Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars innocence and experience
Thanks to two appealing juvenile leads, Wes Anderson's "Moonrise Kingdom" succeeds in engaging and sometimes moving us. Set in coastal New England in 1965, it is about two misfit thirteen-year-olds who fall in love (each, it seems, intuiting the other's "misfittedness") and decide to run away together and set up a home/camp where they can live isolated from the world of...
Published 13 months ago by Stanley Crowe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but slight
This film is beautiful to look at, the child leads are excellent - especially the girl, but ultimately I wondered what was the point of this charming but rather slight film. Two disfunctional kids escape the rigours of family/bullying by peers and find demure but true love together. It's engaging but bordered on being twee so I nearly switched it off. Okay as a time...
Published 9 months ago by Inkslinger


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars innocence and experience, 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Thanks to two appealing juvenile leads, Wes Anderson's "Moonrise Kingdom" succeeds in engaging and sometimes moving us. Set in coastal New England in 1965, it is about two misfit thirteen-year-olds who fall in love (each, it seems, intuiting the other's "misfittedness") and decide to run away together and set up a home/camp where they can live isolated from the world of their parents and other adult authorities. Since the boy, Sam, has survival skills (he runs away from a scout camp) and the girl, Suzy, is as resourceful in her way (she brings the scissors and other things), they do pretty well. Suzy's parents are two lawyers (Bill Murray and Frances McDormand) who seem as indifferent to each other as they are to their children, and their marital conversation is mainly about the cases they're working on. The fact that the mother communicates with her children via bullhorn is obviously both funny and pointed. Sam is an orphan in foster care, and Edward Norton is the well-meaning scoutmaster of Sam's troop. These three adults and the local sheriff (Bruce Willis) are the ones who have to deal with the fact that the young people have run off.

All of that seems ordinary enough, but Anderson frames the story in interesting ways, both visually and dramaturgically. The adult world of the scout camp and Suzy's home is presented in terms of a high degree of linear organization: rooms are boxy and behaviour is regimented to a cartoonish extent, and the regimentation of the scout troop is very clear, and the impression that the viewer gets is of two young people trying to get away from life in a cartoon and escape into something more authentic. The parents and scoutmaster are emotionally incompetent to a comic degree, and the only adult who seems to have an inkling of the kind of freer life the young people want is the sheriff, who in a climactic scene faces down Social Services. Tilda Swindon literally calls herself "Social Services" and that tells us all we need to know about the "flattening" of most of the adult figures in the movie. Swindon is marvelous in the role, and Bruce Willis as her antagonist gives a performance of great charm. Bill Murray here has a role that fits well with his usual deadpan affectless schtick, but he remains, for me at least, a very limited actor. In the course of the movie most of the adults unfreeze to some extent. McDormand, who is presented as being drawn to the sheriff, has a touching scene with her daughter at the end.

Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward are Sam and Suzy. Neither actually says "There must be more to life than this" as they view the adult world, but the seriousness with which they take both their escape (very carefully planned) and their affection is both funny and endearing. They are trying to act as the kind of adults that they want to be -- not the kinds of adults who have shaped their lives thus far. The deadpan seriousness with which they take all this is funny -- they even go through a form of marriage and unembarassedly acknowledge their sexual feelings, which seem to them to have nothing to do with their love, which has more to do with their mutual recognition as misfits. The young actors pull off Anderson's conceptions of their characters just about perfectly. One way of understanding them, I think, is to say that they want a narrative, and it's no accident that Suzy takes half-a-dozen storybooks along on the escape, and we see her read aloud from them on several occasions. This perhaps clues us to the idea that adult life in the movie has stopped -- it has no ongoing story, at least as far as the young people can perceive, and no story means no future, so they decide to create their own. Maybe with the onset of adolescence we all do this -- adolescent "rebellion" is a bit of a cliche, but here Anderson manages to find a fresh way of representing it. Maybe too the allusions to Britten's children's opera "Noyes Flood" (based on a medieval drama about Noah) are deployed to suggest this: the flood (looked at in one way) is a chance for a new start, and it is seeing Suzy dressed for the part of a raven in a local performance of the opera that wins Sam's heart, so to speak. The movie ends after its own flood (a hurricane), and if Bob Balaban, the narrator who frames the whole story, is to be believed, it ushers in a sense of renewal that extends even to the crops in subsequent years. With that suggestion, Anderson reminds us of the apparent natural magic of renewal, not only in the natural cycle but in the revelations that can follow crises in narratives. (To put it like that sounds heavy-handed, but the movie itself avoids the portentousness that thematic analysis is prone to fall into!)

I'll avoid spoilers, and say nothing about the fact that there are really two escapes, the details of the storm, the scout troop's pursuit of the runaways, or the sheriff's defense of Sam. It's a comic movie, finally, and it clocks in at just about 90 minutes, so it doesn't drag. The degree of stylization with which the adult world is presented keeps us at the distance required to appreciate both the pains of growing up, the dangers of having grown up, and the need to keep open the possibility of change and (if we're lucky) growth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
V. Anfilogoff (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this to watch with my grandchildren (10 and 12 years old) during their half term holidays. We all loved it and it kept our attention all the way through. A lovely and engrossing film which I would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comedy? Quirky and offbeat certainly., 13 Feb. 2014
By 
Ben Bottle (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
To be honest, I really did not know what to make of this film after the first watching.
I enjoyed it, but didn't find it that funny!!!!
The performances from the leads - Willis, Norton, Swinton and Murray are rather sublime but it's the strangely enigmatic acting from the 'young newbies' Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward that steal the show as two pubescent children taking comfort and solace in each others company as they escape the strangeness of their lives. Pursued by their respective so-called "responsible adults", (that's the funny bit, I suppose?), they desperately try to find consolation in an effort to make some sense out of their muddled lives.
I had to watch it three times before I could come to a conclusion - it is a good film; in my opinion a very thought provoking one.
Perhaps I took it too seriously? However, I found it hard not too!
Good film - not what I expected, but I think I got much more out of it because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonrise Kingdom, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film and typical of Wes Anderson's usual style and humour so if you like his movies, you wont be disappointed! There's a great adult cast who hold the whole thing together but the child actors do a great job in the two lead roles too. The story is relatively simple, but if you're looking for a good laugh and some odd humour then you'll enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Comedy, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely film, suitable for any age, with the two principals acting without affectation, just nice kids. The supporting cast was seiously funny. I enjoyed this nfilm for its innocence and convicyion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
J. L. Williams "r2oley" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only came upon this film by chance and wow what a surprise it was breathtaking. From opening credits to end credits we sat amazed by the stunning visual feast and the story was pretty cool too. I have since shared this film with a number of people who have all had the same reaction it's awesome see it people and wonder at why the crap that makes money in the big screens s nowhere near as good as this lost gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Edge of Myth: Natty., 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. G. Morgan "wes" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
No-one has better exemplified the old journalists' dictum "Simplify, then Exaggerate" than this film's auteur, in performing an old trick: imagining childhood then rendering it in adult categories. It is the essence of his puckish irresponsibility and makes of plot nothing more than whim. This is his métier and this film has the trademark Anderson features, boy and girl leads, a wilfully whimsical set of characters and many fine actors. While appearing to be about things like One's First Kiss, while in the 'Khaki Scouts (like 4H but just like our Boy Scouts) an awfully big adventure (including a sylvan romp like the 'Au Revoir Les Enfants' wood scene, oddly) with sets that look like models, a meandering, not-quite-serious story. I think he is in a film dialogue with Tim Burton, meeting confection with character, or caricature and relationships and whimsy . It's a fable with young teens among bumbling adults, set to English music: he is an aficiano, here it is 'Noye's Fludde' and 'A Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra'). These two charming actors, each playing an oddball [clearly a counterpoint of and implied rebuke fabled 12 year old blockbusters are aimed at] meet up as she leaves her unhappy home of two distant, bickering lawyers, he is rejected by his adoptive family with peremptory enthusiasm and is wanted by the Care Service run by a blue-clad Tilda Swinton very much in Jadis mode. There are set pieces that nod to Fennimore Cooper's Leatherstocking novels - references to Native Americans aplenty - as the island is explored, sometimes as if for the first time; there's a flood; there are the usual odd visual jokes: early we see a table-tennis game, but through a wall opening ensuring we see balls and some arm but no rest-of-player. You can't say it's laugh-outloud funny,unlike 'Tenenbaums', but it is lovely to see such a determinedly uncommercial romance or quasi parody of same, boasting the usual (Bill Murray, Jason Schwarzmann) and newies (Frances MacDormand, Edward Norton, Harvey Keitel, Tilda Swinton, Bruce Willis ) keen to perpetuate the version of arcadia as seen by Wes Anderson, either the most innocent or the most cynical you will see this year. Well it's both; a calculated innocence, his own precious kitsch and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'M KEEPING THE NICKLES, 23 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The Indy style movie has become so popular, major studios have copied it. This film has a well written script, effective sound track, excellent acting, background distractions, and of course quirky memorable characters. The film might may be best classified as a light drama, leaning toward comedy.

In this 1965 tale two misfit 12 year kids conspire to run off together. Sam (Jared Gilman) is a teased orphan scout. Suzy (Kara Hayward) is the daughter of two lawyers. They live on a New England island. A search party for the two missing youths is lead by "sad dumb policeman" Captain Sharp (Bruce Willis). Captain Sharp is having an affair with the mother of Suzy (Frances McDormand). Bill Murray plays the rather straight husband.

There is a scene where the two youths get close to each that made me uncomfortable for a moment. Fortunately the scene didn't last long and the film returned to its quirky self, with bits of dark comedy. While it is PG-13, I wouldn't want my 13 year old to watch it. It might give them ideas.

This is Kara Haywood's first full length film. I see a great career for her.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Kara Haywood in bra/undies. Some groping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely adored it, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great cast..beautifully shot. Touching , clever ,homorous..what's not to like? Really good acting from the children and its the first film (sorry to announce)where I have actually warmed to ed norton. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literally the best thing ever, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been waiting and waiting with anticipation for this to come out on DVD after seeing it at the cinema three times. I can honestly say, hands down, it is Wes Anderson's best film to date. The cinematography is an absolute visual feast that leaves me arranging things in nice straight lines for hours after watching the film, plus these are most talented and loveable child actors I've ever seen (in fact the adult cast is also equally as exciting) and the story has me laughing and crying throughout every time. I just cannot express enough love for this film... and you can see the love that went into making it. It's just artistically awe inspiring and gets the perfect balance of blockbuster and art house influence... makes me want to be a child again. JUST WATCH IT IT'S AMAZING PLEASE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonrise Kingdom [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
Moonrise Kingdom [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] by Wes Anderson (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews