Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books of 2012
Let me begin this review by saying I love this book. I'll say it again, I love this book.

This was my first book of Paige Toon's. I happened to pick it up on a multi buy offer at the supermarket so wasn't sure what to expect. I loved it so much, I literally read this book in a day, I couldn't get enough so was delighted when I read that Paige was writing a...
Published 21 months ago by Potter fan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok read
A bit disappointing but still an ok read.
Started well, middle very long winded and a bit disappointed with ending but still a good read.
Published 21 months ago by claret reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books of 2012, 28 Aug. 2013
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Kindle Edition)
Let me begin this review by saying I love this book. I'll say it again, I love this book.

This was my first book of Paige Toon's. I happened to pick it up on a multi buy offer at the supermarket so wasn't sure what to expect. I loved it so much, I literally read this book in a day, I couldn't get enough so was delighted when I read that Paige was writing a e-book sequel (which is also great!)

So why did I love this book so much? I loved the star crossed lovers element of Joe and Alice, I found the description of how they fell in love very moving and realistic and was rooting for them to get back together throughout the book. This book also made me cry; generally if a book makes me cry it means that I have connected with the book and that it is a keeper. I found the characters to be engaging, likeable and I really wanted to find out what was going to happen to them. Finally this book got me through a very tough personal time and so I know that I will love this book forever, and it will always have a special place in my heart.

I cannot recommend this book enough; it made me laugh, cry, and everything inbetween. If you haven't read a Paige Toon book you are missing out, I am genuinely delighted to have found a new author whose books are engaging, colourful and so very likeable. I also love how characters from her other books are woven in, a very clever touch. Paige Toon you are a very welcome addition to my bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Perfect Novel., 22 May 2012
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Paperback)
One Perfect Summer introduces us to the new character of Alice. Before she leaves home to go to University, she takes one last family holiday with her parents to a holiday cottage in Dorset. All set to have a relaxing break, she doesn't count on meeting a boy that will change her life forever - Joe. Despite only knowing each other a few weeks, they embark on a passionate love affair, but it quickly all goes wrong, and Joe disappears from Alice's life, leaving her heart-broken. At university, she meets German student Lukas, and is bowled over by his charm and affection towards her, and decides to settle down with him. But with Joe always at the back of her mind, will Alice ever be able to give 100% of herself to Lukas or is that one perfect summer going to ruin the rest of her future?

I loved Alice. I'll say that straight away because I think she's the perfect heroine for the book, and made me want to keep following the story and reading on to find out what Alice was going to do next. Toon writes her as such as believable character, you can't help but feel her pain when Joe disappears, and although I really disliked her relationship with Lukas who I believed to be a weasel from the very moment we meet him, you could see why she craved a steady relationship but I wish she had admitted her feelings for Joe more. She's a very realistic character though, and one I am sure the readers of this book will really like. Lukas on the other hand was horrible, and I really disliked how he controlled Alice quite subtly, but in a way that meant she was merely going through the motions of a relationship really.

Joe is just a fantastic character. He starts off as a shy young teenager working for his awful parents at their pub in Dorset, and comes alive when he meets Alice and falls in love. Now, as I was reading, I wondered if Toon would do as she normally does in her books and somehow reference one of the other characters from her books in here, and it took a while for me to twig this one, but when I did, I thought it was a fab connection! Anyone who has read Baby Be Mine, Toon's previous novel to this should recognise the character of Joseph Striker, the Hollywood heart-throb Meg befriends when trying to work things through with Johnny Jefferson... well....that's the connection! As I say it took me a while, but when I realised, I rushed upstairs to grab Baby Be Mine and check, and I was right! I really do love that aspect of Toon's books.

The story itself was fantastic to read, and I adored the setting of beautiful Cambridge. Toon's descriptions of the city, from the famous colleges of Cambridge to University, to Alice's job as a punter on the rivers was great, and it certainly makes me want to go back there again, it's written so beautifully it brings it alive in your mind with ease. The story has several time settings, at the beginning is pre-University for Alice, then we get back to Alice when she's at University, and then after a while it skips a few years on to when her and Lukas are moving on with their relationship, and then things really kick off. I loved the anticipation of waiting for Joe to show up again (revealed in the blurb, not a spoiler!), and was actually surprised it took as long as it did to happen. I've noticed people online complaining about the ending, but Paige has revealed that there will be a sequel to this book, most likely in 2014, so it'll be great to catch up on that ambiguous ending and find out what is going with Joe, Lukas and Alice!

As usual, Toon has written another absolute corker of a novel that will have you hooked from start to finish! I couldn't put it down once I'd started reading and honestly feel in love with Alice and Joe's story, it was so fantastically written you'll find yourself desperate for the happy ending they both deserve. Instead, we're left on a bit of a cliffhanger with a 2 year wait, but luckily, we all know it will be worth it! With a stunning setting, a fantastic set of characters and a great writing style that draws you in from the very first page, One Perfect Summer is one of those books that will be a 'keeper' on your bookshelf, and I know I'll be reading again. I especially loved the reference from Baby Be Mine but it really was a stunning read that I can't recommend highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant! xxx, 6 Aug. 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Paperback)
I must admit I'm a HUGE Paige Toon fan, so I was VERY very excited about reading this. I was at the shop before the doors even opened because I was so keen to get my hands on a copy, in fact I nearly knocked the other novels off the shelf in all my enthusiasm!

Alice is 18 and about to start studying at university in Cambridge, however first there's a holiday in Devon to get through with her parents. After being let down by her best friend, Alice doesn't hold out much hope for a great time and pictures endless days of boredom. However, after a chance meeting with the attractive and cool bartender Joe, Alice is swept off her feet by an intense and exciting summer romance. Very drastically, their hopes and dreams of love are shattered and Joe disappears, leaving Alice to pick up the pieces of her broken heart in Cambridge with no chance of seeing him again. Here she meets the gorgeous, intelligent, wealthy Lucas, who charms her with gifts and ambitions for the future. As Alice settles into a life with Lucas, Joe makes an unexpected appearance in her life, their paths having taken a completely different direction, but what should Alice do? Should she stay with Lucas, or take the risk on what was a short summer romance with the possibility that her and Joe could be soulmates?

This book took no time at all to get in to, it gripped me from the very first pages and had me rooting for Joe and Alice from the start. Their initial romance was so believable and real, a wonderful teenage romance where things are new, breathtaking and exciting. I genuinely wanted the romance to last a lot longer because I was very much enjoying seeing their relationship develop. Suddenly it is snatched away, and I couldn't help but feel like I was Alice, I felt such a sense of loss and confusion in myself, Paige Toon has my utmost respect there for making me feel every emotion of Alice, I became so involved in the book and I was hooked.

I had different views on Lukas, my opinion of him changed constantly. One minute I thought he was devilishly charming and I wished I could have been speeding off in his flashy cars with him, then later in the book I had such a dislike for him, and I was almost screaming in my book in sheer frustration because I wanted Alice to see what his true colours were. There are a lot of humourous and touching moments provided by the wonderful friendship between Alice and her best friend Jessie, I laughed out loud at their adventures with each other, their funny nicknames for each other and their banter was fantastic.

The story leaves you hanging on Alice's decision, and what an ending it is! By this time you'll have made up your mind about the outcome you want for Alice, and in my mind, I have my own ideas of the outcome and I like to think she made the right decision. Paige has said there will be a sequel of One Perfect Summer, and I will definitely be one of the first in line for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 25 Aug. 2013
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Kindle Edition)
I love all Paige toons books and this was no exception, can't help but fall in love with all the characters and lose yourself in the story. Once again a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok read, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Kindle Edition)
A bit disappointing but still an ok read.
Started well, middle very long winded and a bit disappointed with ending but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Perfect Holiday Read!, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Kindle Edition)
I read this in a couple of days on the beach in Spain and it was the perfect light-hearted, easy read with an emotional ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another smasher !!!, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Kindle Edition)
Another amazing read from the fabulous paige..... I can't wait to read one perfect christmas now to read on :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One perfect summer, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant! Hung on every word,hope there will be a sequel to this as such good characters, will have to wait and see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!, 25 May 2012
By 
Londoner (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Paperback)
Like most of the people here, I've read all of Paige Toons books. She's great at easy, enjoyable reads. This book is no exception.
It got a little dull towards the end, and the ending was quite abrupt. The start of the book was a little darker than previous novels, but most certainly no worse for it - in fact I'd say it was the most interesting part! The main reason I didnt give it 5 stars is pretty soon after I started the book, I realised that the plot was very similar to 'Pictures of Lily' - about first loves. In both books the characters drift apart for 10 years or so, and then get back together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 16 Feb. 2014
This review is from: One Perfect Summer (Paperback)
One Perfect Summer was just an interesting book in the book store first. I read the blurb and decided to buy it and read it. This summer I finally had the time to do this and it was definitley worth every minute and every single page!!!

When I started reading I couldn’t put the book down, it was so gripping, full of emotions and depth. Paige’s style of writing really takes you into the story, you can image the pictures and you feel close the the characters.

Alice and Joe are perfect together, you can really feel their love for each other. It is a great story about first love and two soulmates who found eachother. However, there is always some drama in a love story. After their perfect summer everything changes. There is a lot of heartache and you might have tears in your eyes.
Alice eventually moves on, but it takes her very long and Joe is always in her mind. Lukas the handsome German comes into her life and after a while they start dating. You could say he’s to total opposite of Joe. Her life is okay until her wedding day, when she sees a DVD of a film, with an actor who she knows really really well. Joe has changed, but he’s back in her thoughts. But, she does get married!!!
We can read about her life with Lukas, but there is always Joe and then she finally sees him again!!! Does this change her life???

After reading this book I couldn’t wait to buy Paige’s other books and read them immediately!!!

Sweet, amazing and charming!!! A great summer-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Perfect Summer
One Perfect Summer by Paige Toon
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews