Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all singing all dancing region 2 release please!!!!
Ok, let's get the obvious said first: This film is not a patch on the original novel (Cabal); Clive Barker's cut was not released but a hastily re-edited version which gives away too much too soon and some of the acting is pretty poor but....I Love This Film! I don't even own a VHS player anymore but i still have this on video because I refuse to not have it...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by Grr

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars misleading
I'm a massive fan of cabal the Clive barker book nightbreed is based and hearing that after 20 years of waiting the proper uncut version that Clive intended it to be with all the missing footage is coming out , I was over the moon to see the words cabal nightbreed uncut on amazon so I ordered it straight away not realizeing its the original 90s version ( its still kinda a...
Published 12 months ago by rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all singing all dancing region 2 release please!!!!, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Grr "Gumbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Ok, let's get the obvious said first: This film is not a patch on the original novel (Cabal); Clive Barker's cut was not released but a hastily re-edited version which gives away too much too soon and some of the acting is pretty poor but....I Love This Film! I don't even own a VHS player anymore but i still have this on video because I refuse to not have it.

For the reasons above this film is not a masterpiece and i freely admit it's five star rating is solely down to a peculiar fondeness I have for it.

Something about it got under my skin years ago and never let go. I think it's the mythology it creates - the concept of Midian enchants me - married to some awesome design (creatures and sets) and a typically stunning lates 80's Elfman score.

It's a marmite film, lots of people have hated it but many share my belief that it's a lost gem, worthy of a cult following.

It's a film that screamed SEQUEL too (as does the book btw). The ending really lends itself to continuation as it does not conclude the story completely.

What is soooo annoying it that there is region two release planned at present. We live in a world where you can buy the Nic Cage Wicker Man and Battlefiled Earth on DVD but not this?!?! There is certainly something amiss here.

I for one ask that the rights holders grantme a wish and release a full on special edition. Preferably incusive of Cliver Barkers original cut, which I am certain will be even better and may well keep the books darker ending, as well as the film i loved as a spotty teen. A full making of with tons of details about the set creation and monster creation would be great too.

Any chance???!?!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars misleading, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal - Nightbreed (uncut) (DVD)
I'm a massive fan of cabal the Clive barker book nightbreed is based and hearing that after 20 years of waiting the proper uncut version that Clive intended it to be with all the missing footage is coming out , I was over the moon to see the words cabal nightbreed uncut on amazon so I ordered it straight away not realizeing its the original 90s version ( its still kinda a classic) but its actually a few mins shorter than the USA version I picked up a few years back which is gutting so if like me you're after the proper uncut version of nightbreed don't waste you're cash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Cabal - Nightbreed (uncut) (DVD)
One of my favourite films. Was tired of waiting for an unlikely UK DVD release so went ahead and ordered from abroad. This version has the option to play with the full original English language soundtrack without subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightbreed, journey to the heart of Midian, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal - Nightbreed (uncut) (DVD)
I had this classic on video for years, finally found it on DVD. The first of the new wave of horror movies to combine the classic folklore of Clive Barker, with what was then cutting edge special effects. Schlock horror mixed with black humour and a classic Cronenburg set piece deliver an outstanding viewing mix. Broke the mould of old style horror movies. The new cut of Nightbreed is being shown at this years 'Frightfest' in London, can't wait! This classic is crying out for a sequel - So are you 'nightbreed' or 'fresh meat'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 18 Jun 2012
By 
L. Nagle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabal - Nightbreed (uncut) (DVD)
I bought this because back in the late 80's I had a small part in it and wanted to show my girlfriend. I thought there were too many varieties of monster, mostly one of a kinds, but she enjoyed it. Clive Barker has a great imagination and visual sense, a storyteller in both words and images, and Dave Cronenberg is good in front of the camera as well as behind it. I understand that there were production problems and that after hurriedly wrapping the film the producers decided to shoot a whole lot more monster stuff, which may be why it doesn't flow as well as it could, but its still an interesting and very watchable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip off, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: cabal dvd Italian Import (DVD)
DVD cannot be watched in English as there is no subtitle selection, So the film can only be watched in a dodgy dubbed Italian version, DVD is also a copy, i read the description before purchasing this DVD & like most people believed this film could be watched in English. Such a shame as remember watching this excellent film as a teenager, lets hope one day a region 2 version comes out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: cabal dvd Italian Import (DVD)
poor copy not as described no subtitles and a cheap copy
described as italian but with subtitles ,however no subtitle menue at all as dvd just a poor copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally fantastic highly original horror fantasy masterpiece!!, 27 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lesser known but absolutely stunning genre-busting fantasy horror film from 1990 directed by the amazing horror/fantasy writer Clive Barker after writing and then directing the hugely successful horror film Hellraiser.
This is not a straight horror scare fest like Hellraiser, as it is much more. It is a almost fairytale like dark story, twisted fable set in modern times. A young man is not sure he has killed people or not, and might be framed. He runs away, runs to a strange mythical town for sanctuary and finds strange horrors waiting.
It is a fantastic film, a horror film ,but with a huge scope, a big tale to tell, monsters, lovers, romance, danger, serial killer. All of this and a music score from Danny Elfman which sounds very similar to his score for the huge Tim Burton Batman film released not long before.
This is a great film, but is not in the cut it was intended as. The director Clive Barker knows that the studios still hold many missing lost scenes which he hopes to eventually cut back into the film, and many fans want this. See the film and see how even more amazing it might be with the full story as it was originally intended. Fantasic fantasy horror film from a master writer and director of dark fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightbreed, 24 April 2005
By A Customer
Nightbreed, although not available in this country is well worth a watch. If you like your monsters not to be what you expect and the visuals to be stunning this is a film for you. Based on Clive Barkers Cabal, it is so very close to the book that I was surprised, as normally they are just a distant relation to each other. Although the story is opened ended and you long to know what happens to the caracters it's still worth your time. Although eighties in feel it is not dated to much.
If you give it a go you will love this horror movie with a twist.
P.S look out for the insperation to the monsters in the Village. I think M Knight loves this film or it had an effect on his young mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE WARNER ARCHIVE COLLECTION ( AS ..., 2 July 2014
By 
G. A. Holohan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE WARNER ARCHIVE COLLECTION ( AS PICTURED ) ON SCREEN

Problem with Amazon, they tie all reviews of the same film together so you don't know what versions are being reviewed from.

The Story.....no point repeating what others have already said.
I had an old Screen Gems Video release of this film and like many I hoped it would see DVD or even better Blu-ray but so far this has not happend in the U.K

I ordered this version. And boy!.....was I not dissapointed the picture quality is excellent a huge improvement over any VHS I had previous had
sound quality is also good.

Only problem you may have is it is in region 1 locked so a multi-region player is advisable to have.

Would love to see a company like Arrow Video get the U.K rights to this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabal - Nightbreed (uncut)
Cabal - Nightbreed (uncut) by Craig Sheffer (DVD)
11.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews