Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O'Sullivan at his best!!!, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This album was released in 1973 following the amazingly original albums 'Back To Front' and 'Himself' released in 1972 and 1971. It seems the 70s are O'Sullivan's vintage era and it is astonishing he could keep writing so many songs of highest quality and originality. Like the previous album, this one includes, not only hit songs like 'Get Down' and 'Ooh Baby', but also heart-warming and memorable songs like 'Where peaceful waters fllow', 'Afriend of mine' and 'They've only themselves to blame'. One of the characteristics of this album is the unabashed sense of humour and striking melodies which go very well with the witty lyrics in the songs like 'I'm a writer not a fighter', 'Who knows perhaps maybe' and 'If you love me like you love me'. This is certainly one of the best albums by O'Sullivan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gilbert osullivan - im a writer not a fighter cd albuim + bonus, 11 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
even the 3+1 bonus b sides are very good and the rest of this album is brill'.

originally on vinyl and cassette in 1973 when you got a proper slab of vinyl in those days and not a large thin black communion wafer. (i am not kidding you!).

sound quality is immaculate : warm and crisp at the top end.

G O'S's very best o/s album ie his Sgt Pepper album. perfect pop music before Thin Lizzy and U2 etc.

compulsory purchase to everyone outside of Oireland, beggorah.!

if he recorded 14 cuts in that session why the blazes didnt ho go on and make it a double album of 20 sounds.? its a mystery. silly boy.!

if G-O'S is actually reading this utter drivel then he should re-tour this album again sometime soon. its that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Like An Old Friend..." - I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter by GILBERT O'SULLIVAN (2012 CD Remaster), 2 April 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2012 REMASTERED REISSUE ***

"I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" is the 3rd release in a full-on reissue campaign by Salvo Records of the UK for Irish singer-songwriter Raymond Gilbert O'Sullivan. His UK debut album "Himself" from 1971 was relaunched in November 2011 and his second LP "Back To Front" from 1972 in February 2012 (both are reviewed separately). With fantastic new sound, four bonus tracks, quality packaging and a none-too steep price - legions of his fans worldwide will be thrilled to see that his MAM Records catalogue is finally receiving a thorough going-over (and like the others - this release is artist-approved too).

Here are the finite details - UK released Monday 2 April 2012 (10 April 2012 in the USA) Salvo SALVOXCD003 breaks down as follows (44:34 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 10 are his third studio album "I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" - released September 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM-SS 505 and October 1973 on Mam Records MAM 7 in the USA. It peaked at 101 on the album charts in America - but reached Number 2 in England.

Track 11 is "A Very Extraordinary Sort Of Girl" - the non-album B-side of "Get Down" - a 7" single released March 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 96 (it reached Number 1 on the UK singles chart and Number 7 in the USA). .

Track 12 is "Good Company" - the non-album B-side of "Ooh Baby" - the second single lifted off the album. "Ooh Baby" was issued September 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 107 and charted at Number 18. "Good Company" is considered by fans to be one of Gilbert's best B-sides - and like Track 11 it's the first time this rare song has been made available for all markets since a rare Japanese CD compilation in 2004. It also features an electric guitar solo by BIG JIM SULLIVAN who played the beautiful acoustic guitar work on "Alone Again (Naturally)".

Tracks 13 and 14 are "Why, Oh Why, Oh Why" and "You Don't Have To Tell Me" - the A & B-sides of a non-album 7" single released November 1973 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 111 (it peaked at Number 6).

The original UK LP had a matt single sleeve with a lyric insert and a 6" inch black and white 'transfer' of the photo on the front cover (damp cloth and hot iron ahoy!). The transfer image has been reproduced for the CD label and there's a 'Gilbert O'Sullivan - A Singer And His Songs' logo sticker on the front of the card digipak which accompanies all of these expanded reissues. Like the other two releases in this series - the 20-page booklet is gorgeous. There's tastefully laid out lyrics to all the songs (including the bonuses), photos from his own archives, trade adverts, magazine covers, 7" picture sleeves from around the world and a detailed paragraph on each song with reminiscences from Gilbert on the album's creation. There's even a centre-spread photo of him sparring with no less than Mohammed Ali - both in boxer shorts! But the really big news for fans is the SOUND...

Remastered from original master tapes - the sound quality is a vast improvement on what went before (compilations and expensive Japanese imports). While "Himself" from 1971 is a little hissy in places - both "Back To Front" and this are incredibly clean with superlative clarity on all the instruments. You can now hear Laurie Holloway's piano thumping on "Get Down" rocking away like a goodun - while the bass and drums on the anthem-like "Where Peaceful Waters Flow" are incredibly clear (lyrics above). The funky keys starting "I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter" are followed by the almost Phil Spector beginning of "A Friend Of Mine" - both suddenly sounding huge. The pretty "They've Only Themselves To Blame" has both strings and brass - and the keyboards on "Ooh Baby" - again both just leaping out of the speakers.

The extras are excellent as well and will finally allow fans to sequence single releases on CD for the first time.

He followed "I'm A Writer..." with "A Stranger In My Own Back Yard" in 1974 and the equally forgotten "Southpaw" in 1977 - but it seemed that even with "Writer's" success as an LP and a number 1 single in the UK - the writing was already on the wall for Gilbert by the end of 1973.

Still - I've thoroughly enjoyed re-hearing this album even if some of the lyrics and sentiments are considered soppy by today's standards. It's not all genius of course, but this is a lovely reissue - and Salvo is to be praised for handling it so well.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Patrick J. M. O'sullivan (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although I bear the same surname as Gilbert O'Sullivan I am not related
I believe this album to be his 'Beatles Revolver/Sgt Pepper'
Every track is as good as one would expect or be surprised with
Why on earth his music is not so easily available I just don't understand
This album gets a regular play
This is a definate 5 star piece of well crafted music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars collection, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought to build on my collection of music and this is a good addition. as a fan and having met him in person I am thrilled with this addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love it. have been wanting this cd for so long, bought the album back in the 70s now worn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favourite Songwriter., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this album on cassette, but was so happy to buy it as a CD. I never tire of Gilbert. Went to see him in York a few years ago and loved the concert. I think it's great that he's still going strong. Good on you Gilbert!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm A Writer, Not A Fighter (DeLuxe) (MP3 Download)
I simply cannot stop playing it.Got Life & rhymes and Off Centre in the 80s but never got this. I've wasted all this time waiting to hear this.I love it,cannot recommend it enough !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars golden oldie, 7 Dec 2012
By 
J. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been meaning to buy this for ages and it was lovely to hear songs I hadn't heard since we dispensed with our old record player. Still sounds as good as new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have waited a long time to have gilberts cd and i am not disappointed,its great it took me back 40 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews