classic quotations, I heartily recommend this entertaining book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extensive contemporary (2004) and consistently good collection, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection is more electronic media oriented than other similar books, with the introduction acknowledging dozens of TV shows for their contribution to it. Less emphasis on quotations from the fields of Politics, Literature, History, Poetry and so on.

Needless to say, there's nothing wrong with that...

Although published in the UK it has a slightly more American aroma to it.

For example, it has dozens of quotes from the likes of The Simpsons, Rita Rudner, Jay Leno, SNL, Seinfeld, MASH whereas contributors such as Lewis Carroll or Lord Byron have no foothold here, as they do have in the Oxford Humorous Quotations Dictionary, where almost none of the aforementioned contributors appears.

It does, however, contain many quotations from "Monolithic" contributors like Oscar Wilde, George Bernard Shaw, Mark Twain, Winston Churchill and many others that no worthy compilation can do without.

Content : 5/5
Most quotes are consistently funny and of good quality.

Indexing: 4/5
Thematic 20 page table of contents and a contributors index at the end. No keyword index and no numbering for quotes on page for easy reference.

Extra Info: 4/5
Rare and minimal extra info such as on who/ to whom / on what occasion.

Overall a very good book. If you consider only purchasing one or two quotation books this should be high on your options list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars comic quotes review, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Comic Quotes: Over 10000 Gems of Wit and Wisdom, One-liners and Wisecracks (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
very good book for dipping into whenever you have sometime to spare.Had previously read some of the quotes but still enough new ones to raise a smile.I dont think it should be tackled all in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AGood fun read, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Comic Quotes: Over 10000 Gems of Wit and Wisdom, One-liners and Wisecracks (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
This has to be the best toilet book i have read in years, i will spend many years annoying my friends with endless quotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Comic Quotes: Over 10000 Gems of Wit and Wisdom, One-liners and Wisecracks (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting and amusing. The way it is produced makes it very easy to dip in and out of, which is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource and fun too, 1 Nov 2013
By 
M. S. Randall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Comic Quotes: Over 10000 Gems of Wit and Wisdom, One-liners and Wisecracks (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Hard to imagine how so much is crammed in there! Just the book you always wanted when thequotes were on the tip of your tongue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good For A Laugh, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mammoth Book of Comic Quotes: Over 10000 Gems of Wit and Wisdom, One-liners and Wisecracks (Mammoth Books) (Kindle Edition)
Many familiar and even more unfamiliar quotes from a variety of people, some of which I've never heard but still funny. Well worth a read and a source of comments to amuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews