Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid four stars - sparkling, believable characters & a captivating story
As a big fan of Indian literature or literature about India, I was really keen to get going with this novel and I was not disappointed. A strong and powerful four star read that I really enjoyed from beginning to end.
The summary gives the impression the reader follows the twins Pullamma and Lata in equal parts and I half expected the narrative to switch between the...
Published on 13 May 2012 by The Kindle Book Review

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the good, the bad and the holy
Just like watching a Bollywood movie. The love story that has countless obstacles but in the end everything overcomes and love triumphs despite the bad who is very bad. Perhaps would have been a good read for teenagers. I was happy to see the end page.
Published 21 months ago by Patrizia


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the characterisation and the depiction of a culture beset by superstition and political corruption. The descriptions of Indian life were insightful and gave the novel strength. However I felt the plot line was too melodramatic and with good editing the narrative could have been tightened up. Despite this it was still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
Great read, transported to India for an enjoyable descriptive journey. Stumbled across this book and I'm really glad I did!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
A little slow to start but once it does very hard to put down. I laughed cried and hoped with the heroine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG Amazing, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
Think this is the quickest book i have ever read,very moving, can't put it down once you start, great author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
This was a different type of book to the books I normally read but enjoyed it immensely. A good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, lies and corruption, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
A good read, the beginning was quite long winded and took a while to get into however the book tells a horrific story of the impact of lies and corruption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellentnread, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
Captivating and just couldn't put it down!

The author transport the reader into Pullama's whirlwind life story and is well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Captivating Read, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
The joy of Kindle is the variety of books I have come across. I like to look for books beyond the front liners like crime fiction. Tell a Thousand Lies is one such book that I am glad I found. It is on a par with Thalassa Ali's 'Beggar at the Gate' and the 'Kite Runner'.
It drew me in from the begining and once you like the charactor you're hooked. Pullamma was endearing from the outset. I particularly liked getting an insight to a life far beyond my imaginings. It was believable and funny in parts, yet heartbreaking with hope, if that makes sense.
I am looking forward to Rasana's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cultural memoir novel, 14 July 2012
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies: A Novel Set In India (Kindle Edition)
I was sent an e-copy of this book by the author Rasana Atreya in exchange for my honest review and opinion.

MY REVIEW
I liked the cover though it was quite a way into the book before I recognised the cover as a scene from the book.the scene depicts Pullama as a rather unwilling Goddess, with the gifts people have brought to her as gifts for her blessing. Also all the hands stretching out towards Pullamma demanding her attention.
I found the beginning of the book rather slow to read, then about 18% the story pace started to pick up and become faster so more enjoyable. I loved all the cultural references even though some of them seemed really alien to me and a little odd. One in particular, which is also the title of the book is "Tell a Thousand Lies" to marry off your daughter as a bride.
Pullamma's mother is dead and her father has literally run off with other women leaving her mother's mother to bring them up, provide dowry's and marry them off to suitable matches.
Pullamma is kind of classed as the ugly duckling of the family as her skin is so dark so she is expected to possibly remain single and never make much progress in life. Lata is Pullamma's twin and more or less opposite, she's clever and dreams of becoming a Doctor one day, someone important, who will be looked up to and given much respect. Malli is the other more placid sister.
The story covers Malli's marriage and how a corrupt politician uses Pullamma, having her declared a goddess.He gives her power but can just so very easily take that and everything else away from her too. He never lets her forget the power he has over her and her family.
Pullamma escapes his clutches many times, but ends up being dragged back.On one occasion she returns to help her sister Lata, who has disgraced herself. Pullamma faces many difficult choices and situations, at times she suffer indescribable hurt and heartbreak.
This book is a great example of how fortunes and futures can change on the wind. It is a tale of courage, determination and never ending unconditional love. However it also has its fair share of prejudice, racism within the community, violence, deception and hurt.
I do not wish to give away more of the story, but I really would recommend this book as a really great read. i have to say personally it would make a great movie, or TV mini-drama. this book gives a deep insight into a totally different culture and explains the reasoning behind the culture as it goes along.
So did I enjoy it? Yes, I truthfully did. Would I recommend? Yes to a serious reader.someone who loves books and likes to learn a little whilst reading too. Would I read more by Rasana Atreya?Yes I would.

Available at Amazon.co.uk

*Please note the sensitive subject of miscarriage is mentioned in this book*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking novel, 12 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Tell A Thousand Lies (Paperback)
If this book had not been set in India it would have been 'far-fetched', as some reviewers have said. However, having lived in South India myself (and being a writer of a novel partly set in Hyderabad) I know that much of the corruption, superstition and cruelty the author has written about does indeed take place. Of course, being a novel, she has allowed herself considerable poetic licence with the plot and the linking of characters. Also I felt that the book was rather a roller-coaster ride - the situation is resolved so many times and then reverts right back to square one, that I began to think 'oh, no, not again!'. Having said that, the book was a fascinating page-turner written by someone whose criticism of the country clearly arises from her love of it. I will certainly read more by her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews