Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the past!
Great series from the 80's that i used to see on TV and it is great to be able to review again. I recomend to the M.I. fans from that time.
Published 11 months ago by Rui Sergio Vale Moreira

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good series, but bad picture quality
I am a great fan of all MISSION:IMPOSSIBLE productions.
But the old ones from the sixties and seventies have a much better picture quality than the "newer" production from 1988 and 1989. It seems that they haven't used the original master-film for this DVDs, but only the analogue TV master tapes. An indication is the graphical element at the beginning of some...
Published 11 months ago by M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good series, but bad picture quality, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
I am a great fan of all MISSION:IMPOSSIBLE productions.
But the old ones from the sixties and seventies have a much better picture quality than the "newer" production from 1988 and 1989. It seems that they haven't used the original master-film for this DVDs, but only the analogue TV master tapes. An indication is the graphical element at the beginning of some episodes "in stereo where available".
This was maybe important for the broadcasters to show "yes we can broadcast in stereo, not only in mono" - but has nothing to do with the DVD.

- The picture is blurred and you can count pixels - even when watching this DVDs on an old 4:3 TV screen.
- In comparison with the DVD-editions of the 60ies and 70ies, the 88 and 89 episodes only have subtitles in english for hearing-impaired persons. No subtitles or audioversions in other languages.

For fans of MI it is a must have. But the DVD-Collections of the original series of the 60ies and 70ies offer much more quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Never seen this second series ever and found it too be a mix of very good episodes too I wish they never made that one. Apart from the ham episodes good entertainment when there is nothing on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the past!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Great series from the 80's that i used to see on TV and it is great to be able to review again. I recomend to the M.I. fans from that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
The product was just what I was looking for and thoroughly enjoyed it and I received it within the time that was given
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mission fan, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
as a mission fan i still find this series ticks the boxes even though it has lost some of its characters that made it what it was i understand it has to move with the times and but the plots still hit home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mission Impossible 1988, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
These episodes are excellent, and no mistake. I personally prefer them to the original 1960s shows, and somehow the updating of the full-on technical stuff works so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars remember the old days, 7 May 2013
By 
K. A. Millington (High Wycombe Bucks England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
A must for a lot of fans of the original series . I must admit I enjoyed this . Even if you do not remember the old series anyone can enjoy this.Made me get out old series and watched them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Phelps returns., 28 Mar 2013
By 
phoenix (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Not remastered as they claim. Its a pity as it was a decent series. Lets say thats its good vcr quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disavow Any Knowledge, 17 May 2012
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Returning for 16 episodes (down from 19 the previous year) the second and final season of the revamped Mission:Impossible marks the show's last appearance before the 1996 Tom Cruise film. It's really for the completists, not the casual viewer, and fans of the 1966-73 show should take a look at Mission Impossible 88 [DVD] before deciding if it's for them.

Focusing on the positive first, it kicks off with The Golden Serpent. A strong two parter that sees a second return for Greg Morris as Barney Collier, it demonstrates how well the show could work with more complex plotting and some genuine surprises. It's not The Falcon, but it's obvious why the story was picked to represent the 1988-89 series as a bonus feature on Mission: Impossible - Complete TV Series [DVD] [1966].

After writing two of the better stories the previous year (and co-writing stories of the classic series), Walter Brough contributes the pleasingly tense War Games. Another coup was to get Stephen Kandel, story editor and writer on original season 7: his episode (Target Earth), featuring the hijacking of a space flight, has just the right degree of the outrageous to remain plausible and compelling throughout. Countdown lives up to its name in terms of pace and Cargo Cult gives the whole team something to get their teeth into. However, these are the exceptions.

The Fuehrer's Children and Banshee would be laughable if their subject matter (neo Nazis and Irish sectarianism) weren't so serious, whereas The Gunslinger and The Sands of Seth are pure panto. Why each episode persisted with the corny pre-message conversations with Mr Phelps I'll never know.

Graves looks a lot less frail thanks to improved make up and Jane Badler, who'd joined midway through the previous year, is a welcome addition. Sadly Thaao Penghlis, who'd proved himself a capable character actor across the run, ironically gets less and less to do. Not a glorious finale for the TV Series, it's nevertheless to the credit of the regulars that they never sent it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Some previous reviewers were disappointed with the quality of the recording. I'm quite happy with it. Episodes were as exiting as they were when I first watched them as a young girl. A good purchase. Delivery to Finland took about 2 weeks. Well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission Impossible - The '89 TV Season [DVD]
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews