Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected
I can't work out Samuel L Jackson - he's an A-list actor, who repeatedly turns up in these `straight to DVD' type films. Fury has received no theatrical cinema release, no real marketing campaign and little online publicity except simply appearing among countless other releases.

Jackson plays an ex con who's spent most of his life in prison and is now trying...
Published 22 months ago by Albatross

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grifty noir crime drama
First off to avoid confusion, this film is known under two names, in the UK at least it's called, Fury, but it seems the American title is, The Samaritan. Anyway, the World weary Foley (Samuel L. Jackson -Pulp Fiction) is released from prison after serving 25 years for murdering his ex-partner in crime, a choice not of his own doing. Finding all his old friends either...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 3 Jun 2012
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
I can't work out Samuel L Jackson - he's an A-list actor, who repeatedly turns up in these `straight to DVD' type films. Fury has received no theatrical cinema release, no real marketing campaign and little online publicity except simply appearing among countless other releases.

Jackson plays an ex con who's spent most of his life in prison and is now trying to go straight in his old age. Guess what, he doesn't. He gets sucked into a web of blackmail by a face from his past and soon he's involved in a dodgy and dangerous scam. Okay, so the plot isn't that original, but maybe that's the point. There's nothing new here, but that's not so bad.

Fury ticks all the boxes. It has plot twists, shoot-outs and some double-crossing. It'll never be a classic, like Pulp Fiction, but if you like heist, gangster or con-artist movies (as it borrows from all genres), you may get something out of this. Plus it has Samuel L Jackson, who always puts in a good performance.

Not amazing, but enjoyable if you're in the mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grifty noir crime drama, 19 April 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
First off to avoid confusion, this film is known under two names, in the UK at least it's called, Fury, but it seems the American title is, The Samaritan. Anyway, the World weary Foley (Samuel L. Jackson -Pulp Fiction) is released from prison after serving 25 years for murdering his ex-partner in crime, a choice not of his own doing. Finding all his old friends either dead or with new lifes & want nothing to do with him, Foley tries to get back into normal life & away from his old criminal past. But thats easier said then done, as his ex-partners son Ethan (Luke Kirby -Mambo Italiano) hounds him, to try & get him to do one last big grift. However Foley is not interetsed, so the gloves are off as Ethan pulls no punches, and as new revelations appear, it's going to cost Foley more to ignore the offer.

A film with Samuel L. Jackson's name tied to it makes you sit up & take notice simply for that fact alone, which i did, as his films are generally either very good or at least watchable. I think overall Fury falls into the middle, leaning more towards the latter part of that spectrum imo. Jackson was solid as always, although his screen presence helped him quite a bit. The support cast was very good as well, in paticular Ruth Negga (Fury) impressed as an unkown & Tom Wilkinson's (The Full Monty) Cameo appearance made this a very beliveable affair. The story was good, set mainly at night & in dark dreary locations, this is very much a character orientated movie as opposed to an action based one. So understandabley three quarters of the film revolve around the build up to the end game big finale. So dont come into this thinking it's going to be an all out action flick.

In conclusion, I found Fury to be a watchable movie, good story & good cast, although i found it a little too drawn out for my tastes. The twists & turns managed to keep my attention though, and draw me over the finishing line to the end. It's a Decent movie, nothing stand out worthy imo. It passed the time well, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't this called The Samaritan?, 11 April 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
Fury (or The Samaritan as it is known outside of the UK) features Samuel L Jackson as Foley, a man who just served a 25-year sentence for killing his best-friend. Upon his release he realises that most of his friends & contacts have died or moved on. Until he bumps into the son of his best-friend, Ethan (ably played by Luke Kirby) a young man who has spent his entire life thus far trying to imitate the cons his father and Foley used to pull. He wants Foley to help in his latest scheme, defrauding a mafia boss (Tom Wilkinson - Rocknrolla) but Foley is not keen to risk going back to prison. Ethan decides that Foley needs a little persuasion and introduces him to the honey-trap Iris (Ruth Negga). Will Foley pull off this one last job for Ethan? Are things as straight forward as Foley assumes?

Fury is a well-shot affair, albeit middle-budget, set in an unidentifiable era (aside from the one use of a smart phone) the dress, the furniture and the styling are all very 70's. When the majority of scenes are shot through a yellow-filter this gives it a vintage-feel that really suits Foley's 'stuck-in-the-past' mentality.

The major revelation in this film is simply fantastic; when you learn that one of the characters is a lot smarter than you may have initially given them credit for and it really blind-sided me. I genuinely had my mouth open in shock, for this reason alone I will remember Fury for a long-time to come... Samuel L. Jackson provides a believable rendition of his haunted character but it's not his best performance (I enjoyed the Pulp Fiction reference; where a flashback to the 70's see Samuel L. Jackson stood in a black and white suit with an extremely similar haircut in the same pistol-wielding stance as PF) but the real star here is Ruth Negga.

Ends far too abruptly, but ultimately an extremely enjoyable film about Con-men where it's almost impossible to work out who is using who. Highly Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Foley, 23 April 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
Aside from the obvious fact that Jackson has been playing Nick Fury in Avengers, Ironman, and Marvel Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D I really cannot see any reason for the title of the DVD other than to get people like me to give the DVD a second look. He plays Foley not Fury. The movie is not really my cup of coffee, it is watchable once but nothing special. I actually guessed most of the "twists" in the movie, it was only the last one at the end I did not see coming.

The story. Foley killed his best friend and has been in prison for the last 25 years. On his release he decides to do things right, tries to get a job and just get by on the outside. He is approached by the son of the man he killed, who is a small time gangster/pimp, seemingly to use Foley to get to know his dad. Really does anybody believe that? He later approaches/snares Foley into helping him rip off his boss, a big big time gangster. It seemed to me Foley could have saved himself a lot of trouble and just killed the guy. He had numerous chances and opportunities to do this and made the threat more than once.

Really the movie did not do anything for me. I was not gripping, or in any way as clever as it seem to think it was. Maybe Samuel L Jackson's fans and the man himself wanted to get back to his gangster roles but then why name the film Fury? The film is possible worth a first look, but definitely not a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was a good film, nothing special!, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fury [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Samuel Jackson stars as a convict who served 25 years in prison for murder. The film starts off with him just being released but no one is there to greet him. No family or friends, no-one. He is a very lonely person. now the movie is all about 'Grifting' however its not a very good 'Grift' in my opinion. It's not an action packed but it is an action movie and there are some excellent action scenes. The story is okay but the twist is a bit strange (I don't know if I like it or even if it works). The ending is Ok but they could of done a lot more with it.

My conclusion would be: It's an all round Ok/good film, it is worth a watch and for 2.99 New on blu-ray from amazon, Cant complain. It's not a bad film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK not a bad film!, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fury [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is OK, not the best film in the world but I enjoyed it, at 2.99 it is definately worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING CHANGES UNLESS YOU MAKE IT CHANGE, 31 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Samuel L. Jackson gets out of prison after 25 years. There is no one there to greet him. He attempts to locate people from his past, only to find out they are dead, moved on, or don't want anything to do with him...all except for one man, Ethan (Luke Kirby) the son of his former grifter partner, the man Jackson killed. Jackson attempts to avoid criminal activity and Ethan, but his past is there to haunt him. You know a con is going to happen, but who is going to con who?

The movie limps along holding your interest, but like any grifter movie, the ending is what determines the genius and likability of the production...dropping clues and hints along the way about the sting and twist. This one really didn't do it very well, although it does have a wicked twist. Rental at best.

F-bombs, sexual situations, nudity (Ruth Negga) 2 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Sams best, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
One of those movies you watch once then off to a charity shop,i like Samuel L Jacksons movies but not this one ,one or two of the characters are not that good and it brings the movie down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but fades at the end, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a very exciting film but the plot does keep you with it. I thought it had a weak ending but worth watching once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fury [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was good lots of action & a good story plus samuel l is good plus i got it at a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b130e4)

This product

Fury [DVD]
Fury [DVD] by Samuel L Jackson (DVD - 2012)
2.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews