Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dazzling star in the firmament, 23 July 2012
By 
Mirco (Pordenone, PN Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
It is not easy to talk about complex issues such as transsexuality without falling into stereotypes, but this film fails to address the crudity of the injury and the pain it generates, and the gentleness and delicacy of love. Yet the film is a perfect balance, showing how painful is the path that leads us to accept ourselves for who we are and above all to break the wall of prejudice and fear that tends to isolate those who are different. A movie not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 11 Feb 2012
I have a hard time finding movies I like, and this was a chance find that seemed rather interesting. It exceeded EVERY expectation I had, and is now one of my favourite films. I won't go into detail, as I don't want to spoil it but a LOT of issues to do with transgender etc is covered here. It's something different to all other films and covers the information the way a documentary would- but with the romance of Lukas and Fabio. It really is an exceptional film and will keep you enthralled to the last second. I HIGHLY recommend this to EVERYONE. You honestly are sat here, hoping and praying it works out between Fabio and Lukas- You just get so sucked in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good job Mr. Director, 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen "Romeos" on a screen in a small cinema and was quite impressed as I didn't think it would be such a good flick. I am not very into transgender cinema, so it's only a second film I saw in this matter. The first will be amazing "Transamerica".
"Romeos" is a story about intolerance and fight against it, about seeking for love, about the importance of friendship. The story has no flows and all actors did great job. What do you need more?
Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Love conquers everything", 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
In Cologne two strikingly different young men meet. It is obvious at a very early stage that there is an attraction between them. The question is, how will the super hunk Fabio be able to handle the fact that the object of his attraction, Lukas, is not a complete man?
This is an extremely compelling story and the topic is dealt with in an admirable way. A really great film you will not forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars appealing and captures youth on the wing, 19 Oct 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
Romeos is a very fresh, appealing film from Germany with a lively camera style, full of saturated colours and changes of camera angle, with expressive close-ups, to convey the immediacy and changeable nature of young friendships. Here this tendency is even more pronounced because of the transgender nature of the main character, and the actor does an amazing job of taking us into his insecurities and feelings, their aching urgency and ups and downs. For all that, it remains a bright film, with quite a lot of ensemble scenes, yet it keeps a sense of shape, unlike some films of this type. Above all, director Sabine Bernardi makes it an uplifting experience, ultimately, without overlooking any of the insensitivity and cruelty that can be a part of the experience of this age group too - and others, for that matter. Rick Odon is really extraordinary, looking a bit like a young Kevin Bacon, with all the sensitivity in his expression of a young faun. The boy he likes is also appealing in the right sort of way - sexy, but with a feeling that he really might turn out to be a bit of a let-down; he looks a little like the young Romain Duris! The best female friend is also a stalwart presence, if one whose friendship does not always run smoothly either. I recommend this film strongly as a very enjoyable drama that covers a number of issues with a light touch, even as it takes you into the suffering of the character. I wish it had had a few extras - it would have been interesting to hear the director talk about the background to the project - but it is well worth buying in any case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different to your usual gay love story, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the NW German city of Cologne, Romeos traces the story of Lukas, a 20 year old who has recently arrived in the city. He soon meets Fabio and the history of Lukas then emerges.
Romeos is a very different story, lasting around 90 minutes and is well worth a watch. The film is mostly in German with English subtitles, as well as the odd scene or two in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good tbh!, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
I am still pretty new to the foreign/gay/trans-sexuality type films and am buying what Amazon is recommending for me at the moment till I can work out what I like and what I don't.

The first half of this film was a little slow for me tbh. But 50mins into the film when it all came out i did start to really feel sorry for him & the 2nd half of the film was really amazing and I really did enjoy it.

I will be watching this film again and if you want to give up half way thought please don't, trust me on that. You will really love it by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very believable story, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
see it , its good, its life confirming, even if you are not Transsexual. very good on cathing any emotions you might have about being yourself !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable insight., 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film which conveys what it must be like, not just to undergo a transformation of sexual identity, but the terror of exposure that goes with it. It is difficult enough to come out as gay but to present yourself as one person and then to be found, or thought, to be another must be exceptionally hard. That emotional journey is brilliantly conveyed in this film which obviously romantices the subject but without pulling its punches on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical boy meets boy love story, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeos [DVD] (DVD)
Other reviews have said almost all there is to be said about this film, which tackles the subject of transexuality among young people with sensitivity and insight. This is the sort of film which should be shown in all schools. Rick Okon is excellent as Lukas, the transgender role, and because of his features is totally believable as a woman becoming a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romeos [DVD]
Romeos [DVD] by Sabine Bernardi (DVD - 2012)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews