Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
I'm 43, so trying to get down with the youth, OMG this record is, like amazing.....

Seen them live and both albums are outstanding, with the MTV version setting a new level. Now, if you don't like them, don't buy it cause it is a raw version of F+TM, without any poptarts added, just a voice and a few "unplugged" stringy things.

This has set a new...
Published on 11 April 2012 by litebulbs

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brought as a gift
I brought it as a gift for my sister and she thought it was ok, arrived swiftly and in a great condition.
Published 6 months ago by Scott H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 11 April 2012
I'm 43, so trying to get down with the youth, OMG this record is, like amazing.....

Seen them live and both albums are outstanding, with the MTV version setting a new level. Now, if you don't like them, don't buy it cause it is a raw version of F+TM, without any poptarts added, just a voice and a few "unplugged" stringy things.

This has set a new level; enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Florence Stripped, 9 April 2012
By 
There - that got your attention!

There are many out there who think that Florence only has one voice setting, this is the perfect response. Stripped of many of the layers of instrumentation, Florence's voice displays a subtlety which is not always apparent on the two studio albums, and as a result many of the songs display a different character to the original versions.

My personal favourite tracks on this album are 'No Light, No Light', and a beautiful cover version of the Otis Redding classic 'Try A Little Tenderness'. For me it's also worth the extra to buy the CD/DVD version, the cover of 'Jackson' with Josh Homme works much better when you are actually watching the performance rather than just listening.

This is an excellent album, showing a different side to Florence's voice. Dare I say it, more than a few who don't like the studio albums may be tempted to check this one out. To anyone in this category I would unequivocally say do it - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live. Emotional. Excellent., 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having had the pleasure to see Florence live in person during the recent Ceremonials Tour, I was hardly surprised that this album knocked everything out of the park. Florence has great range here and shows it especially in "Try A Little Tenderness". The band and background singers are sublime, complimenting Florence's style effortlessly. Special mention goes to the acoustic guitarist who really shines throughout the set.

Once again Florence proves she performs just as well in duets as she does solo. "Jackson" with her and Josh Homme is a delight to listen to but even better when watched. The DVD is worth it just for that song alone, not to mention the brilliant set design and actually seeing Florence perform with such grace and emotion.

In conclusion, this album is nothing less than fantastic. It's a must have for die-hard fans and newcomers alike. Also features possibly the best renditions of "Never Let Me Go" and "What The Water Gave Me" I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Beautiful Album - A Must Have!!!!, 18 April 2012
By 
I must say that i was completely surprised by this Album, I always thought the MTV Unplugged series was for Artists that
are living legends like Eric Clapton, Rod Stewart,Paul McCartney etc.
Florence and The Machine make a refreshing change to the Genre and perform a memorable and beautiful set and the Vocals and Production are absolutely Brilliant.
I would go as far as to say that i think this is the Best Unplugged Album of the Lot.
Absolutely Brilliant from Start to Finish, i do not think there is one duff track on the whole Album.
An Absolutely Beautiful Album - A Must Have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magical, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive watched the dvd several times now and my reaction is still the same......WOW! Florence shows what a wonderfull and emotive voice she has bringing to life some wonderfull tracks in this MTV performance.The set looks amazing and is in near HD quality on my tv and played through a 5.1 sound system you can hear every musical instrument,raw and unplugged.Her voice.... wow you just have to turn the volume up to appreciate it (i apologise to my neighbours right now! hehe)

As has been mentioned im puzzled by the omission of Cosmic Love on the dvd,its one of my favourite songs and although its on the cd i still would have preferred to see the performance.Overall though this is a truly magical album that i will treasure for a long time....and my 5.1 system has never had it so good. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word, 13 April 2012
Amazing .... but amazon makes me use twenty words lol ..... If you love Florence then you are defiantly going to love this Album. She has got the most amazing voice and I love her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not full blast, 29 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In contrast to her other studio albums, this one is almost melancholy, but wow, does the power of her voice really shine through.

The studio albums are ones for turning up the volume, particularly when "the wife" is out, whereas this one is far more laid back and suited to a relaxing Sunday afternoon.

It all depends on whether you like the unplugged style of presentation - if you do, and you like Florence, then buy this. If either of these isn't true, stick with the studio albums.

It all comes down to personal taste and I can't dictate that for you.

Make up your mind - hopefully this review and others will give you food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Florenece and the NAhcine Unplugged, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EXCELLENT..this is a voice that astounds!!! Can' stop playing it...will be ordering some of their CD's! Great band, everyone should check them out asap,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLORENCES LAMP SHINES BRIGHT!!!!!!, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Florence ia a real taalent with one hell of a voice,and this excellentpackage shows it off well.
"Only for the night"is absolutely stunning,followed by a storming version of "Drumming song" nextup is "Cosmic Love" which is not on the DVD,avery atmospheric upbeat tune continues the quality shown so far.
"Breaking down"follows with its steel drums and great piano in the backing,very sad lyrics though.
"Never let me go"follows,again a slow building cauldron of immense passion.
"Try a little tenderness" is just a majestically ,magnificently brooding version of the Otis Redding song,stunning.
"No light no light" again starts slowly,beautiful harp playing adds to this,..
"Jackson" is the old Nancy Sinatra/LEE hazelwood song sung with Josh Homme and is the weakest track on the album.
"what the water gave me"re minds me of 80's folk rock band "All about eve" and is possibly the most "Unplugged" song on the album.
"Dog days are over"is next,with its slighly supertamp piano,thundering drums and glorious gospel singing and vocal gymnastics,in time clapping as well!!!
The whole album i s bought to an by an amazing version of "Shake it out"
This is an unplugged album with A gospel choir and orchestra and too many musicians to mention individually,but this is a fine achievement indeed!!!
The packaging is not up to the standard of the "Ceremonials" special edition but then few cds are.

CD.....47,50
DVD....41.50

FLORENCE WELCH.....VOCALS
A GOSPEL CHOIR
AN ORCHESTRA

RELEASED IN 2012

ISLAND RECORDS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE Dvd / Cd combo !!, 1 July 2014
Glorious music....powerful and emotional. ALL the tracks are a hit IMO.
What a stunning performance by Florence and the band. Kanye West in front row utterly impressed!
CD audio quality very good....i'd give it a 4 star.
Dvd video quality is excellent....5 *. Superb detail on my 50" LED up-sampled to 1080p...excellent colors (not pushed).
Sound quality on dvd from an audiophile pov is good but falls short of the full potential of the venue (very good hall acoustics) and dvd audio format. Given the superior format the dvd should've sounded A LOT better than the cd but it only gives a bit more air on the instruments and better bass control. I have concert dvds from the 90's that leap over this 1 in terms of audio quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MTV Unplugged
MTV Unplugged by Florence + The Machine (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews