Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A razor sharp recording but a few cuts
This is a brilliant recording first and foremost. The characters shine through and there really is a fantastic sense of the production. But why oh why did they take the razor to the score and cut out some of the songs? This prouction deserved a double disc. What you get is the 'story' basically told on a single disc which is OK for those who simply want to relive the...
Published on 2 April 2012 by J. Winmill

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could be amazing
This production of Sweeney todd is really good, Michael ball shines as you would expect him to and Imelda Staunton is really good. This product recieves only 2 stars however because it misses out a large number of songs that appeared on stage, Pirelli's songs are no where to be seen, and the jude, beadle and johanna all have their own songs missing. Playing this album all...
Published 19 months ago by Casper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A razor sharp recording but a few cuts, 2 April 2012
By 
J. Winmill (Lincoln United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant recording first and foremost. The characters shine through and there really is a fantastic sense of the production. But why oh why did they take the razor to the score and cut out some of the songs? This prouction deserved a double disc. What you get is the 'story' basically told on a single disc which is OK for those who simply want to relive the memories of the production itself, but for those who are keen musical fans a double disc would have been more satisfying than a Lovett meat pie. Buy it. It's worth it. But be prepared for wanting more- we get the meat but not the gravy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but incomplete!, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
My toungue was hanging out for this new recording. Saw the show last year at Chichester and definately the best production so far in the UK.

The recording is fine and beautifully sung and played but is incomplete. I would have thought that with Steve Sondheim co-producing this album it would have been a complete or semi-complete recording but it omits so much! No Pirelli, for example.

What is there is wonderful though, and essential listening for all Sondheim fans.

I suspect the entire production was in fact recorded and will be put out later as a special double album. I certainly hope so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive!, 7 April 2012
By 
Plom de Nume "Rob" (Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
There are several fine renderings of this exquisite musical available in various media - but this is absolutely the finest. This Sweeney scores in every dimension: acting, orchestration and, of course, vocals. If you're lucky enough to be reading this whilst the London production is still running: cut throats to get a ticket. The performances are unimprovably sublime across the board, with a revelatory turn from Michael Ball, superb support (in which John Bowe's breathtaking Judge Turpin is outstanding), a stunning set, beautiful playing from all concerned, instrumental, song and characterisation and - above even all of these - Imelda Staunton's magnificent tragi-comic presentation of Mrs Lovett. Everyone involved sells every note, every syllable, every joke; and it's no wonder that Sondheim himself was so taken with the show - sheer perfection in the art of musical theatre. And if you can't get to the Adelphi: this disk will do very nicely, thank you. Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter did a fine job in the movie; Len Cariou and (of course) Angela Lansbury worked wonders with the 70s debut... but this version and the thankfully excellent recording packaged here are absolutely the best. God, it's good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine recording, but ..., 9 April 2012
By 
Nigel J. Morgan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
It's extraordinary that it has taken 33 years for a British cast recording of this iconic masterpiece to appear. As much as I love all the previous recordings on CD and DVD (with the exception of the miscast film), it is fantastic to have at last a reading of the score which isn't hampered by jarring American accents. For once, the Victorian setting feels authentically British, as indeed it should.

However, as other reviewers have stated, the cuts are a serious flaw in what would have otherwise been the first choice Sweeney on disc. As odd as it is to hear nothing from Signor Pirelli, I cannot comprehend why there is no `Greenfinch and Linnet Bird', one of the work's great numbers. Surely this could have been squeezed on? Amongst many other highlights, I sorely miss what is from a musical standpoint the most exquisitely crafted item in the score `The Letter' scene.

Nevertheless, this is a very fine recording. As far as I can tell, a slightly pared down version of the original orchestration is used, and the complex layers of the score are cleanly revealed and sharply defined. Michael Ball is, as one would expect, one of the best sung Sweeneys on disc. There are just so many colours and nuances in his performance. He often courageously reigns in his rich, full throttle vocals in order to acheive subtle dramatic effects. My other favourite Sweeney, George Hearn, sounds somewhat over sung in comparison.

Imelda Staunton provides an intelligent foil without hedging into caricature territory. The only weak link in the cast is Luke Brady as Anthony. His voice is altogether too lightweight and ineffectual to provide the appropriate heft for `Johanna'. As virtuous as he is, there should always be a hint of the rough hewn sailor in the character. There is none here.

Altogether a great effort, which makes it all the more painful that we were given such an incomplete recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeney Todd is the cutting edge!, 10 May 2012
By 
R. Fox "Raccie" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
At last a recording of Sweeney Todd that is sung by trained singers! Every word is sung with clarity and precise articulation. It feels like you are a member of the audience rather than a passive listener in your own front room. The orchestrations are wonderful and Imelda Staunton's black humour is cleverly entwined with Michael Ball's menacing torment. if you bought the recording of the Film starring Johnny Depp, discard it and treat yourself to this amazing version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunner, 4 April 2012
By 
E. T. Crummack "edcrum" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
As others have said there are a few omissions but what is there is perfect! Imelda Staunton eclipses my previous favourite (Maria Friedman) and Michael Ball is a revelation.
I saw the production in Chichester - loved it but doubted that it would record well - I was wrong!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeny Todd, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
Loved the Musical on stage so it was great to hear it again.
Would recomend it to anyone who enjoys theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 April 2012
By 
K. McQuade (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
This is so awesome, I can't get enough of it. Michael Ball never ceases to amaze-he can do anything and do it well. I love it and recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab soundtrack, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love love love! Soundtrack is amazing great listening and sound is great quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweeney Todd, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
Saw the stage play so had to buy the album, didn`t disappoint: there both worth the money so what are you wanting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album
Sweeney Todd: The 2012 London Cast Album by Michael Ball (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews