Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tiger Woods The Masters.
Not a lot of difference between this and the other ones. The graphics are as you would expect, lush giving you the feeling you are actually on the greens. I have this with the Kinect which works really well. My only critisism is that when putting you have to hit it harder than you would normally which takes a bit of getting used to. Also lining up your put can be a bit...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by Mr. S. Element

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless unless you have xbox Live
I've been buying Tiger Woods for the Xbox and Xbox 360 since the first installment 2003. Along the way there have been vintage years and some editions which have been a bit buggy where they've tried stuff and it didn't quite work. The 2013 drops considerably and feels like a big money grabbing exercise by EA Sports.

I purchased the Collectors edition because...
Published on 30 Jun 2012 by Quickreviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless unless you have xbox Live, 30 Jun 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been buying Tiger Woods for the Xbox and Xbox 360 since the first installment 2003. Along the way there have been vintage years and some editions which have been a bit buggy where they've tried stuff and it didn't quite work. The 2013 drops considerably and feels like a big money grabbing exercise by EA Sports.

I purchased the Collectors edition because I wanted the extra courses and not having xbox live didn't want to miss out like I did on the 2012 edition when extra courses were only available to those on line. Imagine my suprise to find that despite buying the Collectors edition, there are an additional 15 (yes 15!!) courses that remain locked out and need to be brought via Xbox Live for yet more money. Not only that, much of the game is clearly designed to be played on line, with most of the record keeping (Course Mastery and Skills Challenge and Boost Pins , Country Club and Store available on line ONLY)

I particularly enjoyed on the 2012 edition the ability to Master each course - but on the 2013 edition that now is locked away on line only. Yes, there is a Tiger Challenge mode that's pretty good, but a bit linear. Other than that it's just play the year at various courses and that's it.

Also missing are individual course statistics and the Career Trophies that have existed from year 1 (e.g. Eagle all Par 5's), as well as the ability to compile your own 18 holes from all those available (again a feature that's been with us since the start).

It seems like EA sport has taken so much from the game now and shoved it on line and said - you can pay more for it now. I didn't spot any genuine new courses amongst the extra courses (e.g. Predator, Spyglass etc) so why not bundle them in with the full game. With games costing pennies on ipad I just wonder why I'm paying £40 for what can't be more than a 1/3 of the game!!!

Summary: You're getting Less for paying more and unless you've got Xbox Live don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tiger Woods The Masters., 7 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. S. Element (Abingdon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not a lot of difference between this and the other ones. The graphics are as you would expect, lush giving you the feeling you are actually on the greens. I have this with the Kinect which works really well. My only critisism is that when putting you have to hit it harder than you would normally which takes a bit of getting used to. Also lining up your put can be a bit frustrating because I found it pretty sensitive. That aside though it is still a great golfing game with plenty going on to keep you going until Tiger Woods 14 comes out. Worth also paying that little bit extra to get the added courses and the exclusive 3 put practice round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off!!, 13 May 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The actual game itself is not bad. It plays quite well and graphics are okay. The kinect is a nice touch.

There are a few bugs;
The game gets stuck on some par 3s, but I have found that if you go to fly by, and back to the hole, this saves you having to cancel the game and lose any progress on your round.
Sometimes you go in the bunker, but when you go to take the shot, you are miraculously not in the bunker...?
Feels like they have rushed it a bit... maybe some upgrades will fix these issues.

The problem I have is that you pay £38 for a game, and you would think you would get all of that game..... No!! There are a further 11 courses, which you actually need in order to progress and complete the game. This will set you back about a whopping..... £45 !! more than the actual game...?? What !!!

EA sports seem to be following Tigers career too closely; they were once good and top of their game... but have now descended into a farcical mess and don't care who they exploit.
For this reason I would avoid..... A complete Rip Off!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amazing game but..., 4 May 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First let me say this is an amazing game, amazing gameplay, amazing graphics. As well as the PGA tour you can now re-live Tigers career from a two year old boy to the present day. The new swing meter is easy to use but will punish you if you try to hit too hard (like real life really). The caddie can be turned off giving you more XP points; meaning you can test your skills even further and gain more attributes.

Now the only down side and its a very small gripe; it takes time to load after every hole and at the end of a round. I'm no expert but maybe this is because of the amount data being saved.

Overall though a great game with hours of gameplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole new Tiger, a whole new control system, 3 April 2012
By 
Richard J. Salter "Sticky" (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok so its the "latest" game in the series and for those who are familiar with this type of EA Sports franchise you probably (like me) wonder whether its worth bothering with the same game again with a few tweaks here and there? If so you will be pleased to hear that this year EA have made some radical changes...

The biggest change is (fairly obviously) for those who have it the kinect compatibility. Now you can get really involved with the golf experience. I really like that I now swing properly to play a shot, it adds a great deal to the experience. I can use voice controls, as if talking to a caddy to ask for help or to change clubs. But, the system does have some (frustrating) flaws. The aiming system is the one that got me a bit wound up, it can be extremely fiddly. Occasionally it seems to refuse to do what I want and then suddenly it moves way to fast and I have to start again! Still after a while you do get the hang of it a bit more and these annoying moments don't happen so often, it just means you have to really go slowly. The good news is that if the kinect side of it is frustrating you, you can switch to controller (and back again) on the fly.

So what else has changed? Lets start with the new "pin" system, this is basically a modifier system. As you play you'll earn coins, these can be used to buy pins (or badges) which give you bonuses. A pin will be "bronze" to start with and as you earn it another two times it will be silver and then gold (each level up giving bigger bonuses). This system is in addition to the experience side which hasn't really changed all that much.

We also have the new swing system, its quite complicated to explain it, but easy enough to use. All I'll say then is that it gives you many more options to change your shot by tweaking stance, shot type, elevation, fade, draw etc Some are things you will have seen before others new.

Online play is now much more involved, country clubs allow you to make "clans" if you like so you can team up with online friends and compete with and against them.

The rest is mostly the usual tweaks to existing gameplay and options.

I like the Tiger series and the new one is definitely worth getting. I love the kinect integration and the fact that you can switch in-game to traditional controller at any time. I recommend this to any Tiger fans out there!!!

p.s.

I got the Masters Collectors Edition as it was the same price. For that I get the extra 5 courses, and I can play the Augusta Par 3 Course. Not sure it would be worth paying a whole lot more for that though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic But Patience, 30 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To start with i pre-ordered with amazon and got it a day early Thank you.

The Tiger woods game has over the ears become the same old story with added courses and no new insentives. This addition has been revamped for the better it has obviously been changed to get the gamer back into enjoying what the tiger woods franchise was all about.

The Gameplay is fantastic the changes to the swing operation are far more superior then other games. You can now alter stance of your player for those shots around trees and dig deeper under the ball in the bunker just to get it out. The swing dynamics are much better and add mre realisim to the game. It takes getting used to but a few holes in and your off hitting birdies and close approach shots.

The presentation of the course are not as good as previos but still add great atmosphere to the gameplay the commentary as always is one liners not always talking about your shot but really unnoticable when your playing.

Other features include Tiger legacy starting from tiger in nappies to future competitions its good fun but isn't really what the game is bought for.

Multiplayer is always good straight into a game not much time waiting and its simple to get going and enjoying the competition.

Country club is another feature something different to earn points but unless you have many friends on xbox live quite pointless unless you want to have head to head trials with people unknown.

All these features give you coins which you need to collect to play and master new courses it is very long so you get your moneys worth unless you want to just purchase through microsoft points another EA money grabbing scheme. The challenges are not impossible just making birdies and grenns to fairways in regulation its great fun and gives an insentive to keep playing and bettering your score.

he biggest new feature it can all be done through Kinect this is where patience is required its fantastic fun and you feel like you need to swing properly to hit a good shot but its very sensitive trying to aim is so slow you feel like giving up and adding spin is the same menus are so fickly that you end up in the wrong menu and have to grab the controller to correct it quicker that said it has voice commands to change club and aim shot but aiming still needs your input.

Overall fantastic its clear EA have thought about this one to get people back in the game the challenges and course mastery will keep you playing however the kinect side could use an update to help with menu navigation and aiming your shot. Give it ago you wont be disappointed but have patience you cant get up and make 20under rounds like previos but its rewarding in its own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiger woods 13., 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Probably the worst, game ever!, this game has so many glitches, I haven't got the time to list them.If this was a TV or white goods product, It would have been recalled. My advice would be, stay clear of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going to Augusta!, 5 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly ... I used to play EA's on line golf game where you bought into the on line package and had to subscribe etc. to continue. That could become costly so anything that provides the same enjoyment without the perpetual cost is good for me. The graphics in this new game are good enough to allow you to enjoy the game play and appreciate such things as contours matching the actual courses. Progressing through the ranks and courses aids the enjoyment by providing challenges depending upon your game settings. On the "rookie" type settings progress is easy! Beef it up to increase challenges and that's what it becomes .. challenging. Personally I just enjoy a casual 18 holes with friends in a very social atmosphere and that's the big point, it's a game that allows interaction and is built for socialising in many ways. We can play many courses without getting bored but the fun is in not having to use and pass around controllers, just get up and swing away through your turn via Kinect! The Collector's Edition was in my opinion worth pre-ordering and will give many hours of good fun particularly if a group of you are involved in a match of some sort!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good game but over-priced on amazon, 30 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its a brilliant game, they have clearly put a lot into the development, made it quite a bit more difficult as well which is good but i ordered it on shipto.net for £36 which clearly is quite cheaper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO EXP GAINED FOR 2 PLAYER GAME, 30 Mar 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I played the Tiger Woods 2012 game constantly in 2 player, both gaining EXP on our golfers....Now the option has been taken away so if we were to persist with this game then we would have to watch each other playing it in single player....Cant even unlock the 100 x birdies achievements UNLESS you play it in 1 player mode.

Its gonna be sent back.

I dont wish to play by myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13: Masters Collector's Edition (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £6.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews