Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well paced and well written
A well paced and well written account of the Falklands campaign, told mainly through the prism of the Royal Navy's involvement in the conflict. Suitable for anyone new to the war, or who wants to be refreshed in light of the anniversaries coming up. Richard Freeman is a sober judge of events and comments both on our successes and failures. There are plenty more...
Published on 20 Mar. 2012 by Madeline

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was there!
Factually in-correct! In one paragraph he explains about information being spread on the Web if the sinking of HMS ILLUSTRIOUS. The Web in 1982?!?!

There are other numerous in-correct facts - there are better Falklands narrative books out there to choose from.

Not recommended.

Ex-HMS ANTELOPE 1982
Published on 7 July 2012 by Mark Calter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well paced and well written, 20 Mar. 2012
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
A well paced and well written account of the Falklands campaign, told mainly through the prism of the Royal Navy's involvement in the conflict. Suitable for anyone new to the war, or who wants to be refreshed in light of the anniversaries coming up. Richard Freeman is a sober judge of events and comments both on our successes and failures. There are plenty more comprehensive accounts available but Freeman's is the best short book I have read on the campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was there!, 7 July 2012
By 
Mark Calter (Kingstowne, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
Factually in-correct! In one paragraph he explains about information being spread on the Web if the sinking of HMS ILLUSTRIOUS. The Web in 1982?!?!

There are other numerous in-correct facts - there are better Falklands narrative books out there to choose from.

Not recommended.

Ex-HMS ANTELOPE 1982
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 23 May 2012
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
A well written review of the war on board HMS Antrim. As a fellow crew member it stored a lot of memories. One of the better books written about the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An easy enough read but not very accurate., 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
I've read a lot on the Falklands, especially the Navy's role, and there are details in here that do not match any other account I've read and couldn't have happened. Royal engineers entering Ardents boiler room 2 days after she was hit, when 1. she didn't have a boiler room and 2. She had sunk by then. Suspect the author meant Argonaut.

In the list of ships at the end of the book Sheffield is listed, but not even as damaged when in fact she sank, HMS Rhyl as going to the Falklands which I don't remember and can't find listed anywhere else....., Glamorgan and Plymouths' damage assesment is hopeful at best.

Just too many differences from everything else I know about it which makes me doubt anything new in
here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed by those interested in UK military ops, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
An excellent & very readable description of the sea-going aspects of this major UK operation - possibly the last of its kind?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
Very brief and in places I believe inaccurate account. If all you want is an overview then read this, if you are looking for an in depth history of the Falkland's conflict your wasting your time and money here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 29 May 2013
By 
S. Brickhill (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
This book promised masses, but delivers little. The prose is stilted, historical fact often ignored, and the price is at least ten times higher than the book is worth. Avoid, there are MUCH better books on the subject available from better writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Navy and the Falklands, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
Well I learned less than I was expecting and it was a shorter piece of work than I was expecting . It contained less than some other more informative works on the South Atlantic conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Close, but no cigar!, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Ray J Cowling "Author" (North Yorkshire,England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
A very informative read. As the author of The Captain`s Story a book about the Royal Navy`s youngest ever Captain`s fight, to help win back the Falkland Islands, and conquer his own personal demons, this particular book really caught my eye.
I received it as a gift and was pleased to see a well written, well researched, honest and objective account of The Falklands Conflict. The Author, an acclaimed naval historian gives us the naval perspective of the war. It is also a story of the men and ships involved in it.
The United States Navy considered a counter invasion by the British to be a `military impossibility.` Thirteen bombs hit British ships without detonating. Lord Craig, the Retired Marshall of The Royal Air Force is said to have remarked, `Six better fuses and we would have lost.`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Freeman Fayre, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Close Run Thing: The Navy and the Falklands War (Kindle Edition)
This is a very typical offering from Richard Freeman, short, easy to read, well researched and perhaps leaves the reader wanting to find out more.

Mr Freeman seems to specialise in these short accounts of significant naval actions and manages to pack a great deal of information into very few pages.

As with his other short books this really isn't for the serious naval buff but it is enjoyable reading and certainly reminded me of incidents from the Falklands War that I had half forgotten.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews