Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodstorm [DVD]
This DVD was a gift for me, which makes a change; and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It's a good yarn. If you like your modern day Zombie horror movies, with blood and gore, and with a twist, then this movie is for you! Explorers find Nazi's at the centre of the earth, great story line. This movie is a cross between Journey to the centre of the Earth and Outpost.
Published 17 months ago by Ronin88-88

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WTF
How to review this one?

The story begins with Josef Mengele the "Angel of Death" escaping from a soon to fall Germany. This he does in spectacular fashion and with no assistance from the handful of german soldiers that are accompanying him. First he takes out the 1 Sherman (CGI) tank with a spectacular shot from a Panzerfaust, refuses to board the plane until...
Published on 8 Aug 2012 by E. Evlogidis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WTF, 8 Aug 2012
By 
E. Evlogidis "Van66" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
How to review this one?

The story begins with Josef Mengele the "Angel of Death" escaping from a soon to fall Germany. This he does in spectacular fashion and with no assistance from the handful of german soldiers that are accompanying him. First he takes out the 1 Sherman (CGI) tank with a spectacular shot from a Panzerfaust, refuses to board the plane until he has decimated the 10 American soldiers advancing on the air base with nothing more than his trusty Luger Pistol!

Fast forward to present day Antarctica where a couple of Scientists go missing, Dragged off by Gas mask wearing German soldiers no less. Their colleagues, obviously upset set out to find them and in doing so stumble across a cavern deep below the ice populated by Mengele and those useless soldiers that only half heartedly helped him during his 1945 escape from Germany, why keep these around I have no idea?

What follows is the explanation of how Mengele kept these soldiers alive, his plan for the 4th Reich and alot of running, screaming, bad CGI, even worse acting and some very dodgy latex masks that quite frankly wouldn't scare a 3 year old at a Midnight Halloween party in a Graveyard!

Despite all it's flaws this is an entertaining film if only for the WTF moments which are numerous. The atrocious acting especially by the 2 English pilots towards the end, the major surprise half way through all have to be seen to be believed. Peppered throughout are some passable CGI effects and to be honest the story (up to a point) isn't all that bad.

There is some Gore for horror fans, some well done other bits not so good and of course for those that need it there is the obligatory bare boobie shot.

In the end it boils down to this, If you want to have a good laugh, this film delivers them in spades although not for all the right reasons, if you want a serious horror then maybe "outpost" would be a better call
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To be avoided except for the most rabid fans of The Asylum!, 30 Dec 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
Earlier this year, I saw the trailer for Nazis at the Center of the Earth and despite the lame title, the trailer for this film piqued my interest and I kept a casual lookout for the its UK release. I failed to notice the film's UK release in August 2012 when it was unleashed on British audiences as Bloodstorm, no doubt as a ploy to draw in those looking for the tremendous Nazi zombie flick, Dead Snow.

At this point, it's worth mentioning that the DVD cover also bears a striking resemblance to the imagery on the front of the Dead Snow sleeve. This comes as no surprise really since the studio behind Bloodstorm is the notorious Asylum, responsible for such "mockbusters" as Transmorphers, The Day the Earth Stopped, Paranormal Entity; and direct to DVD chum such as Mega Shark vs Giant Octopus and 2 Headed Shark Attack.

Boils and ghouls, I make no secret of the fact that despite being from the infamous Asylum, I watched the trailer and found myself wanting to see this! I should have left it well alone...
***SPOILER ALERT!!!***
*
*
*
*
*
The film opens in the closing stages of World War II with the man known as the "Angel of Death" Josef Mengele attempting to evade the enemy and although accompanied by German troops, single-handedly takes out an American tank with a rocket launcher and despatching a squad of US soldiers with only his Luger pistol.
We're then brought to present-day and an Antarctic scientific research station where we are introduced to the characters and some known actors such as Jake Busey and Dominique Swain. Things kick off fairly promptly with nazis in gasmasks abducting some of the team as they conduct an experiment, leading the remaining scientists to send out a search party. Thereinafter we are treated to an abseiling scene that has been plucked straight out of the Batman TV series of the 1960s. Yep, that's right, camera held at an angle and have the actors, well, act like they're rapelling down the ice. I should've switched off there and then but I knew this was going to be low-budget and so, I carried on.
From here, we go deep inside the Nazi base and one of the captured scientists is "operated" on by Dr Mengele who removes the scientist's face. This was probably the highlight for the practical effects in this film but that's not saying much at all. Such a scene should've had me at least squirm a little but no, nothing. The nazis have been surviving for so long by harvesting bodyparts (at the South Pole?!) and grafting them on to their decaying bodies, courtesy of the expertise of Dr Mengele. Subsequently, we see the same face stitched on to one of the Nazi henchmen and made to look as if it was dead flesh. By dead flesh, I mean it looked like someone had moulded yellow plasticine and heavy mascara on to the actor's face. Not impressive at all.

Unfortunately, this wasn't as bad as the film got. I had expected the film to be heavily reliant on CGI after watching the trailer but I couldn't fathom why the villains of the piece were feeding cerebral fluid into what looked like an industrial coffeemaker from the 1920s. All was revealed when what I thought was a Nazi Brain Juice Machine morphed into a cartoonish CGI endoskeleton with none other than Adolf Hitler's head in a jar, atop what looked like a hybrid of a low-rent Iron Man with the armaments of ED-209. I had deja vu when it came to this Hitlerbot and couldn't quite place why. Then, during one scene, it struck me... those of a certain age will remember a game from 20 or so years ago called Wolfenstein and the final boss, Mecha-Hitler. Yep, The Asylum have ripped off my childhood. Not cool!

I had to see this through to the end and the thin plot is fairly transparent with some mild shocks, a bit of gratuitous nudity and a degree of gore. Perhaps the best part of Bloodstorm was the fact that the historical basis for the nazis having a base on Antarctica had been well-researched, myths and legends surrounding them creating flying saucer like machines had been explored and the fact that Mengele had died in South America in 1979 had been explained away. On another positive note, Christopher Karl Johnson's turn as Josef Mengele is pitch perfect. Suitably sinister and full of menace. However, the backstory and Johnson's performance were certainly no saving grace for this disaster of a film. I appreciate that there are horror fans out there who enjoy The Asylum's offerings, stating that "They're so bad that they're good!" I for one, certainly don't follow that school of thought and invite you to avoid this film. You've been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fritz of the Antarctic, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
Just when you thought it was safe to go back out into the cold and have a snowball fight... guess again! 'Coz apparently you can't move for cheapo, zombie video Nazis down at your local Poundland these days.

In this one, contrary to hiding out on the dark side of the moon (see Iron Sky), those goose~stepping rascals in black are back, only this time they've been hidden in Agartha with an army of about 20x infantry soldiers and 1x Josef Mengeles. Performing hideous face transplants in preparation for when they attack the rest of the world, with dreams of a future 4th Reich world domination. So they kidnap Lolita (now grown up), along with a science team of other assorted dufusses led by Jake Busey and boohiss their way about the cheap sets, until the tables are turned and the dufusses (err..heroes), fight back. Forcing the dastardly jerrys to unleash their ultimate weapon of death...

Any film featuring Mengele pulling peoples faces off and Hitler running around like something outta Robokopf, before taking to the skies in his custom made UFO, can't be all that bad right? Well, not if you bought it for a pound, at least. Some of the acting is sub zero never mind sub par, with a few exceptions who steal all of their screen time! The action is quite fun and frequent, but serves up very little for any gore~hounds watching, with only a couple of surgical flayings and odd, gurning putty faces to quench their bloodlust. The story itself is quite interesting, considering the legends of Agartha, the 3rd Reich's involvement in this and their construction of UFO transport in the 1940's.

Ultimately, to anyone unable to enjoy anything that doesn't have a budget of at least $20m, or for that matter is worried by the fact that no overly (self conscious), self respecting, latest Hollywood heart throb, would be associated with the film in a million years, then you should avoid this at all costs, as this is without doubt a reich load of old nonsense. However if you've sat through countless B~movies over the years you may derive quite a bit of enjoyment from this tosh, especially if you've been unfortunate enough to watch Zombie Lake!

I award this 2.5/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodstorm [DVD], 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was a gift for me, which makes a change; and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It's a good yarn. If you like your modern day Zombie horror movies, with blood and gore, and with a twist, then this movie is for you! Explorers find Nazi's at the centre of the earth, great story line. This movie is a cross between Journey to the centre of the Earth and Outpost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "..A HELL OF A RIDE BUT FULL OF CHEESE..", 29 Aug 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit I do really enjoy a good cheesy low budget horror sometimes when the budget is used well to create something fun to watch but this movie takes the biscuit for turkey of the year, how asylum films get away with these movies is a crime to the industry!! And how on earth they get a celebrity name in these movies no matter how un-famous they are now is unbelievable, they must be seriously desperate of they didnt look at the script, the story is why it got 2 stars because its hilarious the thought of a secret Nazi world at the centre of the earth where they are trying to create a cyborg Hitler, it gets worse believe me, this maybe ok if it wasnt for the fact the CGI effects are so poor to the point where you want to fast forward, bad acting, very bad dialogue, bad effects, dont pay good money for this, rent it if you really must see it. If you want a good Nazi horror watch Outpost and Outpost 2 or Dead snow or Iron sky, all much better budget movies!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars if you want to see the v worse acting ever..., 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
i rented this from lovefilm and it's probably the worse acting i have ever seen - it is so appalling i laughed out loud - hitler, of course, makes an appearance as a cross between a transformer and robocop ! THERE MUST BE SOMETHING ELSE YOU CAN WASTE YOUR MONEY ON - watch it on tv for laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
loads of action plenty gore magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars worst acting ever, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Bloodstorm [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I knew this was not going to be amazing but my god i did not think it would be as bad as it was , the acting was shocking and the story was just as bad , if u can get this for free i still would say do not watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like it, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
I thought the film was good even with the sub titles,zombies looked good and a good story worth watching brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars no really up to what it desrcribed, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodstorm [DVD] (DVD)
Sounded good on write up,but the film was disappointing very poor quality would not recommend this one at all sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodstorm [DVD]
Bloodstorm [DVD] by Joseph J. Lawson (DVD - 2012)
2.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews