Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girl Meets Girl, Girl Dates Girl...
Rachel is a attractive, but slightly surly, 18 year old blonde goth chic, who lives in Los Angeles and is an aspiring songwriter and interior designer. She lives with her very wealthy father Frank, in an impressive house in the suburbs. Freshly dumped by her effeminate and gothic boyfriend, Jason, she's gets grounded by her dad for various misbehaviours. Her dad then has...
Published 17 days ago by William Mason

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame, it could have been good.
Watched this the other day after seeing adverts for it and a preview on Amazon. Bless them, I think Amazon had the best bits to show. The premise is that a father goes away on business and asks his daughter to entertain a guest who is going to work for him whilst he is away. The two young women get to know each other and fall in love, only for the father to put the...
Published on 1 July 2012 by Ms. Emma H. Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Girl Meets Girl, Girl Dates Girl..., 11 Mar. 2015
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
Rachel is a attractive, but slightly surly, 18 year old blonde goth chic, who lives in Los Angeles and is an aspiring songwriter and interior designer. She lives with her very wealthy father Frank, in an impressive house in the suburbs. Freshly dumped by her effeminate and gothic boyfriend, Jason, she's gets grounded by her dad for various misbehaviours. Her dad then has to go away on a weekend business trip and leaves Rachel to look after his house guest - his new employee Amy, who's a very attractive, twenty-something (possibly even thirty-something) brunette.
Not long after meeting, Amy unembarrassedly takes a shower in front of the younger woman whilst they have a conversation about long distance relationships. It's their first intimate moment together and the two (heterosexual) ladies are soon drinking wine together and flirting. There's a lot of verbal foreplay and a little later in the night, Amy catches Rachel masturbating to a lesbian porn movie. What follows then is a whirlwind romance between the two women as they find something in each other that the men in their lives have never been able to give them.
This film has a sedate pace but doesn't suffer for it too much. The two lead actresses have a believably sexy chemistry together. There's a nicely chilled out, soft rock film score. There are lots of nice shots of the L.A. city skyline, downtown area, pier and beaches. The camerawork is good and the script is engaging. When the girls first make love it's very erotic, although it's a bit odd when they wake up the very next day with their underwear already mysteriously back on their bodies. There's lots more naked, girl on girl erotica, but it's not explicit, and it accurately mirrors the developing emotional intimacy between the two women.
A small word of warning. The two male actors in this film, who play Frank and Jason, give execrable performances, close to the worse I've ever seen. Thankfully, their appearances are few and far between.
Not the sort of film I'd normally choose to watch, but far better than I expected. Recommended, whatever your sexuality.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame, it could have been good., 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this the other day after seeing adverts for it and a preview on Amazon. Bless them, I think Amazon had the best bits to show. The premise is that a father goes away on business and asks his daughter to entertain a guest who is going to work for him whilst he is away. The two young women get to know each other and fall in love, only for the father to put the spanner in the works. Now this is very much a tried and tested premise and usually this works, but unfortunately in this case it doesn't. The acting was amateur to say the least, the love scenes were laughable,even the kissing was done by two girls who had no idea of how sensual a kiss could be. The only saving grace was the ending - best bit of acting in the whole film. Then I saw on the credits that this was directed by a man! No wonder the love scenes were so bad! I don't think a woman had a hand in anything of this film whatsoever. This was obviously made cheaply by men for men, and I do believe that poor Peccidilo Pics were had when they released this. Avoid this film!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched it twice now, and enjoyed it more second time around., 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Ms. Rebecca J. Mason "dxsteff882" (Wilts,. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
I disagree, i thought it was a refreshing film. The characters actually got a bit deep by asking each other personal questions, and they didn't shy away from answering them. No visible boundaries put up. I thought it to be a believable story line, person comes to Hollywood to make something of herself, a very realistic plot i would say. It's not the ultimate lesbian film i've seen but i enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film, one of the best lesbian dramas I have seen in ages. Would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad acting, bad plot, 15 July 2013
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
This film was pretty corny from start to finish with bad acting, zero chemistry between the girls and a plot that could have been so much more believable had a decent screen writer got hold of the story. On a plus note (had to really think hard) it is a pleasant enough watch and not offensive on a rainy aft, if you have nothing better to do. I love romantic fiction especially lesbian fiction but even on a low budget this wasn't a good film and could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Film not too bad, dubbing not good., 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Janice C. Hughes (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
This was okay but dubbing on it was all wrong, so everything they said was repeated like an echo afterwards all the way through the film, so you end up watching it on mute. These films are what they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The film would of been great if it didn't echoe all the way through the ..., 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
The film would of been great if it didn't echoe all the way through the film repeating voices sent it back and still have not received a refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why isn't there a "none star" ?, 6 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
:*)

Greetings!

Quite honestly, I believed that "female on female" fantasy,
as per the induction of male onanism, would "rise to a higher diffusion"
... but, apparently "not so" !!!

What is definately NOT surprising AT ALL, is
the fact that, this "whatever it is supposed to be called",
is an established "feature", formally promoted
for a mainstream "consumption".(LOL)

It is not surprising because,
it is a product of "the old world paradigm",
- which kept human kind enslaved,
and true female kind, obliterated.

In addition,
based on this old world paradigm of duality and separation,
"I hate it",
is the choice of the fake opposite of,
"I love it",
here represented by
"one star"
and
"five star",
respectively.

I, simply, elect not to consider this "feature".
It is not "of mine" to collect and carry-on.
So, I acknowledge what it is and choose,
to step aside and lightly progress.

Why was this "re-view" then, written ? I ask mySelf.

Again, it is simple.
Because, it is my journey
from my original question in the title,
to this received awareness of a review.

Thank You,

Kindly.

:*)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spoilers, 21 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
Movie was made with slightly poor quality, sound wasn't super, but it had a happy ending and the couple was cute together. Lesbian movies with a happy ending always get an extra star from me. it was better than icky Jessie/Jamie movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guest House [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most romantic, beautiful films I have ever seen, some parts were rather amateur but it had me drawn in from the word go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Guest House [DVD]
The Guest House [DVD] by Michael Baumgarten (DVD - 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews