Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars19
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.43
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2013
I recommend this book! I believe you will agree that this work covers the thrilling duel between Lauda and Hunt comprehensively and shows a clear insider's understanding, by the author, of what went on. There is of course a feature film currently showing at cinemas covering the same subject matter. I must point out however that this book was published well before the film was launched (it was printed in 2011). This author's style will appeal to most as it does not lose the reader in a maze of facts, figures and jargon, like so many books can on what is after all a fairly specialised subject matter. The fact that this subject matter and the story of these two racing heroes contained within is 'in vogue' with the general public at this time is of course due to the feature film currently showing at cinemas, and I would recommend this book to both those who have seen the film as well as those contemplating seeing it because the book will help to further understand the 1976 Formula 1 season in all it's glory. The book also has a very insightful Foreword from John Watson - a close friend of both Lauda and Hunt as well of course as being one of the finest F1 drivers of that period. Inevitably, there are existing works on the market on this subject and there will no doubt be further releases on the run up to Christmas, but I feel this book deserves your attention as it paints a detailed account of what happened in a very readable style. The book is also beautifully illustrated with images from one of F1's greatest photographers............Go enjoy - I did!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
I couldn't help thinking that this book had been pieced together and brought to market too quickly in light of the forthcoming film, Rush (directed by Ron Howard). It's a shame, as a little more attention to detail, and better editing, would have added the polish it lacks.

Yes there are better, more factually accurate (come on, proof readers!) motor racing books out there, but by and large this book works in its attempt to portray the contrasting characters of Hunt and Lauda and how their fortunes ebbed and flowed throughout the season. Readers already familiar with other books such as Lauda's For the Record may find it a bit lightweight with nothing new to offer, but it does bring together all the different elements under one roof. Those who are not so knowledgeable about the subject matter should find it insightful and, in the main, a compelling read.

Great photography. Recommended, but could have been so much better.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Some serious inaccuracies here, the auther who I think was around at the time said the stewardesses were all BOAC, which ceased to exist three years before 1976 - what??? otherwise quite a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
What a rip off this book is. A potentially great subject spoilt by laziness on the part of the author. All he has done is used lumps out of his previous book-Shunt to tell James Hunt's side of the story and rehashed and paraphrased previous books written by other authors -including Niki Lauda's own books to tell Lauda's side. The only new input he has added is salacious gossip regarding the love life of Lauda. Hunt's love life was already recorded in Shunt. What a load of balls and the book add's nothing to the motor racing side at all. Hardly mentions any other driver's performances nor puts the sport into the context of the time. A big disappointment.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
The title is an overstatement for a start. The quality of the proof reading is dreadful and the story is riddled with contradictions and inaccurate details.
Great photography.
The writing is of a standard you will find in any of the tabloids - it's an easy read spoilt by the aforementioned criticisms.
Don't waste your money, borrow the book from your local library.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
One of the most dissapointing books on the sport Ive read. Could not wait to finish it for all the wrong reasons.

Do we really need a recap of the previous chapter on what feels like the beginning of the next every time,& the explanation of a character every time they are mentioned is totally unnecessary.

Also poor proof reading of facts - Book as Hunt cliniching the championship driving a Tyrrell P34- sums the whole thing up for me

As other reviews have mentioned far better books out there- best thing about this is the Rainer Schlegelmilch photography - but again all the pictures are available in better books

1 Star is generous
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
Yes, a great season. Sadly, not a great book.

Buy these instead:

Hunt: Gerald Donaldson's biography hasn't been bettered. (Rubython quotes from it extensively in both his books on Hunt).

Lauda: 'For the Record: My Years with Ferrari'.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Luckily, the subject matter is good enough to keep you reading. I remember Lauda as just great in the Ferrari years and Hunt as charismatic and very quick on his day. The book provides a good account of the many odd and relatively chaotic issues/events affecting the two drivers - a lot of which was unknown outside the Formula One family at the time.

But I'm afraid this is one of the very worst written/edited books I have ever encountered!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
husband loved the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
For me 1976 was the first year I followed Formula One actively. To find book other than Autocourse 1976 that pulls together the "front" and "back" story with human elements was nice to have. Yes, there were bits that I have read before. But there were also bits that I was not aware of as well. Most notably the role Alstair Caldwell in the fight for the championship.

Sure proofreading could be improved. But by no means was it a complete waste. The book achieved an objective of putting the story from start to finish for me and I was pleased by the effort.....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)