Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best R C toy flying machine ever so far...........
Got this for Christmas 2012 and this has been my best Christmas present ever, I did buy a extra battery "a must for anyone" as the battery that came with the drone only lasts 10 mins.

I have had a few odd experiences when flying indoors with the drone flying up to the celling and not responding to the control only stopping when I hit the land button. Not sure...
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Pob willis

versus
40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Parrot AR.Drone2 Quadcopter
I offer these comments with by 7 years experience of building and flying radio controlled helicopters.

The Drone is considered to be a toy...it is NOT a toy! I would not purchase it for anyone under 15 years old.

It is a fairly sophisticated piece of flying electronics and good fun, too. It is relatively delicate and should be handled carefully if...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Michael J. Gray


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best R C toy flying machine ever so far..........., 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
Got this for Christmas 2012 and this has been my best Christmas present ever, I did buy a extra battery "a must for anyone" as the battery that came with the drone only lasts 10 mins.

I have had a few odd experiences when flying indoors with the drone flying up to the celling and not responding to the control only stopping when I hit the land button. Not sure why this happens as I make sure the downward facing camera can see a target on the floor as it uses this to keep its location.

I have lost signal out side on one occasion but the drone just stayed still in the same place until I got my connection back and then I took back control.

Overall they are a bit costly but the hours of fun and enjoyment you will get from flying this drone and watching your on board video is well worth the price.

I love it the kids love it and its so easy to fly. So easy there is a button to take off, if you loose control you just let go of the joysticks and it stops any movement and waits for your next command, then to land there is a land button too.

Ps Parrot are soon bring out a new GPS device for the AR Drone 2.0 that will give us all more to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome bit of kit, 9 Aug. 2012
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
I've wanted an AR Drone since they came out 2 years ago. When version 2.0 was released I caved in and bought one.

Things to note:
- Many parts on the outer shells are stuck on. Go around everything when new and make sure it is stuck down properly. On both indoor and outdoor hulls the magnet which holds it onto the base came unstuck on mine
- YOU WILL break propellor shafts - I've broken 2 already. Order the 4 pack of gears/shafts/circlips. Pity you can't buy the shafts on their own. I think they are a deliberate weak point to stop other things breaking (motors/propellors). I have spare propellors but not broken any yet. Maybe get the drone tool as well as ciclips are fiddly (though care and jewellers screwdrivers or teeny pliers will work)
- Until you are (really) good at flying, fly over something soft (grass) - you will crash (if a gust of wing catches it in a turn and it tilts too far the engines cut out and it will plummet to the ground)
- Do not fly in anything but a light wind or less - it will crash more
- Don't expect to be able to fly from the screen on your phone
- Flight time is only about 15 mins - order another battery if you want more play time
- May be obvious, but turn the sound on on your ipad/iphone etc - it gives you an audible warning with the battery is low (once this sounds, land quickly and it cuts out seconds after the alarm)
- The video recording feature is fun but not amazing - don't expect too much of it.
- The down facing camera it aweful - it's purely there for the oboard computer to detect movement

Overall awesome piece of technology. Do buy the spares, you will need them. It's expensive but great fun (Parrot do not recommend for anyone under 15 I think... I think they're probably right)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes it has features that are great but in my opinion there not the best quality, 30 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
If you are looking for a relighable piece of kit to take Ariel photos then this really isn't wat you shud buy, yes it has features that are great but in my opinion there not the best quality, I am a massive fan of all flying machines and have lots of quads and helicopters ranging from micro indoor machines to huge hardcore 3d capable machines worth thousands of pounds, if you want some thing that is going to be stable in the air and good control you will never achieve it with this its so light the slightest breeze will blow it off coarse and the motors are under powered and wont give you the best manouverability, for the best control you need some thing with a bit of power I'm not saying its no good I just think that it shud be sold with out the camera and other features at a much lower price and just used for a bit of fun, if you want to buy some thing much more relighable you shud be looking at a blade 350 qx or a dji phantom prised around £350 but will need to add your own camera, there's always the blade 200 qx a bit smaller machine priced around £150 and an add on camera for £20 that is so stable its unberleavable you can also set it to be dosile fpor taking photos or video or set it to be a maniac flying very fast and cornering like its on rails or if you just wanted some thing to try I can recommend the hubsan x4c its priced around £60 it is a very small quad with a built in camera that to look at you wud think can only be used indoors but that's not the case this thing can handle a bit of wind out side and is great fun indoors very durable and cheap replacement parts, I hear a lot of ppl complaining about rubbish battery's, these machines all or just about all use lipo battery's and they need to be treated right for the health of the battery and safety as that although it not common thatbattery can catch fire with miss use, I'd always recommend charging the battery in a lipo safe fire prof bag priced around £3.50 much cheaper than a house fire never drain the battery below 3.75v which is a good target to aim for, if your machine has lvc, low voltage cutoff and lights start flashing to tell your battery is flat then you shud use the following method to maintain a healthy battery on your first flight set at timer and time how long it takes till the light start flashing then shave a minute of that for your future flight times a lipo batterys performance improves over time so you cud repeat this method after a good few flights and see if it takes longer till the lvc kicks in, never store your lipo battery's fully charged or use a battery that has puffed up, it may still charge and fly your machine but the cells have been damaged and that's wen the risk of fire is higher and you shud safely disgaurd them, I'd also strongly recommend buying a proper lipo balance charger more expense I no but it will help you care for your battery's much more accurately,,, again I'm not saying the parrot drone is crap I've herd ppl say there very happy with it I'd just save my penny's and go for the slightly more expencive machines, remember all these flying machines are prone to faults no matter how much you pay, I've had thousands of pound worth of machine just drop out of the sky and smash into o pieces with no idea wat went wrong, don't expect to take any flying machine higher than a 3ch out of the box and be able to fly it, it takes practice practice practice, boring I no but you really need to learn just how to hover them before trying to fly them around, it is very difficult but learning to hover first will save you extra expense on spair parts and always fly responcably and not were other ppl are even the micro machines can give you a nasty cut its not pleasant wen that hit you in the face trust me I no, all in all flying is great fun so I hope you enjoy wat ever you buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have grown up boys toy, 6 Dec. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
I bought this for my partner. Mr Gadget who loves flying all things remote control. This is a massive success. He was so desperate to get this and it's everything it promised to be. It is controlled by our iPad, iPhone and Galaxy S3 Android. You can play games with it, you can film with it and watch back what you tape. There are a lot more games for the 1.0 version and hopefully they will migrate across for the 2.0 Drone too. It's easy to fly, easy to control and robust. This is definitely the gadget of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome ar drone 2.0, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
J. Smith (lincloln, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
Have had a few R/C toys in my time and this beats them all hands down.
Had seen the drone 1 and videos of it in action and wanted one but heard there was a 2.0 coming out with improved features so opted to wait and im glad i did.
the forward cam is good wouldn't class it as HD but is better than the 1.0 and is great for videos and piloting from the view. the downward cam is not so great, pretty blurry and lo res. hopefully will be an upgradeable part in the future.
in terms of durability i can only say its good. have had some big crashes and have so far only broke a gear cog, which was cheap and easy to replace and the central cross which is not so easy to replace but ok you have any hand skills. The damage was caused by fairly big crashes from quite high so expected to be repairing. the indoor hull broke after first flight with it and didnt seem to take much abuse at all, the outside hull is much better though.
I think they are well worth the price even though it is quite high they pack a lot of features and are easy to fly and eveyone you will show will be amazed at how stable it is.
well done Parrot
james
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why it is not perfect and what you can do about it, 15 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
The ar drone is a great piece of hardware 8o) I love my quadrocopter. The price is very low and you can expect that parrot did everything to keep it on this level. Ball bearings could not be included in this price. You can feel this in the flight time... 7-8 Minutes with the normal bearings and the normal battery. I changed the bearings to the Ambideluxe speed bearings. Now i have round about 10 Minutes flight time with the standard battery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Parrot AR.Drone2 Quadcopter, 17 July 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
I offer these comments with by 7 years experience of building and flying radio controlled helicopters.

The Drone is considered to be a toy...it is NOT a toy! I would not purchase it for anyone under 15 years old.

It is a fairly sophisticated piece of flying electronics and good fun, too. It is relatively delicate and should be handled carefully if it's to provide enjoyment and entertainment over a long period. Flying it doesn't require extensive helicopter experience as it has some good safety features and controlling it from a mobile phone or iPad, is a novel idea. The forward looking video camera is high quality and can provide the very enjoyable experience of flying it from a pilot's viewpoint. Parrot majors on it's ability to be flown indoors...I think it's to big to be flown safely in the average household. It really needs a good open space to be enjoyed to it's maximum.

It's battery is Lithium Polymer, which are highly volatile and MUST be handled exactly as described in the instructions. The battery supplied provides only 10 - 15 minutes of flight but requires one and a half hours to be recharged, which I find disappointing.

On my second day of ownership and on startup for it's fourth flight, one of it's motor circuit boards overheated and burnt out! This has happened to a number of people and indicates a problem which Parrot need to urgently address. I purchased and fitted a replacement motor and have flown at least 10 times since without problems todate. A number of other issues are posted on the Parrot forum but I've not experienced any of them. I would suspect that at least some of them result from handling/setup errors by the owners!

In summary, if it's a toy it's expensive but relatively sophisticated. It's not overly robust and requires considerate handling but is very good fun and can even be used for serious aerial photography and video. There are technical issues which Parrot need to address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an AR Drone 2, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
Be aware this is an AR Drone 1 in a AR Drone 2 hull.
This unit does not have a USB port. The AR Drone 2 does.
The batteries are for AR Drone 1.
Very disappointed to learn that what I purchased is not what was advertised.
It was only when I wanted some spares that I discovered this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AR Drone 2, 27 Aug. 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
the Drone is a great piece of Technology that allows easy flight from the outset! Great video and reasonably stable!
now for the downside! Pretty expensive for a toy without a controller! You need an IPad/IPhone android device to control so unless you have the kit this can be expensive! Durability is definitely an issue! If you crash it even indoors, the indoor hull breaks far too easily! The outdoor hull offers no protection of vital parts including the blades and gears (worth noting that it does fly better with the outdoor Hull) I have had this just over 4 days, and already have had a motor damaged and replaced at £45 and gears damaged from a light impact! Not so good! I am now waiting for a replacement cross section as this one has now snapped again during a pretty light collision! If this is an outdoor product at this price it should be more robust! I think all the money has gone into the electronics and not the mechanics as they are pretty flimsy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Apple software withdrawn, 19 April 2013
By 
towos (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Parrot AR.Drone 2.0 with Outdoor Hull (Orange/ Blue) (Electronics)
Beware the Apple version of the control software has been withdrawn from the App Store due to a patent dispute. The replacement software does not have either Absolute Control or accelerometer mode - so you can't control the AR Drone by tilting your iPhone/iPad. Also this software is only available for iOS 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews