Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pistol Pete, The King of Swing, the greatest tennis player the world has ever seen!
Arguably the World's greatest ever tennis player, much has been written about tennis legend Pete Sampras (especially among trip hop fans on the internet, to whom he is a cult hero) and now finally there is a 'proper' book out about the man, the legend, that was Pete Sampras.

This book contains everything you could wish to know about the man, the legend. From...
Published on 23 Jun 2009 by Jules O'Brien

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pete Sampras A Champions Mind
Ok book if you just want to know about every tennis match this man has ever played, other than that Mr Sampras has not given us anything to read about, Mr Aggasi and McEnroe definitely beats him hands down with excellent biographies about themselves, should have took a leaf out of there books excuse the pun ...,
Published 14 months ago by Suzydoll


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pistol Pete, The King of Swing, the greatest tennis player the world has ever seen!, 23 Jun 2009
Arguably the World's greatest ever tennis player, much has been written about tennis legend Pete Sampras (especially among trip hop fans on the internet, to whom he is a cult hero) and now finally there is a 'proper' book out about the man, the legend, that was Pete Sampras.

This book contains everything you could wish to know about the man, the legend. From his early years playing swingball against his grandmother in the back garden, to smashing 120mph aces on the Centre Court at Wimbledon.

...And of course the macabre details of that fateful night when he wrapped his Porsche around a lamp post are revealed in the book, laying to rest many of the rumours and conspiracy theories that still abound to this day. Was Vanilla Ice really in the car with Pete? Was Pete listening to his iPod too loud to concentrate on the road? Read this fantastic book and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Pete's Sake..., 24 Jun 2009
By 
Stephen Russell "srussell95" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is GENIUS. My favourite bit is where he talks at length about his passion for quality pens. What would you expect from a former calligraphy student? A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable evening with Pistol Pete, 20 Jun 2012
This book, coupled with the DVD 'Legends of Wimbledon: Pete Sampras', manages to showcase some of the less observed sides to 'Pistol Pete'. It is true that Pete gave away very little in interviews and features during his career, but written together with Peter Bodo, some fascinating insights are to be found in this autobiography.

It is worth repeating what others have said when comparing this to Agassi's book - the two men were and are very different characters; and differences between their respective autobiographies mirror their characteristics. Not everyone liked the outgoing Agassi and not everyone liked the reserved and somewhat introverted Sampras; and I expect the same opinions will be reflected by readers of their books.

Unlike the dramatic narrative of Agassi's 'Open', 'A Champion's Mind' is a more direct and descriptive journey through the Sampras life story. One of the more interesting aspects of the book, as implied by the title, is how Sampras approached the tennis tournaments he excelled at, especially Wimbledon and the US Open. I felt as though Sampras feared very little in these situations, and passage to the later stages of tournaments was not ever in doubt. All the familiar questions about his professional achievements are raised, and adroitly answered (lack of French Open title, rivalry with Agassi, passing of the flame to Roger Federer and his interest in the Davis Cup). Sampras also gives his thoughts on many contemporaries - amusingly, he doesn't seem too bothered in a competitive sense by his fellow Americans - save for Agassi - and rather frankly sums up his fairly impressive head-to-head records against them: Courier, Martin, Chang and Wheaton. Sampras does allow some exposure to his private life, but as you would expect, the gaze isn't permitted too far.

The book is enjoyable, particularly if you were a fan of tennis during the 'final age' of serve-volleying, and when all surfaces last had appreciable differences in speed (as opposed to the identical slow courts we have across the spectrum now, tailor-made for endlessly dull baseline slugfests with little or no finesse). No real shocks are delivered here, although the odd unkind comment made against rivals does raise a wry grin. But then that is Sampras. If one wants controversy and (admittedly entertaining) hyperbole by the bucketload, then seek out Agassi's offering. If however you are more interested in the no-frills approach to attaining sporting legend, then this book is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pete Sampras A Champions Mind, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pete Sampras: A Champion's Mind (Kindle Edition)
Ok book if you just want to know about every tennis match this man has ever played, other than that Mr Sampras has not given us anything to read about, Mr Aggasi and McEnroe definitely beats him hands down with excellent biographies about themselves, should have took a leaf out of there books excuse the pun ...,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 4 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you are an avid fan of Sampras or just the sport of tennis more generally, you should love this book. Like his playing style, his narrative is straightforward and without flannel. He's not always the most charismatic guy, but at least what you see is what you get.
I have recently also read the Agassi (3*) and Serena (1*) autobiographies and this is easily the best of the three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC!!, 24 Jun 2009
At last. An insight into the man, the myth and the man behind the myth. I believe it was Freiheit who wistfully sang:

"This game will never be over.
Because we're keeping the dream alive"

That's exactly what this book does. It keeps the dream alive (Which, sadly, is more than can be said of Pistol Pete's car safety features)

Game set and match Pete Sampras

*pours Robison's onto lawn*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a guy!, 24 Jun 2009
As a long term fan of the mighty, yet elusive Pete, this fully comprehensive biography really had me in its grip, which is more than can be said for the tyres on Pete's car that fateful night it left the road and ploughed into that luxury pen emporium. I was lucky enough to meet him once on the tube in London (I think it was the circle jerk line) and I remarked at the time that it was a lot safer than driving. I actually asked him for a few tips to improve my forehand and being the gent that he was he he took a look at my stroke and suggested less cranking would improve my performance. What a guy - I can't recommend this enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrayal of a star whose image will never die, 23 Jun 2009
Pete is indeed the most exceptional and prolific tennis player this world has ever seen. His love for tennis meant that he would never feel the need to consign himself to half-baked adverts for half-strength drinks, unlike some of the rivals of his time.

It's a testament to his skill and timelessness that modern day greats such as Andy Murray are constantly compared to him in the press and media.

A winner, whose image as an unrivalled and dedicated sportsman will never die.

RIP Pete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all-time greats, 23 Jun 2009
Reading this book is like having him back with you, if only for a short time; i wished it would go on and on. His majesty, his legacy, all captured in vivid prose, expertly structured to not only accurately convey his grace, fluidity and dominance as a competitor, but his true beauty as a human being. I'm not ashamed to say that towards the book's final chapters I often needed to take time out in order to compose myself and be able to continue reading... it was as if I was re-living those devastating moments in which I first heard about his tragic loss. If only the spatial awareness and whip-crack reactions which served him so well on the court had not deserted him on that fateful stretch of freeway, the world would have more than this - admittedly excellent - biography to learn from; about what it takes to be a man, a champion, a legend.

R.I.P. Pete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently finishes the autobiography of Andre Agassi and Pete was mentioned in it and so I decided to read this. Am enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pete Sampras: A Champion's Mind
4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews