Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonrise Kingdom
This is a great film and typical of Wes Anderson's usual style and humour so if you like his movies, you wont be disappointed! There's a great adult cast who hold the whole thing together but the child actors do a great job in the two lead roles too. The story is relatively simple, but if you're looking for a good laugh and some odd humour then you'll enjoy this!
Published 5 months ago by Miss E. Chappell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice feel good movie
Amusing, touching and heart warming at times; makes you think about relationships and loyalty. A nice film to watch with the family.
Published 21 months ago by Janet E. Dennison


‹ Previous | 19 10 1115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Moonrise Kingdom, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Super film for all the family. Have bought another one to send to my family in Holland for Christmas viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A charming and delightful movie, with no cuteness or sentimentality, 30 Nov 2012
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
If Wes Anderson weren't as talented and original a writer-director as he is, many of his movies would die of eccentric cuteness, all wrapped in the comfortable cocoons spun by his friends for him. Some of his movies I like somewhat, but in many of these cases it's because of the actors. After watching Moonrise Kingdom, I'm inclined to watch again Rushmore and The Royal Tenenbaums and see if I were wrong.

Moonrise Kingdom is an original, charming delight, not quite a pre-teen fairytale, not quite a fable for adults, but something that combines effortlessly reminiscences of what we might wish our reminiscences could have been with innocent delight, including the innocent delight of pre-teen love.

The setting is an idyllic and stylized New England island. The adults, including parents, are eccentric and nice. The two leads, played by 13-year-old Jared Gilman and 14-year-old Kara Hayward, decide to strike out on their own together. He is an orphan, serious, direct, and capable. He brings camping equipment. She is rebellious, misunderstood and thinks. She brings books, her cat and a record player. Together, while the adults search, they hike, camp, cook fish and talk about things. He listens while she reads from her books. They sort of fall in love.

The movie is upbeat and thoroughly enjoyable. It's also eccentric and original. The one moment of sexual happening is so honest and dealt with so quickly and directly that only a dried grape could keep from smiling. All the adult actors give fine, deadpan performances. Some of them include Bill Murray, Frances McDormand, Bruce Wills, Edward Norton and Tilda Swinton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb feel good family film, 23 Nov 2012
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Loved this. It is perfect for people of all ages (well, over about 8, I guess) and leaves you grinning from ear to ear. This has become my second favourite English language film of the year, closely beaten by Midnight in Paris and followedSunshine Soup: Nourishing the Global Soul by Exotic Marigold Hotel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wes Anderson talks to the inner child in us. Most of his movies makes you wonder, how good would be to live like the main characters of the film. This particular work is beautifully photographed. Just check the cast members, if all those people don't persuade you to watch this movie, I'm sure I can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a bit to slow to start with but really funny. All the kid actors were great so yeah very good 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Choose something else, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom (DVD)
Utterly terrible. I can't believe that such great actors put their names to this. It is very very rare that I won't watch a film the whole way through but I just couldn't bring myself to finish it. The story was weak and the cinematography poor at best. Definitely one to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply brilliant film, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I tip my hat off to this director. This is easily one of my favourite of his entire filmography and definitely one of my favourite films of 2012. Charming and funny with the familiar dark tone that I believe plays a huge part in what makes Wes Anderson's films so great. If you're a fan of any of his previous works then I have no doubt you'll enjoy this. Its definitely an acquired taste, but I'd whole-heartedly define it as a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, from beginning to end, 18 Sep 2014
Wonderful film, from beginning to end, great acting, magical production, enchanting soundtrack, fantastic story and a joy to watch. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonrise Kingdom, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Fabulous film, typically Wes Anderson in it's oddball characters and deadpan delivery, but unlike some of his previous efforts *cough* Life Aquatic for example, it doesn't suffer for it. Ed Norton is particularly brilliant as the worlds most dedicated scout leader, and even the two child leads are pretty flawless actors. The sets are beautiful and nostalgic, and the music, notably the use of The Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra, fits perfectly. A definite watch-twicer, or watch-thricer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and off the wall like all Wes Anderson films, 18 Sep 2014
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Very funny and off the wall like all Wes Anderson films. I rate this as his 3rd best after Grand Budapest Hotel and Royal Tenenbaums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 1115 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012]
Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] by Wes Anderson (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews