Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive Melodic Rock At Its Very Best
The Deeexpus website describes the band's music as "progressive melodic rock". As a description, I guess this is certainly true. But the fact remains it is also woefully inadequate as a description of the sheer musical passion, energy and vision they have unleashed with "King of Number 33". This is their second studio album after "Half Way Home" in 2008 (another...
Published on 4 April 2012 by Dr. Robert Fisher

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mike Oldfield meets Anathema
Bought this after listening to clips provided on Amazon after they recommended the album based on my previous choices. Wasn't exactly what I expected, but harder than I thought but nice in places. Quite a bit if filler though but interesting enough. Make your own mind up lol x
Published 13 months ago by W. Sutherland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive Melodic Rock At Its Very Best, 4 April 2012
By 
Dr. Robert Fisher (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
The Deeexpus website describes the band's music as "progressive melodic rock". As a description, I guess this is certainly true. But the fact remains it is also woefully inadequate as a description of the sheer musical passion, energy and vision they have unleashed with "King of Number 33". This is their second studio album after "Half Way Home" in 2008 (another blistering release of musical excellence) and stands as a shining triumph of intelligent and lovingly crafted song-writing combined with talented instrumental brilliance. There is even a guest appearance from Nik Kershaw!

The massive technical ability of the band lays the strong foundations for the creative weaving of an imaginative and touching story, supported by brilliant CD packaging to include a mock psychiatric report to enhance and give depth to the central figure around which the album has been created. Attention to detail is everything, and this extends not just to the packaging but to the wonderful and complex time signatures, the playful and imaginative interactions between the various instruments and the superb vocal range of tones of the lead vocals. It is a quite superb combination that keeps you enthralled from the moment you unwrap it to the moment the last note sounds and you put it back in its case. Brilliant. They have set the bar for others to follows in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great CD, 22 April 2012
By 
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
I recently discovered this band and as an old fan of prog it ticks all the boxes. The more I listen to it, the more I like. A fantastic album, well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
I heard about DeeExpus on the Progzilla Podcast and saw that they were supporting Marillion (A huge favourite of mine) in their upcoming tour. With Marillion Keyboardist mark Kelly on keys I knew I had a chance of loving it, but WOW. What a great album! From the opening track, Me and my downfall, with a fairly meaty rock sound through to the beautiful and spine tingling Marty and the Magic Moose, this album oozes quality, thoughtfulness and musical excellence.Then comes the core of this album. The King of Number 33. Brilliantly written it carries you on a journey, a bus journey in this case, and constantly surprises you. I have not sat and listened, just listened to an album so much for years. This has given me more spine tingling moments than any album for ages. Beuatiful guitar solo's powerful riffs, wonderfully complex keybaord solo's and amazing percussion, rounded off by great vocals and harmonies. This is more than just perpetuating prog rock, it is taking it somewhere new and altogether more contemporary while holding on to the soul, the intelligence and the pure musicianship of prog at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
Without doubt one of the best groups and albums i have ever heard. I just cannot stop playing this. I could use every possitive word to describe this album and still not convey how much i love it. Buy it. Love it. Enjoy it! Simply superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
Buy this album now! you will not be disappointed, there's not a bad song on this cd, not even the one with Nick Kershaw.
The middle section of opening track me and my downfall is incredible, maybe september changes the pace and then changes it back again superbly, Marty and the magic moose is just magic. Which brings us nicely up to the main event: The king of number 33, all 26 minutes of it. This is a great concept piece surrounding a guy with aspergers syndrome who rides the number 33 bus day in day out until an unfortunate incident brings his reign to an end, from start to finish it is captivating and really does get better with every listen, with so many swings and changes to keep you occupied throughout. Closing track memo gave me a small headache purely because it features Nick Kershaw, however I very quickly got over my phobia because this is another great track to compliment a truly great album.

This is as good as prog gets, if you're into Marillion, Rush, Yes, It bites, IQ, your'e gonna love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Same but different, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
These are new to me and I bought this solely because of Amazon reviews and I am well pleased with it. Music is typical of this genre but then, there is a rawness to it, an almost unfinished quality that really appeals. Title song, King of number 33 is a clever twist on an early Genesis tune, clever lyrics and a cracking pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps coming at you, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
Can't remember how I came across this album now but mighty glad I did

Won't repeat other reviews' content, but will just say if "traditional guitar/keyboard prog" is your thing this is a very fine example indeed

There are plenty of spine-tinglingly good passages & when one is over another comes along soon

Consistently excellent & never fails to put a broad smile on my face

This will be a hard one for them to follow but fingers crossed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE for prog rock lovers, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
THanks to Amazon recommendations! once in a while I try something suggested by the system, and this really hit the spot BIG TIME. I love Marillion, DT, etc etc but had never heard of DeeExpus. Turns out Marillion's Mark Kelly guest plays on some songs here, but this band is nothing short of amazing and brilliant. Fantastic album throughout, hit songs, musicianship out of this world, this is all perfect. Other reviewers have said it all: just get this now and enjoy. Then you will want to get their initial stuff (only one studio and one live).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really glad I found this band, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Neil (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
As newer bands are pretty abundant and accessible in these internet days (and by newer I mean any band who started life this century!)it's sometimes difficult to unearth real gems amongst them all. So i'm especially delighted I found Deeexpus, it's always a sign that something is really good when you keep revisiting it months after first listening.

Quality lyrics, and excellent musicianship all round, the guitar and keyboard interplay is always something I enjoy.
The centrepiece of the album is the title track, an engaging tale of a mentally disturbed local who frequents the No.33 bus service. A really novel and clever concept, and you should buy the cd in preference to the mp3 for the liner notes that help explain the story. All told its a barnstorming track. "Me and My Downfall" is a great shorter opening track, and "Marty and the Magic Moose" a really nice instrumental.

The final track "Memo" is rather watery and doesn't have the impact of the rest of the record. But it really shouldn't detract at all from the superb material that precedes it.

Musically, i'd describe them as neo-prog, not particularly heavy, but they don't lack for power, their strength is in the compositions. Hope they can follow this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 20 May 2013
By 
Saint Aubyn (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of Number 33 (Audio CD)
I recently discovered this band and thought the whole concept the album was very good and original. One of my favourite tracks is "Mart And The Magic Moose". My next mission is to see this band live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3b445c)

This product

King Of Number 33
King Of Number 33 by DeeExpus
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews