Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This album was released in 1973 following the amazingly original albums 'Back To Front' and 'Himself' released in 1972 and 1971. It seems the 70s are O'Sullivan's vintage era and it is astonishing he could keep writing so many songs of highest quality and originality. Like the previous album, this one includes, not only hit songs like 'Get Down' and 'Ooh Baby', but also heart-warming and memorable songs like 'Where peaceful waters fllow', 'Afriend of mine' and 'They've only themselves to blame'. One of the characteristics of this album is the unabashed sense of humour and striking melodies which go very well with the witty lyrics in the songs like 'I'm a writer not a fighter', 'Who knows perhaps maybe' and 'If you love me like you love me'. This is certainly one of the best albums by O'Sullivan.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2012 REMASTERED REISSUE ***

"I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" is the 3rd release in a full-on reissue campaign by Salvo Records of the UK for Irish singer-songwriter Raymond Gilbert O'Sullivan. His UK debut album "Himself" from 1971 was relaunched in November 2011 and his second LP "Back To Front" from 1972 in February 2012 (both are reviewed separately). With fantastic new sound, four bonus tracks, quality packaging and a none-too steep price - legions of his fans worldwide will be thrilled to see that his MAM Records catalogue is finally receiving a thorough going-over (and like the others - this release is artist-approved too). Here are the scrapping details...

UK released Monday 2 April 2012 (10 April 2012 in the USA) - "I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" by GILBERT O'SULLIVAN on Salvo SALVOXCD003 (Barcode 698458050328) is an 'Expanded' Edition CD Remaster and plays out as follows (44:34 minutes):

1. I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter
2. A Friend Of Mine
3. They've Only Themselves To Blame
4. Who Knows, Perhaps Maybe
5. Where Peaceful Waters Flow
6. Ooh Baby [Side 2]
7. I Have Never Loved You As Much As I Love You Today
8. Not In A Million Years
9. If You Love Me Like You Love Me
10. Get Down
Tracks 1 to 10 are his third studio album "I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" - released September 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM-SS 505 and October 1973 on Mam Records MAM 7 in the USA. It peaked at 101 on the album charts in America - but reached Number 2 in England.

Track 11 is "A Very Extraordinary Sort Of Girl" - the non-album B-side of "Get Down" - a 7" single released March 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 96 (it reached Number 1 on the UK singles chart and Number 7 in the USA). .

Track 12 is "Good Company" - the non-album B-side of "Ooh Baby" - the second single lifted off the album. "Ooh Baby" was issued September 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 107 and charted at Number 18. "Good Company" is considered by fans to be one of Gilbert's best B-sides - and like Track 11 it's the first time this rare song has been made available for all markets since a rare Japanese CD compilation in 2004. It also features an electric guitar solo by BIG JIM SULLIVAN who played the beautiful acoustic guitar work on "Alone Again (Naturally)".

Tracks 13 and 14 are "Why, Oh Why, Oh Why" and "You Don't Have To Tell Me" - the A & B-sides of a non-album 7" single released November 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 111 (it peaked at Number 6).

The original UK LP had a matt single sleeve with a lyric insert and a 6" inch black and white 'transfer' of the photo on the front cover (damp cloth and hot iron ahoy!). The transfer image has been reproduced for the CD label and there's a 'Gilbert O'Sullivan - A Singer And His Songs' logo sticker on the front of the card digipak which accompanies all of these expanded reissues. Like the other two releases in this series - the 20-page booklet is gorgeous. There's tastefully laid out lyrics to all the songs (including the bonuses), photos from his own archives, trade adverts, magazine covers, 7" picture sleeves from around the world and a detailed paragraph on each song with reminiscences from Gilbert on the album's creation. There's even a centre-spread photo of him sparring with no less than Mohammed Ali - both in boxer shorts! But the really big news for fans is the SOUND...

Remastered from original master tapes - the sound quality is a vast improvement on what went before (compilations and expensive Japanese imports). While "Himself" from 1971 is a little hissy in places - both "Back To Front" and this are incredibly clean with superlative clarity on all the instruments. You can now hear Laurie Holloway's piano thumping on "Get Down" rocking away like a goodun - while the bass and drums on the anthem-like "Where Peaceful Waters Flow" are incredibly clear (lyrics above). The funky keys starting "I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" are followed by the almost Phil Spector beginning of "A Friend Of Mine" - both suddenly sounding huge. The pretty "They've Only Themselves To Blame" has both strings and brass - and the keyboards on "Ooh Baby" - again both just leaping out of the speakers.

The extras are excellent as well and will finally allow fans to sequence single releases on CD for the first time.

He followed "I'm A Writer..." with "A Stranger In My Own Back Yard" in 1974 and the equally forgotten "Southpaw" in 1977 - but it seemed that even with "Writer's" success as an LP and a number 1 single in the UK - the writing was already on the wall for Gilbert by the end of 1973.

Still - I've thoroughly enjoyed re-hearing this album even if some of the lyrics and sentiments are considered soppy by today's standards. It's not all genius of course, but this is a lovely reissue - and Salvo is to be praised for handling it so well. Recommended...

PS: Salvo of the UK have also done his 1971 debut LP "Himself", his 2nd LP "Back To Front" from 1972, his 4th album "A Stranger In My Own Back Yard" from 1974, “Southpaw" from 1977 (his last LP on Mam Records) and beyond into the CBS years of the 80ts. All are 'Expanded' Edition CD Remasters with Bonus Tracks and Quality Repro Packaging (see detailed reviews for "Himself", "Back To Front" and “A Stranger In My Own Back Yard").
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
even the 3+1 bonus b sides are very good and the rest of this album is brill'.

originally on vinyl and cassette in 1973 when you got a proper slab of vinyl in those days and not a large thin black communion wafer. (i am not kidding you!).

sound quality is immaculate : warm and crisp at the top end.

G O'S's very best o/s album ie his Sgt Pepper album. perfect pop music before Thin Lizzy and U2 etc.

compulsory purchase to everyone outside of Oireland, beggorah.!

if he recorded 14 cuts in that session why the blazes didnt ho go on and make it a double album of 20 sounds.? its a mystery. silly boy.!

if G-O'S is actually reading this utter drivel then he should re-tour this album again sometime soon. its that good.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
I had this album on cassette, but was so happy to buy it as a CD. I never tire of Gilbert. Went to see him in York a few years ago and loved the concert. I think it's great that he's still going strong. Good on you Gilbert!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
Although I bear the same surname as Gilbert O'Sullivan I am not related
I believe this album to be his 'Beatles Revolver/Sgt Pepper'
Every track is as good as one would expect or be surprised with
Why on earth his music is not so easily available I just don't understand
This album gets a regular play
This is a definate 5 star piece of well crafted music
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I simply cannot stop playing it.Got Life & rhymes and Off Centre in the 80s but never got this. I've wasted all this time waiting to hear this.I love it,cannot recommend it enough !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I had been meaning to buy this for ages and it was lovely to hear songs I hadn't heard since we dispensed with our old record player. Still sounds as good as new!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Nowhere near as quirky and original as Himself but Gilbert packs a punch with a mixture of ballads and uptempo numbers. Nice to hear Gilbert using an electric piano to vary the textures. My only disappointment is the short length of the album. The longer song, 'Where Peaceful Waters Flow,' outstays its welcome. What makes the series of reissues welcome is the A and B sides of singles to add further value for money. 'Why Oh Why' and 'Good Company' are just as good as anything on the original album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
bought to build on my collection of music and this is a good addition. as a fan and having met him in person I am thrilled with this addition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Gilbert o Sullivan is great. It was good to hear a blast from the past lol. They don't write songs like that anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)