Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chain looks like new!
Easy to Use:

- Position bike so that pedals can be turned (i.e. on stand or upside down).
- Open the chain scrubber up.
- Pour in some Park Tool CB-2 Citrus Cleaner up to the level marked by the white line.
- Hold the scrubber up to the chain
- Clip the top on
- Turn the pedals 30 times
- Unclip
- Pour out dirty liquid and...
Published 11 months ago by JB of London

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works OK - don't think it will last long though
Easy to use and assemble, cleaned the chain really well. Only issue is that the bristles get caught in the chain and pulled out, meaning they have to be removed from the chain and there are now less bristles in the device. Thus, I think after some use the device will no longer work.
Published 7 months ago by Hairy Muppet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chain looks like new!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
Easy to Use:

- Position bike so that pedals can be turned (i.e. on stand or upside down).
- Open the chain scrubber up.
- Pour in some Park Tool CB-2 Citrus Cleaner up to the level marked by the white line.
- Hold the scrubber up to the chain
- Clip the top on
- Turn the pedals 30 times
- Unclip
- Pour out dirty liquid and rinse the scrubber with water
- Perfectionists can repeat above steps
- Dry chain
- Apply new grease to chain

Good Job done !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes cleaning even very mucky bike chains simple, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
This tool is great. I'm pleased with it.

Even filthy mountain bike chains will be cleaned by it in a few minutes, without using lots of chain cleaner / de-greaser.
The see through plastic is sturdy enough to last a while, but transparent enough to see what is happening inside.
The amount of fluid used is reasonable, and if you really need to, you can do two washes: one to get the worst of the muck off and the second to restore your chain to showroom cleanliness.
Setting up the tool for cleaning takes a couple of minutes, actual cleaning about a minute, and sorting out the tool afterwards about another two mins. So allowing for drying the chain and re-lubricating, you can do a total chain clean and maintenance in about 10 minutes which I think is great. Far better results than any other method I have found.

Removing all the muck from the chain removes the "grinding paste" of sand and old oil from the chain, so the chain and all other drive chain components will last longer and have lower resistance.

Why 4 stars? Two reasons...

1) The magnet in the bottom of the case could do with being a bit stronger to attract the metal to it faster.
I have added an extra magnet into mine to "mop up" any metal filings more rapidly.

2) the price is a bit high for what is effectively a few bits of plastic and a couple of sponges and brushes

tip: the chain cleaner acts as a derailleur so you need to hold it quite steady (in and out towards the wheel) or you end up changing gears and possibly coming off the front cogs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does a great job!, 17 May 2014
By 
Eric (DUMBARTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
I found this to be good quality, easy to use and very effective - and also like the fact that replacement brush sets are available at a reasonable price if wanted.

I looked at various makes before purchasing, but am very pleased to have bought this one - it ticks all the boxes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really works well. Hard to fault., 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
So, it makes your chain very clean, very quickly. What's not to like? Perhaps it could be cheaper, but given how well it works, I think it's good value. It would be nice if replacement brushes were widely available. The magnet is a very nice touch and helps remove the metal filings to prevent them going straight back into the chain. The pile that sticks to it on each wash shows that it is actually a very worthwhile addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quick review, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
Have only used it once, seemed to do a good job and straight forward to use. Did take longer to clean the chain cleaner than it took to clean the chain though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
Very nicely manufactured and does what I expected. It seems quite strong for rough cleaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Park Tools is still the best. I fine device for getting your chain really ..., 8 July 2014
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
Park Tools is still the best. I fine device for getting your chain really clean. Well made and durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all the internal parts are easily removed and replaced, 30 Jun 2014
By 
GMan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
Read all the reviews but from personal experience, it does keep al the grime laden fluids in the one place rather than all over garage floor/patio etc. In line with the other reviews, it probably takes longer to clean the Chain Scrubber than the actual chain and subsequently, cassette (using the same cleaning agent from the Scrubber). all the internal parts are easily removed and replaced. I have not checked on spares availability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
keeps my chain nice and clean only problem is id imagen it the bottom of it is hard clean out after using it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool, works like a dream, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue (Sports)
This is my first chain scrubber, so I have nothing to compare it with. That said, this made cleaning the chain quick and easy. I was somewhat alarmed at the amount of crud that came out of the chain, and you can see what metal is in it because the magnet holds it in place. I'm feeling rather embarrassed that I let the chain get so bad, but at least it's clean now. I have no idea how this compares to other chain scrubbers, but compared to not having a chain scrubber it's brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Park Tool CM5.2 Cyclone Chain Scrubber - Blue
19.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews