Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Second Series
When Scott and Bailey hit our screens in the middle of last year it was like a breath of fresh air. A lot of police procedural type programmes almost merge into one, but this one was sufficiently novel to make it memorable. Most viewers were hoping for a second series and happily we did not have long to wait. This time round we have the bonus of eight episodes rather...
Published on 30 April 2012 by Brett H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars scott & bailey 2
Very good DVD in good condition. arrived in good time although I wont use 'one press button' shopping again as it defaults to first class and adds the extra money
Published 12 months ago by derek


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Second Series, 30 April 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When Scott and Bailey hit our screens in the middle of last year it was like a breath of fresh air. A lot of police procedural type programmes almost merge into one, but this one was sufficiently novel to make it memorable. Most viewers were hoping for a second series and happily we did not have long to wait. This time round we have the bonus of eight episodes rather than the six from the first series.

Janet Scott and Rachael Bailey are two overworked detectives from the Major Incident Team of the Manchester Metropolitan Police. The format is that we learn a lot about Janet and Rachael in their personal lives and there is as much emphasis on this aspect as on the cases they are working on. For example in the first episode Rachael's hitherto unknown (by us) brother descends on her and we quickly find out that he is a convicted armed robber, which certainly complicates her life. Janet, newly recovered from the serious stab wounds she received in Series 1, has her mother staying with her for three months whilst recovering from an operation. This quickly causes major tensions with her husband and two daughters. Meanwhile the crimes they are investigating are interesting well thought out stories, arguably darker than Series 1. The combination of the professional and the personal make for compulsive viewing and this continues throughout the second series.

A lot of the strength of Scott and Bailey lies in the interaction between Janet and Rachael. Although best friends, it is a far from totally harmonious relationship. Janet is the older, steadier character, whilst Rachael is a little more unpredictable, but is usually the one who manages the inspirational leaps of imagination which is what gets the cases solved. She is also rather more non conformist which tends to put her in conflict with their boss, DI Gill Murray, who again is an excellent foil for the two DCs. It is fair comment that none of the men are in the least impressive, however, I think the three main women in this series more than make up for this, so personally I did not find it an issue.

The series finishes on a very tense and emotional note as the personal and professional aspects of one of the ladies' lives collide in a most dramatic fashion and her loyalties are tested to extremes. It was pleasing that we were not left with a ridiculous cliffhanger at the end, as this always seems so contrived. I am certainly looking forward to the Series 3 without requiring this sort of incentive!

A lot of the credit for the success of this show is the contribution of the two leads, Lesley Sharpe and Suranne Jones. However, Amelia Bullmore who plays DI Murray also puts in a very strong performance and really carries equal weight with the other two especially latterly. Clearly this is a successful formula and hopefully we can look forward to Scott and Bailey becoming an established part of our TV viewing in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott & Bailey Series 2, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this show!!! You cannot beat English writing & acting - those girls are fantastic!!. A gripping story which flowed through each episode to a climatic finish. Cannot wait for the next series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Ian E. Hall (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable crime series which comes accross as being true to life, without showing too many gory bits, which are explained in detail, so pictures are not needed. The main actresses give a realistic and strong performance of their charcters.
Looking forward to series 3 etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Kim (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a fantastic show that I don't want the DVD to end. Have watched 4 out of 8 episodes and I'm dreading finishing but can't stop myself watching them. Bring on Series 3, and 4, and 5......I could watch this forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Get it and watch it. Love Lesley Sharp and Suranne Jones anyway but the rest of the cast is brilliant too. I have watched all series now and will watch them again. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believable characters in believable situations., 8 May 2013
By 
B. J. du Cille (West Bromwich, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Suranne and Lesley are terrific actresses who have a real rapport in this piece. (I'll bet they hate each other really!) Ably supported by Amelia Bullmore who also writes a few episodes and good character actors like Delroy Brown (I used to work with him in the NHS). Its a great ensemble piece with a twist in that it is more concerned with the lives and domestic situations of the police with gruesome crimes as a background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and realistic seies, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This fast moving crime series is very believable. Sometimes a little to believable for comfort. The three leading ladies are all well suited to their occupation.
Please make more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 10 July 2013
By 
P. A. Brooman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
All episodes of Scott and Bailey are brilliant. They have everything from good stories which are believeable and not solved
in the first 10 minutes. The characters are excellent. The best Police show for a very very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant drama., 28 Jun 2013
By 
D. D. Drysdale (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After immensely enjoying series one I couldn't wait to start watching, and was not disappointed. Absolutely superb ! Can't wait for series three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Scott & Bailey fan, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic series and this DVD is the perfect chance to watch again or a great way to catch up if you missed it when broadcast. Great service being delivered in a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD]
Scott & Bailey - Series 2 [DVD] by Suranne Jones (DVD - 2012)
7.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews