Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passionate and Powerful Story
After just finishing Anca's story, I am sat heartbroken, not because this story is real, it is of course fiction, but for the fact that the Holocaust happened. This is a story of determination, courage and love of 3 children from 2 different backgrounds, although the story is fiction the Holocaust wasn't, and to read about it and the suffering that happened to many was...
Published on 5 May 2012 by Charlotte Ellis

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anca's Story
Overly wordy in parts. Shame because the story was very touching but the excessive use of extravagant words detracted from the tale
Published 19 months ago by bobbyb46


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passionate and Powerful Story, 5 May 2012
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
After just finishing Anca's story, I am sat heartbroken, not because this story is real, it is of course fiction, but for the fact that the Holocaust happened. This is a story of determination, courage and love of 3 children from 2 different backgrounds, although the story is fiction the Holocaust wasn't, and to read about it and the suffering that happened to many was heart wrenching. The book is beautifully written, with extremely likeable characters. It is not a book I would normally choose but I have been blown away by how powerful a story it is. Well done Saffina Desforges... as I said before... Blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
Very well written book, I would not hesitate to recommend it. It doesn't follow the usual lines that you would expect a holocaust novel to take , but it encapsulates the feeling of the writer perfectly. I could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read!, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, a book I really couldn't put down. Well written and really brings home what horrors these people lived through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a different perspective, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
harrowing and gripping -this novel was so different from every other i've read about the holocaust and it put me in mind of the Boy in the Striped Pyjamas in a way...if you read it you'll understand it's simply because she was a young girl and did things differently from many of the other survivor's tales...I can't do this book justice in a review and am tripping over my words trying to explain it -in a nutshell...AMAZING...I'd go as far as to say it is now my favourite Nazi holocaust survivor's tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holocaust novel, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
A very good story when taken in context that it's a fictional novel. The authors use of extravagant, often archaic terminology detracted from the otherwise well written plot. It is a captivating read and holds attention throughout. However for students of history, the holocaust and particularly Auschwitz, the storyline is, at times, unrealistic, reiterating to the reader that it is a fictional novel. Nevertheless the story does enable readers to appreciate the horrors of this terrible period of recent history and the suffering that millions of innocents were forced to endure. The novel and storyline is perhaps deserving of 5 stars but l give 4 because of the all too often use of unnecessary words and flowery language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
This story shocked me to my core as it is a stark reminder that the holocaust was and still is real for so many people and that although we are nearly 70 years from it have we really advanced and moved on as even today people are dying from mass killings because of dictators and selfish people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
If I hadn't know better I would have thought this was as Mrs Jones says "a fairy story" but it is not, this really happened. I'm so pleased that this has been written for everyone to know what really happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put down, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
This was a fast read as I couldn't put it down. It would be suitable for young teenagers to read as they do The Holocaust as part of KS3 History.Painfully accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this down. A challenging read which should be shared with those in power throughout the world to try to make them understand the consequences of their actions. Only by reading our history, will the leaders perhaps consider the outcome of their talks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving., 29 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Bracknell, Berkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel) (Kindle Edition)
Ought to be compulsory reading in schools.

The book opens with the Survivor being mocked by an uninterested young person, but as Anca tells her story, respect for her incredible survival and moving on, after the war, is felt.

Movingly told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anca's Story (a YA Holocaust novel)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews