Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DESTINATION - SUCCESS
Another CD from this man has failed to disappoint me. 16 tracks, 13 of which were self-penned, and all performed with great style and where needed, sensitivity.

"Just Getting By" is an uptempo pacey country flavoured song, with a neat guitar break.

"That`s What Love Can Do" is not the old Joe Brown tune of many years ago, but a slow paced gentle...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by ROBIN

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good but not his best
If you like his style and song writing Charlie's albums are never a disappointment. This is an excellent collection of songs slightly spoiled by being over produced. There are also too many up beat songs. Perhaps Charlie should learn from Bob Dylan and let his voice age with time without trying to cover it by choosing the wrong tempo and backing. Now could be a good time...
Published 22 months ago by robsure


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DESTINATION - SUCCESS, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
Another CD from this man has failed to disappoint me. 16 tracks, 13 of which were self-penned, and all performed with great style and where needed, sensitivity.

"Just Getting By" is an uptempo pacey country flavoured song, with a neat guitar break.

"That`s What Love Can Do" is not the old Joe Brown tune of many years ago, but a slow paced gentle ballad with a string and piano accompaniment.

"Everything Has A Price" another fast past country song with good guitar work.

"Goodbye My Friend" is another ballad, a strong piano influence this time and not written by Charlie.

"I Must Be An Eskimo" a hand-clapping almost sing-along mid-paced song with a strong accordian influence. Bit of an Irish flavour in my mind.

"Something Close To Love" a slow ballad, story in song, reminded me of "Saints".

"Looking For A Destination" is a faster paced stronger ballad with an almost self-analytical view, maybe about the younger Charlie.

"Sunset Man" a slow tempo ballad with a somewhat observational lyric.

"The Lion`s Share" is almost a gentle rocker, with a bit of rousing gospel on the side.

"Let It Rain" a standard-type ballad with a clarinet influence. Aled Jones remarked recently that it was a bit Randy Newmanesque. Maybe a vehicle for Michael Buble (although he could not do it as well as our Charlie).

"Serves Me Right" has a fast paced guitar intro which leads nicely into a similarly uptempo song.

"Angel Of Mercy" a gentle slow-paced country ballad that Charlie does so well.

"All He Ever Saw Was You" slightly faster with a piano and fiddle influence. Not written by Charlie.

"Yesterday Just Passed My Way Again" a Merle Haggard type of country ballad. Superb steel guitar work from Dave Rowland. Again not written by our man. This has been recorded by Phil Everly, albeit many years ago.

"The Way Back Home" a country influenced ballad, gently paced with an accordian break.

"There`s Nothing Time Can Do" a string accompanied ballad, sung from the heart.

16 tracks, wonderful lyrics, sung beautifully in my humble opinion. I am very pleased with this CD, you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely man,sings with such ease, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
my wife and I have met Charlie and his wife Thelma many times and seen him in concert about 14 times now , he never fails too deliver,either live or on cd,Charlie is a lovely man , who sings with such ease and feeling.He hasn't made any bad cd's in my opinion.My fav on here are something close to love,looking for a destination and angel of mercy.This isn't my fav album of his,that is MOVIN'ON,and to me the best quality recorded one is STILL CAN'T SAY GOODBYE [this one was recorded in America].I like Charlie singing his own songs more then cover versions,apart from some songs on STILL CAN'T SAY GOODBYE and also SPEED OF THE SOUND OF LONELINESS.If you get the chance to see him live please do so,he's FANTASTIC and seems to be on constant tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
Satisfactory service. Quick dispatch thankyou. This cd is another Charlie great, unique, comical and tranquil I recommend this cd. Charlie is a great singer soft touching tunes and that tranquil voice via singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good but not his best, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
If you like his style and song writing Charlie's albums are never a disappointment. This is an excellent collection of songs slightly spoiled by being over produced. There are also too many up beat songs. Perhaps Charlie should learn from Bob Dylan and let his voice age with time without trying to cover it by choosing the wrong tempo and backing. Now could be a good time to make an accoustic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
Charlie's voice is so easy on my mind. It soothes away the troubles of the day! He speaks of gentleness direct to the soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Landsborough, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
Some excellent tracks on this first class album. Just hope he continues for many years before reaching his final DESTINATION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Peter A. Clark (Wisbech, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
This new CD has joined my wife's ever-growing collection of Charlie's works, and she is certainly not disappointed with it. As with most of his work it is very easy listening and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 20 Jan 2013
By 
M. O. Luke (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
This album is the usual Charlie standard,its pleasant to listen to in the car or relaxing at home when enjoying a coffee or a glass of wine accompanied with cheese and biscuits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr smooth himself, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
Charlie is brilliant. Has the sort of voice that could melt chocolate. Whatever he sings, he does it in true, smooth, Charlie Landsborough style, gives me goose bumps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Destination (Audio CD)
Have been to see him quit a few times the best show i have ever seen will go againe to see him when he is in my area
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7c29648)

This product

Destination
Destination by Charlie Landsborough
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews