Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars innocence and experience
Thanks to two appealing juvenile leads, Wes Anderson's "Moonrise Kingdom" succeeds in engaging and sometimes moving us. Set in coastal New England in 1965, it is about two misfit thirteen-year-olds who fall in love (each, it seems, intuiting the other's "misfittedness") and decide to run away together and set up a home/camp where they can live isolated from the world of...
Published 12 months ago by Stanley Crowe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but slight
This film is beautiful to look at, the child leads are excellent - especially the girl, but ultimately I wondered what was the point of this charming but rather slight film. Two disfunctional kids escape the rigours of family/bullying by peers and find demure but true love together. It's engaging but bordered on being twee so I nearly switched it off. Okay as a time...
Published 8 months ago by Inkslinger


‹ Previous | 112 13 1418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
I. Langbridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
great cast, good story well acted, homely tale for young love. really nice film dealing with off the wall sterotypes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Choose something else, 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom (DVD)
Utterly terrible. I can't believe that such great actors put their names to this. It is very very rare that I won't watch a film the whole way through but I just couldn't bring myself to finish it. The story was weak and the cinematography poor at best. Definitely one to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ??, 12 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Weird, takes more than one watch to get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DVD, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
GREAT DVD. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED.
G. L. BOYLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Brilliant film - Wes Anderson at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 50/50, 18 Mar. 2015
By 
W. C. Chelton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
not my cup of tea but the kids liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, romantic, and uniquely odd film, 16 July 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With Wes Anderson, you either buy into his odd, very idiosyncratic and distinctive style, with it's touches of
twisted, surreal fairy-tale tone, and performances that are both restrained on yet not at all naturalistic -
or you don't. For me, I find his style almost always endearing, and both very funny and very touching (The
Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou was the one time it didn't really work for me).

As always the performances here are remarkable from Bruce Willis, Edward Norton, Bill Murray (the quintessential
Wes Anderson actor), Francis McDormand and Tilda Swinton as the adults, to two luminous and unique
performances by the film's pre-adolescent lovers Kara Haywood and Jared Gilman.

While imposing a seemingly astringent style, all right angles (almost every cut within a scene is at 90 degrees or
180 degrees to the shot before it), and carefully composed tableaux, this film captures the wonderful, surreal
weirdness of first love (or at least one's childhood fantasy of first love) with a moving and hilarious honesty.

Somehow, while the story of Sam and Suzy's attempt to escape from the insane adult world that surrounds them
has little to do with the realities of day to day life as we know it, it has everything to do with the realities of the
budding heart.

I can't remember when a film so reminded me of my own first fantasies of love and (tasteful but honest) sexuality.
I love when a film makes a tear fall from my eye at the same time I'm laughing, and that's the rare trick Anderson
has accomplished here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Love this film, love Wes Anderson. Such a good line up of actors, I just love the style of film. I thoroughly recommend this film and all Wes Anderson masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
wow what a wonder x great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! What more can I say, 18 Sept. 2014
Brilliant! What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012]
Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] by Wes Anderson (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews