Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
Really enjoyed this book, its witty and funny and also strikes a poignant note in all of us. well worth a read, i couldn't put it down, its an easy read, nice and gentle. would highly recommend it.Milly Johnson continues to deliver a reall good read.
Published on 1 May 2012 by lottie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Milly book but still really enjoyed it
I hope I don't come across as too negative because I did really enjoy this book and couldn't put it down, reading well into the night! The cornerstone of all Milly's books, as in my own life, is of realistic Yorkshire women and firm friendships and this is what makes her such a fabulous author. I'm not going to put spoilers in my review or give the plot away, though I...
Published 20 months ago by Skaty Katie


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Wedding (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book, its witty and funny and also strikes a poignant note in all of us. well worth a read, i couldn't put it down, its an easy read, nice and gentle. would highly recommend it.Milly Johnson continues to deliver a reall good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New member of the Milly Johnson Fan Club!!, 28 May 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Wedding (Kindle Edition)
White Wedding by Milly Johnson follows three brides to be who all meet by chance in the White Wedding bridal shop and soon become great friends. Violet, Max and Bel are all very likeable characters but they are no way the perfect brides to be as they all have a hidden secret when it comes to their weddings and it is not just pre-wedding nerves!
Bel is due to marry first she is engaged to Richard but her hopes and dreams not only for her wedding but for her future with her new husband to be are shattered when she finds out a heartbreaking secret. Violet is engaged to Glyn but is clearly having doubts about the wedding she feels very suffocated in her relationship and it is clear Glyn needs to get help to stop his paranoia before it puts the wedding in jeopardy. Max has been with her fiancé Stuart since college and the time seemed right for them to tie the knot but both Max and Stuart have very different ideas of their perfect wedding day. Can changes be made to ensure all the weddings still go ahead?

This was my first Milly Johnson book, I am unsure why I haven't got around to reading one the authors books before because the covers of her books are very appealing to me and now I have read the synopsis of some more of her books they sound right up my street.

The author creates three fantastic and loveable characters with Violet being my favourite as I could relate more to her than the other two characters. Max defiantly brought the entertainment factor to the book with all of her wedding wishes being based on the Gypsy Wedding style. Bel really did have a hard time but I was a little frustrated at the situation she put herself through which I wish I could say more but I don't want to give away to much detail as it will ruin her part of the story.

The book is split up into three parts one part for each ladies weddings and it was great that the chapters were very short as it makes it easy to be able to pick up and put down when you just have time to snatch a chapter or two, although this book had me gripped after the second chapter so I ended up finishing it in a day!

I loved the suspense that Milly Johnson manages to create especially with Bel I knew something wasn't right early on in the book with Bel but I couldn't figure it out so I had a shock coming. This was the same with the ending of the book it was just not possible to predict the ending which made you keep turning the pages quickly trying to get to the end to see how it all pans out.

This was a genuinely perfect read with a realistic storyline and three great characters. I highly recommend this book and I will now be on the lookout for more books by Milly Johnson as she has such a warm and enjoyable writing style I am definitely a new member of the Milly Johnson fan club!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White wedding, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Wedding (Kindle Edition)
Loved the flow of this book I couldn't put it down once I started. A great book to take on holiday or relax with in the local coffee shop on a Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engrossing read for me, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Shazjera (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Wedding (Paperback)
In the Prologue of White Wedding, it's February and the fifth time that Bel, Max and Violet have bumped into each other in the bridal shop White Wedding. Chapter One begins three months later and the women have all become friends.

Bel's wedding is first and the reader intuits that during those three months something has happened - she's not as excited and buzzing as she was in the Prologue. Leading up to her wedding (and throughout the book), the strands of Max and Violet's lives are woven through. Written in the third person this allows the reader to get to know the women, their fiancés and their lives.

Bel's wedding is explosive! What a wedding to start with! I loved the wedding cake ... She flees to the Bronte cottages on the Moors that are owned by her father to gather herself together. It is here she meets the mysterious man alluded to in the synopsis. The antagonism and Bel's eventual return to her life are brilliantly portrayed. Max' wedding is next followed by Violet's. There are realisations and trauma leading up to each of them.

In the background is White Wedding owner Freya. There is a lot of intrigue surrounding her. No-one knows for sure her background. The part she plays in the story is very subtle but causes major changes that alter paths - and is magical!

All the characters are believable and easy to identify with. I actually don't have a favourite ... because they are all brilliant (I'm including in this the characters readers are meant to dislike).

There are many levels to White Wedding. Although the main theme is the weddings, I became engrossed in all the women's lives. There is much depth and I think all women should have a `Freya' in their lives before their marriages ... Milly Johnson explores step-families, manipulation/obsession, insecurities, mental illness/Alzheimer's and expectations. I LOVED the metaphysical aspect

Milly's different length of chapters enhances the flow of the tale being created. You'll find Milly's humour sprinkled throughout alongside plenty of tension. There were a few surprises for me - I knew something was coming from Bel's wedding being written up in the Melbourne Star but never guessed how that fitted in. What a shocker! I also wasn't expecting Glyn to go that far ... or Bel's `husband' Richard's secret ... and what a brilliant ending!

I've been so engrossed in Bel, Max and Violet's lives it's a keeper for me!

I would like to thank Simon & Schuster UK for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as always, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Wedding (Kindle Edition)
I started reading this yesterday afternoon and that was it..... no dinner, no ironing, no nothing. I was completely hooked. Good job I have today off work as I was awake most of the night reading it. I've just finished it and I thought it was brilliant as are all Milly's books. They are all written with such warmth and humour. She is one very talented lady. Bravo Milly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three women, three weddings, and three useless husbands-to-be, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Hannah Dexter (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Wedding (Kindle Edition)
I found two of Milly Johnson's other books, 'Here Come the Girls', and 'An Autumn Crush' hugely entertaining, so I had high expectations of 'White Wedding'. I am happy to report that they were lived up to, if not exceeded. Three young women all in their thirties are on the verge of becoming wives, and meet in a bridal shop which they frequently visit, hoping to find the perfect dress for their forthcoming big day. But as the plot unravels, we learn that they might just be marrying the wrong men...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wedding triumph, 28 May 2012
By 
This review is from: White Wedding (Paperback)
Another lovely tale this time about three would be brides and their sometimes happy, sometimes poignant attempts to create their special days. I love Milly Johnson's novels, she always manages to bring her characters to life and thread their lives together with magical skill. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Milly book but still really enjoyed it, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: White Wedding (Paperback)
I hope I don't come across as too negative because I did really enjoy this book and couldn't put it down, reading well into the night! The cornerstone of all Milly's books, as in my own life, is of realistic Yorkshire women and firm friendships and this is what makes her such a fabulous author. I'm not going to put spoilers in my review or give the plot away, though I did find Glyn's antics towards the end of the book appallingly horrific and this takes it out of the "light read" territory. The main female characters are as always fantastic, the kind you would want as your own best mates. It was really good fun. And the magical realism that someone else referred to in their review is just lovely, and gives me at least some hope! What annoyed me was the character, or rather the name, of Dan Regent. I thought he could not possibly be real with a name like that and thought he sounded like a superhero rather like Flash Gordon, taking it into the realms of caricature. I'd rather he was called something like David Robinson! I'm really pleased too that Violet returns in A Winter Flame so that is my next good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and frivolous!, 28 May 2012
By 
Katheryn (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Wedding (Kindle Edition)
Milly Johnson has a lovely easy style of writing and her characters are always women you can imagine having a gossip with over coffee and cake.

White Wedding doesn't disappoint on this front with three very different ladies taking centre stage while they prepare for what should be the happiest day of their lives. I found Bel and Violet very endearing and easy to empathise with, Max less so, though very amusing.

Having the book focus on each of the main characters in turn did make it feel a little clunky in places, especially having to wait to see if there was a happy end in store.

Still just beaten by A Spring Affair but would thoroughly recommend this for a light hearted beach read with plenty of gentle wit and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another little gem from Milly Johnson!, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Wedding (Paperback)
I always look forward to Milly Johnson books because they are a guaranteed 'good read' and this was no exception. I read it in two days. I loved all the characters (even the unpleasant ones!) A well written book with a happy ending, who could ask for more?! Looking forward to the next book already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Wedding
White Wedding by Milly Johnson
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews