Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly decent, and COULD have been a big hit...
There are a lot of "found footage" themed films around right now, and as a fan of this style I should be in my element. Unfortunately many of these are very disappointing and seem to be made in this way because it is cheap and easy to make movie based on video camera footage rather than because they have a story that would make the most of this approach. Tape 407 is...
Published 20 months ago by C. Fletcher

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two stars for effort
I found some of the acting quite convincing, but after 90 minutes of screeching from them, along with the motion sickness from camera shake and it was a blessed relief when the end credits rolled.

Oh, and the final few seconds with the reveal of the monster: totally unnecessary. Huge directorial error.

Once again the potential was there for a good...
Published 12 months ago by Rob C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Could be worse...but not much, 14 May 2014
By 
grrr-woof-hoot (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear, another low-budget shakycam horror where the victims somehow manage to keep on filming despite the continual threat of imminent death.

I quite enjoy watching entertaining-but-not-very-good horror films, but for most of its running time this one dipped some way below what I would call entertainment (unless you enjoy laughing at bad films).

I'd give it one and a half stars if I could. There's a reasonable idea for a horror movie here - the survivors of a plane crash await rescue, but the place they have landed is somewhere they really don't want to be spending the night...

It just needed a better script, better acting, a better plot, and better camerawork. The lazy found-footage idea means the film is awful to look at, very literally like the home movie it purports to be. The actual plane crash is handled quite well considering the budget, but the dialogue and behaviour of the survivors in the aftermath is ludicrous. Perhaps the script was lost in the plane crash?

A typical scene is a group of irritating characters yelling at each other for quite a long time until you start to get a headache. Things get a bit better as the number of survivors dwindles and the film becomes a more traditional lets-get-the-hell-out-of-here battle for survival, but the scares or tension are not handled with any skill and its just a dull slog to the end.

Just about watchable as a silly genre horror, but much of it is so irritating I wouldn't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars crap, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
load of rubbish
crap film from start till finish
made u feel sick with the movement of the camera
crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tape 407 dvd, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Mazzybabe (Blackpool, Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
This was definitely a story with a difference, with a totally unexpected ending. Can't say I loved it, but it's worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE FILM DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
Shame I had to give 1 star, I would have given minus 10, the most boring film I have
seen in a long time, some girl on a plane with a camcorder taking a film which was jumping all over the place, speaking to everyone that comes on , if that wasn't bad enough, then The plane crash lands due to the bad weather this girl is still using the cam corder and is still juming all over the place, well after that I could not be bored any more, and turned it off

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON SUCH A TERRIBLE FILM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
I give this a three, because I can't really say it's badly made at all. Badly conceived maybe, but not badly made.

What we have here is yet another Blair Witch/Cloverfield first person "found tape" movie that tells the tale of the survivors of a plane crash. It seems no-one wants to save them - now why would that be? Maybe something to do with the dinosaur eating them one by one?!?

Fear not, this isn't a spoiler, they're quite open about it. So what they're trying for here is suspense, tension, and terror. Hampered as this is by cliche, that was never really going to come off for me. None of the characters move beyond the cartoon stage, and the conceit of the found tape is thoroughly worn out at this point.

I'm not sure why people are still making these types of movies. It's surely time to give them a rest. But if you're a "found tape" fanatical collector, and Cloverfield had too much budget for your tastes, I guess this will do. For me, a generous three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't rent it save your credit, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: Tape 407 (DVD)
Gave me one big headache wish they got killed of sooner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious laughable Shockumentary, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the UK premier of this movie at Fright Fest in Glasgow. I was looking forward this that is until I watched it. It is present in documentary style. In the movie the lead characters voice is so high pitched it gave me a migraine. The characters are horrible and I was just itching for them to meet their just rewards.
In a nutshell they are on a plane. It crashes ... then something comes for them.
Really it is a great plot and if anyone else had handled it this could have been a classic. This is a really terrible horror movie.
Though if you watch it as a comedy you might want to bump it up to three stars....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great., 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty much it goes, plane crash 20 or so minutes in. Argue amongst each other for a while. Someone dies. Find a house, hide. Leave house. Find another house, hide. Leave house, more people die. Find a car, people die. Two people left, both get shot by some dude who looks like he works for the government. Government dude gets eaten by the best glimpse of a dinosaur you see in the whole film. Mind you, it's still just a glimpse. I bought this looking for a crappy film to watch on a Friday night with my girlfriend and that's exactly what I got.
Two stars.
Good: Little bit of blood. A glimpse of a Dino. Well made for a low budget film.
Bad: Acting in most cases. Rubbish effects. Silly when it comes to survival, eg, they hide trying to stay away from Dino's but leave to check out a car. Then stand and talk for a few minutes. What? There are Dino's running around people.
Save your money. This movie could have been amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
For even a found footage movie, this is a classisc example of great idea, terrible execution with a budget that can't handle it's own concept and also thinks that improvisation consists of the actors always shouting over each other to get the most lines. It's dinsoaurs okay, and they suck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They should have left it as Area 407, 26 Jun 2012
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tape 407 [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly whoever decided to re-name this Tape 407 hasn't done it any favours as it seems to be the 407th movie in the "lost recordings" genre that, thanks to The Blair Witch project, everyone with a hand held camera thinks they can have a go at.
It's an OK low budget creature on the loose movie, it starts off slowly as we meet the main cast travelling by plane from New York to Los Angeles for New Year. Two teens, one annoying one with THE camcorder, a photographer they befriend, the omnipresent angry passenger, the stewardess and a woman that turns out to be an Air Marshall and some others.
Briefly the plane crashes and unfortunately lands in a US Government testing area, the survivors gather round the wreckage with the angry man getting angrier when the stewardess goes to the plane and .....
After that it's just derivatory nonsense as a small group head off into the darkness being hunted by "something" (the cover of the US version named Area 407 gives it away) and slowly the numbers decrease.
It combines lost film, Government conspiracy, hinted at military experiments and big beasts but despite all that it somehow still manages to be very disappointing.
Maybe an ordinary film with survivors being hunted would have been far better, the simple thought of not another lost tape movie automatically makes me think the worst, and there have been very few exceptions.
The ending is supposed to be a shocker, it's not. As soon as there is a slight glimmer of hope you know how it will end and as for the last few seconds, well "that" beastie looks reasonable enough. There are too many major plot holes for it to be taken seriously.
It is total nonsense of course but enjoyable enough for one viewing, if it's raining and you've nothing else to do, but I cannot see any reason why a repeat viewing would be necessary except for a laugh.
If you like "lost recording" movies then give it a go, otherwise wait till it comes out on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tape 407 [DVD]
Tape 407 [DVD] by Dale Fabrigar (DVD - 2012)
2.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews