Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full list of extras
I'm not going to do a traditional review for this set: it looks great, it sounds great, it's dirt-cheap, and that's pretty much all you need to know. Other reviews will go into more detail about these things.

What I AM going to do here is clear up a bit of confustion regarding the special features and whatnot. While the backs of the individual Blu-ray cases...
Published on 11 July 2012 by A. C. Mccormick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My review
Enjoyed the films very much and an excellent price for the box set. Would recommend it to future film buffs.
Published 24 months ago by Nilo


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full list of extras, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not going to do a traditional review for this set: it looks great, it sounds great, it's dirt-cheap, and that's pretty much all you need to know. Other reviews will go into more detail about these things.

What I AM going to do here is clear up a bit of confustion regarding the special features and whatnot. While the backs of the individual Blu-ray cases seem to list all of the extras, they are NOT complete and do not mention several of the extras that are actually on the discs. The reviews on here listing the features are just taken from the backs of the boxes, so hopefully this will make everything clear. So, without further ado, here's the full list. (All special features are from the original 2-disc DVDs unless stated otherwise.)

SPIDER-MAN

Spider Sense Trivia Challenge (Blu-ray exclusive)
Spider-Man Cutting Room (Blu-ray exclusive)
Commentary by Filmmakers and Cast
Commentary by Visual Effects Designer and Crew
Commentary by Tobey Maguire and J.K. Simmons (previously only available on the Region 1 "Superbit" DVD release, making it the first time this commentary has been released in Europe)
Spider-Man: The Mythology of the 21st Century documentary
HBO Making of Spider-Man
"Spider-Mania" - an E! Entertainment Special
Director & Composer Profiles
Behind the Scenes of Spider-Man (7 featurettes previously only available on the 3-disc Deluxe Edition DVD from 2004)
Webisodes (previously only available via multi-angle branching on the original DVD; they are presented here as separate features)
Screen Tests
Gags & Outtakes
Music Videos
TV Spots
Original Theatrical Trailer

SPIDER-MAN 2 / SPIDER-MAN 2.1 (original availability of extras in parenthesis)

Commentary by Cast & Crew (2)
Technical Commentary (2)
Commentary by Laura Ziskin & Alvin Sargent (2.1)
Blooper Reels (2)
Hero in Crisis featurette (2)
Ock-Umentary - 8 Arms to Hold You featurette (2)
Making the Amazing - A 12 Part Documentary (2)
VFX Breakdowns (2.1)

SPIDER-MAN 3

Commentary with Director & Cast
Filmmakers' Commentary
Bloopers
Photo Galleries
Music Video "Signal Fire" by Snow Patrol
Trailers

SO WHAT'S MISSING?

Even though this set contains more extras than at first glance, it still doesn't contain everything from the DVDs, so you may want to hang on to those if you already have them.

SPIDER-MAN

The first film by far fares the best in terms of retention of extras, and both of the features it loses are pretty disposeable:

"Weaving the Web" Trivia Track
Peter Parker's Darkroom: Photo Gallery

SPIDER-MAN 2 / SPIDER-MAN 2.1

Spider-Man 2.1 takes a big hit in the extras department, with most of its features MIA, plus a few strange omissions from the original Spider-Man 2 release:

Interwoven: The Women of Spider-Man featurette (2) [considering the other two featurettes from SM2 were included, this is a particularly glaring omission]
Spidey Sense 2 Trivia Track (2 and 2.1)
Webisodes (2)
"Enter the Web" multi-angle feature (2)
Theatrical Trailer (2)
Photo Gallery (2)
Inside 2.1 documentary (2.1)
With Great Effort Comes Great Recognition featurette (2.1)
Villains of Spider-Man 3 Featurette (2.1)
Multi-Angle Score (2.1)
Spider-Man 3 Sneak Peek featurette (2.1)

SPIDER-MAN 3

The biggest loss from the DVDs and the previous Blu-ray trilogy set from 2007 is the bonus disc of Spider-Man 3, which contains the majority of that film's extras, which leaves the one in this set pretty sparse in the bonuses department (though this is sort-of made up for by the inclusion of extras on the other 2 films unlike the 2007 trilogy). I'm not going to list all of the features that aren't on here, since I'd just be listing the contents of the second disc; suffice to say it's a lot. The first disc even says "Feature Disc" when you boot it up, and the disc itself reads "Feature Film"; obviously Disc 1 of the 2-disc set has just been stuck in a new case without its other half.

However, if you're desperate to have all of the special features on Blu-ray, you can now get the original release of SM3 for around 2 quid used, so it's really not a big deal. You can even physically place the "hinge" from the old case in the new one so that your shiny new Spider-Man 3 Blu-ray is a complete 2-disc set once again and give the spare movie disc/case to a friend, like I did.

IN THE END...

I was tempted to knock a star off of this review for the pointless exclusion of the Spider-Man 3 bonus disc, but for this price, and the host of new-to-Blu extras for the first two films, it's hard to complain. If you're an extras nut then it'll literally cost you pennies to get that disc separately if you so desire.

Three great films, one great price, if you have a Blu-ray player and you like Spider-Man then this is a no-brainer. I hope you found this review helpful.

'Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..NICE STEELBOOK PACKAGE..", 12 Jun 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a bad package for the price as you get all 3 original spider-man movies in good HD picture form, not as awesome as the amazing spider-man reboot but still worth having for a bit of fun, I guess spider-man 2 still holds its ground as a solid comic-book movie, and sandman in part 3 is pretty badass, if you looking at upgrading these its certainly worth it, very cool steelbook, on the back it only lists a couple of features as they probably didn't have room to print them, lazy really as you do get much more, practically all the original features are here on all 3 discs so don't worry, and you get the extended cuts option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


192 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Specs, 15 Sep 2007
By 
Mark "Great Deals On Blu-Ray" (Chelyabinsk, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Coded for all regions (A, B and C)

Spider-Man
1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
English Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround
English Audio Description Track 5.1
Czech, Hungarian and Russian DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles: English, English HOH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Swedish, Turkish

Spider-Man 2 - Also includes Spider-Man 2.1 which features 8 minutes of additional footage.
1080P 2.40:1 Widescreen
English Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround
English Audio Description Track 2.0
Czech and Polish (VO) DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles: English, English HOH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Icelandic, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Turkish

2-Disc Special Edition release of Spider-Man 3 include...

Disc 1: Main Feature
1080P Widescreen
English PCM 5.1 (Uncompressed)
English Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround (Lossless)
English Audio Description Track
Czech, Hungarian, Russian and Polish DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles (Main Feature): English, English HOH, Dutch, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Estonian, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Swedish, Turkish
Subtitles (Extras): English and Dutch (including commentaries), Greek
Commentary with Director & Cast
Filmmakers Commentary
Blooper Reel
Photo Gallery: Sketches
Photo Gallery: Paintings
Photo Gallery: Sculptures
Photo Gallery: Special Effects
Photo Gallery: Director & Cast
Music Video: Snow Patrol - Signal Fire

Disc 2: Extra Features
Easter Egg: Scoring the Blooper Reel
Easter Egg 2: Grant Curtis ADR Session
Featurette: Grains of Sand - Building Sandman
Featurette: Re-imagining the Goblin
Featurette: Covered in Black - Creating Venom
Featurette: Hanging On... Gwen Stacy & the Collapsing Floor
Featurette: Fighting, Flying & Driving - The Stunts
Featurette: Tangled Web - The Love Triangles of Spider-Man 3
Featurette: Wall of Water: The Big Dump
Featurette: Inside the Editing Room
Featurette: The Science of Sound
Featurette: On Location New York - From Rooftops to Backstreets
Featurette: On Location Cleveland - The Chase on Euclid Avenue
TV Spots Around the World: Japan, Spain, Germany, Italy, Chile, Russia, Brazil, UK
Spider-Man 3 Trailers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars With great power comes great responsibility. At a great price comes 3 great movies., 6 Aug 2014
A great trilogy overall. The third is, in my opinion, the weakest (still a good movie though) due to there being too many underdeveloped villains and the transformation of Spiderman to the dark Spiderman (which I was most looking forward to) is done very poorly. Instead of Peter / Spidey turning dark and wrestling with his demons along the lines of Clark Kent / Superman in Superman 3 which could have been a great story arc, what do we get? Peter Parker just turning into a bit of an arrogant slimeball which is just uncomfortable to watch and not the least bit interesting. It does have some merits, effects are great and some of the action is well done. The villain Venom is very good but arrives with too little too late. Sandman is basically a good guy under extreme personal pressure and so I was more rooting for him more than wanting him to be defeated.
I believe Spiderman 2 is the strongest, with a great villain in Doctor Octopus played by the wonderful Alfred Molina who we feel for but want defeated at the same time. His character is probably the strongest of all the trilogy and the reboot come to that. The first movie is very good but the green goblin as the antagonist I'm on the fence with ( a bit too cartoonish?). Still very entertaining though.
At the selling price of around 5 - 10 quid you can not go wrong especially it being on blu ray! Ironically, the weakest of the three, Spidey 3 , gets the best hi-def transfer in both audio and video. All of them are a big step up from dvd.
So my advice is to go and get caught in this web of damn good entertainment. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2012 Release!!, 6 July 2012
This isn't a review of the movies as I'm pretty sure if your buying this box set then your probably a fan.

This is more to let you know what extra features are available on extra disc.

Spider-man:
Commentaries
Gags & Outtakes
Webisodes
Spider-man: The Mythology of the 21st Century Documentary
HBO Making of Spider-man featurette
Director and Composer profiles: Sam Raimi and Danny Elfman
Behind the scenes of Spider-man costume design
Screen test with Tobey Maguire

Spider-man 2
Theatrical & Directors Cuts of Movie
Commentaries
Blooper reels
Hero In Crisis - Featurette
Making the Amazing - A 12 part documentary
Ock-Umentary: Eight Arms to Hold You
VFX Breakdowns

Spider-man 3 (Not the 2-disc special edition)
Cast & Filmmaker Commentaries
Blooper Reels
Trailers
Gallery
Muisc Video

For the price you can't really complain about this set. The only missing piece is the 2nd features disc from the original release of Spiderman 3 blu ray.

I myself do like the extras and find it frustrating that websites don't do more to let us know exactly what we're purchasing.... I guess that's what we're for???

Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiderman trilogy quality review, 22 Sep 2011
I expected this 3 part spiderman collection to be a dvd to blu ray port but how wrong i was. The quality is awesome and well worth the cash. The brightness is amazing and although some parts can be a little dark at times its not enough to complain about. This makes me wonder why spiderman is going for a reboot movie for next year when the first 3 movies cgi still look top notch. Awesome product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth having to complete the Marvel movies set, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sure Tobey McGuire looks like a permanently emo Spidey and yes Andrew Garfield is much better but try to think back to when the movies were coming out. We DID love them and think that they were brilliant.
Don't compare the old and the new. Just pick this up because it was the best thing around when it came out :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it only if..., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are two things you should know when purchasing these movies. One is that they look great. The Blu Ray transfer looks very crisp and the sound is great. Secondly the disc box arts are simple, but charming. They fit very snug inside the giant slip cover. The only bad thing I have to say about this is that it is pretty light on special features. There are only 3 discs total. One for each film. So if you are one of those people who loves to see every minute of "the making of" then I would purchase the 7 disc set. its Worth it only if you want to watch the movies and nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My review, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Spider-Man Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the films very much and an excellent price for the box set. Would recommend it to future film buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiderman Trilogy, 10 Nov 2012
Excellent film package, worth every penny! Its a must have collection to add to the superheroes like Batman, avengers, iron man, hulk etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man Trilogy [DVD]
Spider-Man Trilogy [DVD] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2012)
£6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews