Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GARBAGE - NOT YOUR KIND OF PEOPLE
It's been seven years since Garbage released their last studio album 2005's "Bleed Like Me", in that same year the band ended a world tour abruptly that saw the band cancel the end of their tour and go on an indefinite hiatus, it seemed the band had reached the end of the road as they were sick of record label interference, life on the road and sick of the sight of each...
Published on 14 May 2012 by nin/ja77

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid album let down by sound quality.
I've always been a fan of the band and remember being blown away by how good their debut was in the mid-nineties, so I was really excited to hear that they were returning after seven years away.

This album offers some of their best songs to date, with Control, Sugar and Battle In Me being particular highlights. Like with many albums there are some that'll have...
Published 23 months ago by Ross


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GARBAGE - NOT YOUR KIND OF PEOPLE, 14 May 2012
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
It's been seven years since Garbage released their last studio album 2005's "Bleed Like Me", in that same year the band ended a world tour abruptly that saw the band cancel the end of their tour and go on an indefinite hiatus, it seemed the band had reached the end of the road as they were sick of record label interference, life on the road and sick of the sight of each other, after all this is a band that always had a fiery relationship with each other that had seen many a studio bust up. So as lead singer Shirley Manson went off to make a solo album (which has never been released) as well as star in the TV series Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles and drummer Butch Vig went back to producing albums it seemed unlikely Garbage would end their hiatus. Thankfully that all changed as the band regrouped and confirmed work had begun on a new album that would be released on their own STUNVOLUME label, it seemed that working without a major label suited the band and that they were all getting on and (whisper it quietly) having fun working together again. So finally we have studio album number five "Not Your Kind Of People" an album which features all the hallmarks of Garbage's signature sound of a rock/pop fusion.

The album starts off with "Automatic Systematic Habit" which is a disco filled rock song that has Manson saying she won't be anybody's "Dirty Little Secret", the song has a big pounding beat and some distorted vocals; it's a great way to kick off the album. "Big Bright World" is reminiscent of the Version 2.0 era with its slow build up before exploding into life. The first track we got to hear from the album was "Blood for Poppies" which at the time seemed a strange choice as the lead single but it's a song that will grow on the listener over time and features a trippy breakdown towards the end. One of the standout tracks is "control" with its intelligent use of a harmonica and big beats with a chopped up vocal effect and a great lyric in "It's always darkest before the dawn".

The title track "Not Your Kind of People" which is a slow paced song which has a dreamy 70's sound with a guitar at time not sounding unlike Lynard Skynards "Freebird". If there is one thing Garbage did better than anybody it is on big sounding numbers such as "Vow" from their debut album and with the song "Battle In Me" that is what Garbage do, it's a big sounding track with an aggressive vocal from Manson and a big heavy guitar/drum chorus, it's a song made for playing live. "Man On A Wire" is another stomper that's played at 100 miles per hour. Former Jane's Addiction bassist Eric Avery (who will play bass on the bands tour) plays bass on both "Battle In Me" and "Man On A Wire". "I Hate Love" is another dance rock track that's full of effects.

With the deluxe edition there is four bonus tracks "The One" Which has a big electrical beat throughout, "What Girls Are Made of", "Bright Tonight" which is a laid back number and "Show Me". All four songs are worthy additions to the album and I would recommend if you are a long time Garbage fan to buy this edition as you will want these songs.

It's good to have Garbage back with album number 5 which is a strong return for the band and shows there's still plenty of life left in them yet and it seems the time apart has revitalised them and got them on the same page musically again. There's plenty on here for long-time fans of the band and hopefully convert some new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing earth shatteringly new here - but who needs new?, 17 May 2012
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
I was fearing disappointment with this album as with so many "reformations" of great bands, but I needn't have worried - Manson is still in fine voice - possibly the finest female rock voice currently making records? - and the playing is as outstanding as you would expect from performers of their pedigree. And the songs? - well after the "trying too hard" poppy opening track, Automatic System Habit, the songs are really strong, both musically and lyrically, right through to the end of the extra tracks on the deluxe version which are certainly not fillers. So its very much worth buying the deluxe version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garbage are back!!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
Garbage are back!!!..and raring to go!! Having been a fan since the beginning I obviously couldn't wait for this and I am not disappointed in the slightest!

The opening track 'Automatic Systematic Habit' is an electro rocker which is one of my favourites and was also amazing live, which then goes into the ever so uplifting 'Big Bright World', other stand out tracks for me are 'Control' which is a dark heavy number which has an awesome chorus, as well as 'Battle in Me' which has some of their most aggressive guitar work to date!... that packed with the wonderfully dancey 'I Hate Love' which grooves a long with a lovely uplifting chorus. We also have some slower songs that we are accustomed to from Garbage such as 'Sugar' and the 70s retro vibe of the title track 'Not Your Kind Of People'.

If you loved the energy of the first two albums you will find something here for you.

This truely is some of their best work and I hope it attracts some new fans as well as pleasing us darklings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid album let down by sound quality., 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
I've always been a fan of the band and remember being blown away by how good their debut was in the mid-nineties, so I was really excited to hear that they were returning after seven years away.

This album offers some of their best songs to date, with Control, Sugar and Battle In Me being particular highlights. Like with many albums there are some that'll have you reaching for the skip button so as a collection it's a four-star album; Garbage fans will lap this up.

However, the sound quality of the recordings is what ultimately knocks off a star. It's so heavily compressed and distorted that in places it sounds quite harsh. I'm not a sound-engineer nor have I experience in the mixing room but, at the risk of sounding a bit of an audio-snob, it's pretty obvious even to the untrained ear that dynamic range has been sacrificed for loudness.

Nevertheless, it's good to see the band back in action after seven years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back to Garbage, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Paul Franklin "Windswept" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
One of their best albums ever!
Garbage were an acquired taste, but very addictive.
Their first album and Version 2.0 were fabulous, but then the drive seemed to fade away over the next three titles.
Having seen Shirley and the boys live, I knew they were good for another.
So it is great to find this gem - a fine return to form and a superb set of new tracks.
The old ooommph is back, the slightly risque Shirley still quickens the pulse, the bass lines power you on - welcome back, Garbage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GARBAGE - NOT YOUR KIND OF PEOPLE, 14 May 2012
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People (Audio CD)
It's been seven years since Garbage released their last studio album 2005's "Bleed Like Me", in that same year the band ended a world tour abruptly that saw the band cancel the end of their tour and go on an indefinite hiatus, it seemed the band had reached the end of the road as they were sick of record label interference, life on the road and sick of the sight of each other, after all this is a band that always had a fiery relationship with each other that had seen many a studio bust up. So as lead singer Shirley Manson went off to make a solo album (which has never been released) as well as star in the TV series Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles and drummer Butch Vig went back to producing albums it seemed unlikely Garbage would end their hiatus. Thankfully that all changed as the band regrouped and confirmed work had begun on a new album that would be released on their own STUNVOLUME label, it seemed that working without a major label suited the band and that they were all getting on and (whisper it quietly) having fun working together again. So finally we have studio album number five "Not Your Kind Of People" an album which features all the hallmarks of Garbage's signature sound of a rock/pop fusion.

The album starts off with "Automatic Systematic Habit" which is a disco filled rock song that has Manson saying she won't be anybody's "Dirty Little Secret", the song has a big pounding beat and some distorted vocals; it's a great way to kick off the album. "Big Bright World" is reminiscent of the Version 2.0 era with its slow build up before exploding into life. The first track we got to hear from the album was "Blood for Poppies" which at the time seemed a strange choice as the lead single but it's a song that will grow on the listener over time and features a trippy breakdown towards the end. One of the standout tracks is "control" with its intelligent use of a harmonica and big beats with a chopped up vocal effect and a great lyric in "It's always darkest before the dawn".

The title track "Not Your Kind of People" which is a slow paced song which has a dreamy 70's sound with a guitar at time not sounding unlike Lynard Skynards "Freebird". If there is one thing Garbage did better than anybody it is on big sounding numbers such as "Vow" from their debut album and with the song "Battle In Me" that is what Garbage do, it's a big sounding track with an aggressive vocal from Manson and a big heavy guitar/drum chorus, it's a song made for playing live. "Man On A Wire" is another stomper that's played at 100 miles per hour. Former Jane's Addiction bassist Eric Avery (who will play bass on the bands tour) plays bass on both "Battle In Me" and "Man On A Wire". "I Hate Love" is another dance rock track that's full of effects.

It's good to have Garbage back with album number 5 which is a strong return for the band and shows there's still plenty of life left in them yet and it seems the time apart has revitalised them and got them on the same page musically again. There's plenty on here for long-time fans of the band and hopefully convert some new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FINE RETURN, 16 May 2012
By 
andrew bentley (london, n/a England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
well after 7 years garbage return with a new album! leaner meaner and more edgier than ever before. this to me is probably there best work
since version 2.0 and a very good follow up to the very under rated album bleed like me. the first track automatic systematic is a catchy perky
pop style song with nice keyboard and guitar rifts thats followed by the very good big bright world which is another rock/pop classic.
blood for poppies is a grower after a few plays its very catchy! control is probably the best track on the album! mean moody and angry with a
great chorus and thumping guitars. not your kind of people is a catchy slow synth lined track with very good vocals! felt is a nice slow ballad
followed by the catchy i hate love . sugar is a real gem of a track another slow one but very nice to listen to and just when your going into relax
mode the exellent battle in me and man on a wire come storming in both rocky upbeat numbers before finishing of with beloved freak.

all n all a very good album and a real freshness from the band! mansons vocals all through are great and compliment the other 3 band members
who prove what good musicians they all are!

garbage may never get the credit they deserve but in this bubble gum world of throw away pop they are still its refreshing to listen to a real proper
rock band. garbage are not just a good band! they are very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You need a decent stereo to get over the distortion, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] (Audio CD)
As a long term Garbage fan I got this album for Christmas last year. I can only agree with some of the other comments that the production seems to have produced a mess of noise that if playing through an average car stereo takes a lot of listening to define the elements of the track. Play it through a decent stereo and the quality improves, but I don't always have that luxury. I listened recently to Bleed Like Me and the difference in sound quality was chalk and cheese. All that said I really like the album and even the bonus tracks don't come across as weak, especially 'What Girls Are Made Of'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, great seller., 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Your Kind Of People (Audio CD)
this album is awesome and im really pleased to have purchased it at such a good price. it was well packed, perfect condition and i would recommend this seller to anyone. despite it coming all the way over from the states, it wasnt a long wait at all, so another bonus, and definitely worth the wait. cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply wonderful, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keeping their own sound, a slightly more pacey Garbage with no loss of ttheir typical content. Absolutely great, fans and non fans aike won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe]
Not Your Kind Of People [Deluxe] by Garbage (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews