Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Zhang - The old-fashioned Way of Crime Investigation ..., 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
... by using 'ze small, gray zells'.

Recently I have made a very nice, new acquaintance: Detective Inspector Zhang, Singhapora Polis. He is a well-educated, polite gentleman of the old-fashioned kind.
And he resolves his crimes - always to do with a closed room - the way that clearly reminds me of Monsieur Poirot - whom he admits to adore ...
Effective, with his female sidekick Sergeant Lee, he strikes when the culprit feels himself yet on the sure side.
And he makes it with the help of 'ze small grey zells', just as Mons. Poirot used to say.

This time we are very near at the perfect crime.
A murder and a suspect who seems to have a perfect alibi.
But the evidence points at him, and at him only.
A mystery worth of those little grey cells our good Inspector Zhang is so proud of.
And - as always - he finds his way to nail the culprit.

Stephen Leather is THE great Britisch contemporary thriller writer! Before he began to write full-time in 1992, he was for over 10 Years a journalist who wrote for 'The Times, 'The Daily Mail' and the 'South China Morning Post' in Hongkong. He is also valued one of the most acclaimed connaisseurs of the Far East and the author of numerous bestsellers all around the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
Fast delivery . Great product at the right price. Five star service all the way. I will buy again from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stephen leather book, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. W. Goddard "effgeegolf" (Southampton, Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
Once started it was difficult to put it down. Good plot and brisk pace. Kept me in suspense throughout. Good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Alibi, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
A well constructed story with an interesting character. Well written and leads the reader into the mystery nicely before revealing the thought process. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shortness is Greatness, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
This short story was great. Just enough descriptive words to keep you interested, suspense and intrigued as to how she was murdered.
I am also a fan of Stephen's books with Spider as a main character. So I am a fan of the writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little short story, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
Leather writes a great short story with the Singaporean Zhang solving the murder where the prime suspect is in jail at the time of the offence. This is a nice little coffee break plot that Roald Dahl would be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Light-hearted Mystery, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this latest short story from Stephen Leather.
Light-hearted, entertaining and mysterious, it's a really great treat to read over lunch!
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis of calm & tranquility, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Midnight - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
This is another locked room mystery in the author's series of short stories featuring Inspector Zhang and his assistant Sergeant Lee. Based in Singapore, Zhang is called in to solve the impossible mystery of a woman supposedly murdered by Mr Yip, who was incarcerated in a police cell at the time Miss Chau was killed. There is compelling evidence pointing towards Yip's guilt - fingerprints on the murder weapon and his dental records match the bite mark on her arm.

I find Stephen Leather has an amazing skill at capturing the attention of his readers; this tale is, as always, well written and it gently led me to the conclusion of the story as Inspector Zhang came up with the solution to the riddle.

It takes about an hour to read and certainly provided me with an oasis of calm and tranquility. Hopefully there are more in the pipeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Zhang and the Perfect Alibi, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the characters in this fast moving exciting story. Inspector Zhang is my kind of detective. He notices everything and misses nothing. Stephen Leather is a master story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant classic detective story, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Inspector Zhang And The Perfect Alibi (a short story) (Kindle Edition)
I read this as I am a huge Stephen Leather fan and I have to say it was a delight to read and is a truly classis detective shory story and great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews