Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star authorship, 2 Star production, 10 Sep 2009
I looked forward to reading this book from the moment that I heard it was coming. I have been a fan of Williams Formula 1 team since the FW06 (where the hell did they come from?) days. Well, here is where they came from.

All the stories that have done the rounds regarding Sir Frank, Patrick and the team are here as you would hope. But this time the people that were there are coming clean...ish.

If you have read the authors previous works regarding Williams as a Grand Prix team then most of the anecdotes will be familiar, but even so reading Dickie Stanford, Alan Jones,Frank Dernie (even Ron Dennis) telling it how they remember it is great fun. It is also very moving. Piers Courage still seems to be an inspiration to Frank and a rightly so, although Alan Jones still seems to be the the template for a Williams driver.

Why only 4 stars?

The book is printed on cheap paper in a small format and the photographs are few, far between and uninspiring. Except for the last one.

I love this book, but would have happily paid more money for a more satisfying and tactile volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WILLIAMS, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. R. Heydon (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is really in the un putdownable category,very well researched and the comments of the contributers are really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real insight...., 7 Oct 2009
By 
Kaz (Leamington Spa, UK) - See all my reviews
This was a book I took on holiday with me, and I could not put it down. It gives a real insight in to the philosophy of a true Grand Prix team, and the determination of Sir Frank Williams and his business partner, Patrick Head.

In summary - a riveting read, but let down by the lack of photographs (seeing some of their past drivers in their winning cars would have been nice).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 5 Oct 2011
it is good but it doesn't cover much of the new williams in which i got it for it talks mainly about the old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Williams: The legendary story of Frank Williams and his F1 team in their own words (Kindle Edition)
I knew the story, but this gives extra detail and is thoroughly enjoyable and a must read for any F1 fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great team and a fascinating story for anyone interested in Motorsport, 21 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has a different format from most on F1 because of the various people who have written their accounts within it, this makes it very enjoyable and a good read. Having such a range of people adding content is probably a reflection of the respect F1 has for the Williams team. It provides various view points of the key events in Willams F1 history, from the tragedies to the immense success the team had. It shows how F1 used to be and the hard work, skill and risks taken by Frank williams and Patrick Head in getting to the top as well as a view on the transition from the 'old' f1 of the 1970's to the current sport as we know it.

Unfortunately the version I received did not have any pictures, which seem to be present in an earlier publication I saw, whether this is by error is unclear and the only reason why I only gave it 4/5 instead of a maximum 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 18 Sep 2009
If your into Formula 1 & its history this is a book for you. Gives a good account of the history of Williams & the people behind it. Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read for F1 enthusiasts, 20 Oct 2009
By 
G. Scholes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are into F1 and autobiography, this is for you. The history is interesting and the manner in which it is written provides the reader with the professional view along with the words of the individuals involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 6 Oct 2009
By 
A. Stubbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A thoroughly enjoyable journey through the history of one of the great modern sports teams, with some great insights and behind the scenes info. Essential for any motor sport fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars williiams, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written, informative and entertaining - a good detailed insight into Sir Frank's life
and Formula one - a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews