Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonrise Kingdom
This is a great film and typical of Wes Anderson's usual style and humour so if you like his movies, you wont be disappointed! There's a great adult cast who hold the whole thing together but the child actors do a great job in the two lead roles too. The story is relatively simple, but if you're looking for a good laugh and some odd humour then you'll enjoy this!
Published 8 months ago by Miss E. Chappell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice feel good movie
Amusing, touching and heart warming at times; makes you think about relationships and loyalty. A nice film to watch with the family.
Published 23 months ago by Janet E. Dennison


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonrise Kingdom, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is a great film and typical of Wes Anderson's usual style and humour so if you like his movies, you wont be disappointed! There's a great adult cast who hold the whole thing together but the child actors do a great job in the two lead roles too. The story is relatively simple, but if you're looking for a good laugh and some odd humour then you'll enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 17 Feb 2013
By 
J. L. Williams "r2oley" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I only came upon this film by chance and wow what a surprise it was breathtaking. From opening credits to end credits we sat amazed by the stunning visual feast and the story was pretty cool too. I have since shared this film with a number of people who have all had the same reaction it's awesome see it people and wonder at why the crap that makes money in the big screens s nowhere near as good as this lost gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
V. Anfilogoff (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Bought this to watch with my grandchildren (10 and 12 years old) during their half term holidays. We all loved it and it kept our attention all the way through. A lovely and engrossing film which I would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'M KEEPING THE NICKLES., 23 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The Indy style movie has become so popular, major studios have copied it. This film has a well written script, effective sound track, excellent acting, background distractions, and of course quirky memorable characters. The film might may be best classified as a light drama, leaning toward comedy.

In this 1965 tale two misfit 12 year kids conspire to run off together. Sam (Jared Gilman) is a teased orphan scout. Suzy (Kara Hayward) is the daughter of two lawyers. They live on a New England island. A search party for the two missing youths is lead by "sad dumb policeman" Captain Sharp (Bruce Willis). Captain Sharp is having an affair with the mother of Suzy (Frances McDormand). Bill Murray plays the rather straight husband.

There is a scene where the two youths get close to each that made me uncomfortable for a moment. Fortunately the scene didn't last long and the film returned to its quirky self, with bits of dark comedy. While it is PG-13, I wouldn't want my 13 year old to watch it. It might give them ideas.

This is Kara Haywood's first full length film. I see a great career for her.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Kara Haywood in bra/undies. Some groping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely adored it, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Great cast..beautifully shot. Touching , clever ,homorous..what's not to like? Really good acting from the children and its the first film (sorry to announce)where I have actually warmed to ed norton. Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle Comedy, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A lovely film, suitable for any age, with the two principals acting without affectation, just nice kids. The supporting cast was seiously funny. I enjoyed this nfilm for its innocence and convicyion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literally the best thing ever, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I had been waiting and waiting with anticipation for this to come out on DVD after seeing it at the cinema three times. I can honestly say, hands down, it is Wes Anderson's best film to date. The cinematography is an absolute visual feast that leaves me arranging things in nice straight lines for hours after watching the film, plus these are most talented and loveable child actors I've ever seen (in fact the adult cast is also equally as exciting) and the story has me laughing and crying throughout every time. I just cannot express enough love for this film... and you can see the love that went into making it. It's just artistically awe inspiring and gets the perfect balance of blockbuster and art house influence... makes me want to be a child again. JUST WATCH IT IT'S AMAZING PLEASE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wes-Anderson-Tastic, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Like all Wes Anderson's films, this film is beautiful, has an awesome soundtrack, and improves with everytime you re-watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet beautiful film, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Loved this film. every scene is like a work of art visually it is just beautiful. It was sweet, funny and touching too. It will be a film I will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 7 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This was a magical film for children and adults. It takes a little magical thinking to transplant yourself back to adolescence. This story all begins on an island, and no one else seems to live there but the people involved.

Suzy, played by Kara Howard lives with her family on this island. She seems to be the 'difficult' one in the family. On the same island is a Boy Scout camp, where Sam, played by Jared Gilman, an orphan, also seems to be the odd man out. No one seems to like him, and strangely he and Suzy met last summer and have planned a rendezvous to run away together. This sets the wheels in motion for an adolescence hunt by some very strange people. Bill Murray plays Suzy's father, and Frances McDormand plays her mother. Any film with McDormand amd Murray is sure to be a great one. We also have Bruce Willis playing the Island Policeman, Scoutman Ward payed by Ed Norton, and SocialServices played by Tilda Swinton. All these characters lead to an often time humorous film that deals with the turmoil of adolescence, the goodness of scouting, and the trials and tribulations of life.

This film is all played with straight faces, none for laughs, and the children are as superb as the adults. Wes Anderson has put together a film for us all, shining examples of life as we remember it.

Recommended. prisrob 04-07-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012]
Moonrise Kingdom [DVD] [2012] by Wes Anderson (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews