Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more old missions
I must admit when I ordered this was unsure about it but I really enjoyed it a lot .I also bought the 89 TV series. I grew up with the originals so this had a lot to live up to and I enjoyed it as much .Everyone can enjoy watching this.
Published 11 months ago by K. A. Millington

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad picture quality
Everyone who loves the old 'Mission Impossible' TV series knows that the '88 and '89 seasons were not as good as the original 7 seasons. But they were better than most of the other stuff on the telly in these days. So it's a reason to be happy to have the '88 and '89 seasons on DVD finally.
But be prepared: the picture quality of the '88 season is only slightly...
Published 17 months ago by hensel 3000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad picture quality, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone who loves the old 'Mission Impossible' TV series knows that the '88 and '89 seasons were not as good as the original 7 seasons. But they were better than most of the other stuff on the telly in these days. So it's a reason to be happy to have the '88 and '89 seasons on DVD finally.
But be prepared: the picture quality of the '88 season is only slightly better than VHS quality. This is especially dissapointing because one is spoiled by the perfect picture quality of the original seasons which are about 20 years older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle, 30 April 2012
By 
phoenix (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks like a rip off from VHS. What has Paramount come to. The original series 1-7 had all been remastered. Should withdraw all copies and redo. Very disapointed. No fault of the dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more old missions, 7 May 2013
By 
K. A. Millington (High Wycombe Bucks England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit when I ordered this was unsure about it but I really enjoyed it a lot .I also bought the 89 TV series. I grew up with the originals so this had a lot to live up to and I enjoyed it as much .Everyone can enjoy watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good series, but bad picture quality, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
I am a great fan of all MISSION:IMPOSSIBLE productions.
But the old ones from the sixties and seventies have a much better picture quality than the "newer" production from 1988 and 1989. It seems that they haven't used the original master-film for this DVDs, but only the analogue TV master tapes. An indication is the graphical element at the beginning of some episodes "in stereo where available".
This was maybe important for the broadcasters to show "yes we can broadcast in stereo, not only in mono" - but has nothing to do with the DVD.

- The picture is blurred and you can count pixels - even when watching this DVDs on an old 4:3 TV screen.
- In comparison with the DVD-editions of the 60ies and 70ies, the 88 and 89 episodes only have subtitles in english for hearing-impaired persons. No subtitles or audioversions in other languages.

For fans of MI it is a must have. But the DVD-Collections of the original series of the 60ies and 70ies offer much more quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
The product was just what I was looking for and thoroughly enjoyed it and I received it within the time that was given
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid entertainment, 10 Mar 2013
By 
L. Gutic (Bosnia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
I don't believe the '88 Mission Impossible is comparable to the old one. Considered separately, the story perhaps isn't always compelling, but most of the episodes are interesting enough to warrant watching them, perhaps being driven by nostalgia at that as I am. Fans of the show will find much more to enjoy, and as a fan, I'm giving it four stars, acknowledging its occasional repetitiveness, but someone who's not a fan would probably go for three. Anyway, for under 15 pounds, this is a good series to own, watch and re-watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should You Decide to Accept It?, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Coming to Region 2 for the first time, the 1988-89 sequel series to Mission:Impossible (rarely syndicated here- thank you CBS Action!) ran for only 2 seasons of which this is the first. Fans only of the Cruise movies probably won't find what they're after here; but if you have caught an episode on an infrequent repeat, or are a fan of the 1966-73 series and wonder how this shapes up, read on.

There'd been talk of a reunion movie or remake almost since 1973. Other revamps like Star Trek:The Next Generation had proved successful and when a writers' strike broke out in the USA, the studio decided they could remake classic Mission scripts with new actors in Australia where filming was considerably cheaper. In the end, only a handful of scripts were reused and the series became a continuation of the original with new team members, rather than a remake with new actors.

Did it work? Well, it's as faithful as a fan could want with Peter Graves reprising a certain Mr. Phelps, leading a team including Barney Collier's son Grant (played by Greg Morris' real life son Phil) and featuring guest parts for Morris (original seasons 1-7) and Lynda Day George (6-7). Australia affords a wealth of location filming convincingly simulating the UK, USA, Carribean, Africa, South America, Iron Curtain and, er, Australia, that gives the series a break from the old redressed studio backlots. The special effects look good even today.

There are problems though. While Graves and Phil Morris are fine in their respective roles, the limitations of the others are evident. This isn't so much a problem for the Tony Hamilton, as likeable as Peter Lupus in the strongman role. However, model and designer Terry Markwell in the 'Cinnamon' front woman role has a range chiefly limited to femme fatales or just being the girl and is rapidly sidelined. Thaao Penghlis takes a while to shake off his daytime TV pedigree (not helped by the other team members often sharing the inside man role) but he does flourish when given more to do, eg, in The Lions.

The chief problem is the scripts. The tone seems to derive from seasons 1, 6 & 7 of the original. There's a lot of the team commentating on their missions that can kill the pace (the original series could make a dialogue free scene hugely tense- this lot can't stop talking!); and the stories are pretty linear, often involving extracting hidden evidence or last minute confessions. A standout writer like Playdon or Heath was needed. The plots just aren't outrageous enough!

Out of 19 episodes, maybe half justify a repeat viewing. However, the 4 remakes (The Killer, The Condemned, The Legacy & The System) along with The Wall (similar to original episode The Bank), The Fixer & Reprisal (both written by Walter Brough who wrote Squeeze Play & Casino in original seasons 5 & 6; Reprisal featuring Lynda Day George) work especially well- thanks to stronger plots and able guest casting giving us nastier baddies. All in all, an enjoyable show but not earth shattering. The second season Mission Impossible '89 [DVD] sadly didn't learn these lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not in the same way as the original series, 2 Aug 2012
By 
JM Baxter (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this isn't as good as the original series which ran in the 60's and 70's, but it's still worth watching, and earlier episodes in the season in particular are very good.
The unravelling of the plot is not nearly as complex as before, but this loss is made up for by some good special effects and production values - some episodes could almost be mini-movies, and unlike in the original, when the IMF team visit a foreign location, it actually looks like that location, rather than just being filmed on a US studio backdrop.
I must comment on the picture quality - The image isn't as sharp as it could be, though it looks to my eyes that this is because of the cameras used to record the series, rather than a fault with the DVD or lack of restoration, but this is a disappointment.
@bax81
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars as expected, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD] (DVD)
as expected , a bit of a walk down memory lane watching these series. Mission Impossible series is simply eternal .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

Mission Impossible - The '88 TV Season [DVD]
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews